The Open University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Open University Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
The Open University Vice-Chancellor Peter Horrocks
Peter Horrocks
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University

    Pros

    Very supportive and excellent training. If you show motivation and drive they will support you and encourage you to grow. Direct managers work closely as do senior - everyone is present in the office so great for networking. Being a large organisation there are opportunities everywhere - I stated in student recruitment with no goals - they have helped shape a career and in just over 3 years have moved up 3 grades! Brilliant holidays (45 day I think), and great office attitude (no blame only train!), they hold lots of office events like BBQs , bake sales, PIZZA, even trip abroad! I love working here so much I bought a house up here! Also AMAZING pension contribution at 19% ! I could go on!

    Cons

    Whilst we have excellent gender equality with many women in senior management roles, this goes down once you get to more senior roles The east campus canteen (run by an external company) is hilariously frustrating! If you want to buy something expect to wait about 5 minutes whilst the staff unpack milk and have a catch up in the kitchen!

    Continue reading
    The Open University2020-03-11
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Milton Keynes, England

    I have been working at The Open University full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility regarding working patterns and Independence for research (It is really Open...)

    Cons

    Location (Milton Keynes is not the most vibrant of cities...)

    The Open University2020-04-08
  3. "Great facilities and staff but several frustrations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post Doc in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Open University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great facilities, really nice campus to work

    Cons

    slow progress due to fragmented departments

    Continue reading
    The Open University2020-04-06
  4. "Great for those with commitments/health issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible, funded, interesting, supportive, exciting

    Cons

    lonely like all PhD programmes can be

    The Open University2020-03-04
  5. "Excellent benefits & professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely campus, generally nice people and good development opportunities.

    Cons

    Good transferable experience for internal opportunities, but not that great if you want to move outside of HE in the future.

    The Open University2020-02-27
  6. "Good benefits but very static and slow to change. New ideas take a long time to be put into practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Open University

    Pros

    Manageable work load and no micromanagement. Mostly nice colleagues and there are some good benefits including the pension scheme. Colleagues and management are very open.

    Cons

    Very slow to change, some colleagues whine a lot and there is an old/new staff divide. Some departments should be restructured and streamlined sooner. Lack of investment in technology and there is a lot of buck passing rather than problem solving. For that reason, it can feel really boring working here and like - as another review put it - that time stands still.

    Continue reading
    The Open University2020-03-10
  7. "Good environment and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Open University

    Pros

    Flexible work and good environment with a high level of professionalism

    Cons

    Salary below the average, no benefits or family support

    Continue reading
    The Open University2020-02-18
  8. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work culture and excellent work-life balance

    Cons

    Departments are too fractured at times.

    The Open University2020-02-09
  9. "Not sure what it’s like now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Software Developer in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Open University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hardworking staff.

    Cons

    Internal politics. New / old staff divide.

    Continue reading
    The Open University2020-02-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Time stands still"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Open University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays, location, flower beds, library, canteen

    Cons

    Toxic work culture, poor management, unprogressive, boring

    Continue reading
    The Open University2020-02-27
Found 212 reviews