The Open University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Open University Reviews

Updated 28 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
84%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
The Open University Vice-Chancellor Peter Horrocks
Peter Horrocks
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Open University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you flexibility and the culture is really nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Cant think of anything. The jobs are not fixed term, they can let you go when ever they want.

    The Open University2019-11-14
  2. "The Open University has a great role in education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Lecturer in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work manily from home Many students are grateful for our contributions and feedback to further their careers.

    Cons

    Depends on the number of students your work is not stable

    The Open University2019-12-28
  3. "lovely colleagues, complex structures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Consultant 

    I worked at The Open University full-time

    Pros

    supportive lovely colleagues, interesting student body

    Cons

    working digitally takes getting used to, useful skills but allow yourself time to adapt

    The Open University2019-12-06
  4. "Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Relationship Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The organisation serves a great purpose opening lifelong learning to the masses across the UK and wider. Good holiday minimum 30 days and great people to work with

    Cons

    Decisions by committee and adverse to change. Has been a front runner in distance learning but others are now catching up.

    The Open University2019-12-06
  5. "Love the job, not so much the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's hard to beat the OU's mission and the feeling that you are doing something for the greater good. The campus is also spacious and very nice (free parking!) and some areas have relative flexibility of working arrangements. Can also study OU courses for free.

    Cons

    The area I work in is not quite so flexible: some people can work from home whenever they want, others are never allowed (even if they are doing the same role). There's a big culture of favoritism and it seems that you are treated depending on who your friends are. Also, if you are unlucky enough to be going through bullying, there seems to be zero support for the victim but plenty for the aggressor. How does that work? There also seems to be zero opportunity for development, unless you only want to ever do the one role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff and take them seriously when they are brave enough to come forward with complaints about their senior managers. Bullying does happen, and no amount of hiding your head in the ground will make it go away.

    The Open University2019-12-17
  6. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Holiday and Flexi working

    Cons

    Hard to to career progress and not inspired

    The Open University2019-12-05
  7. "Great Uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Studying, Fully supportive, Economic

    Cons

    I have no issues at the moment

    The Open University2019-11-12
  8. "Decent place to work overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Open University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits - holiday, free courses, etc.

    Cons

    Working environment. Minimal drive to deliver. Cost cutting. Politics.

    Advice to Management

    Be more ruthless. Streamline. Operate more efficiently. Sponsor good behaviours.

    The Open University2019-11-22
  9. "Fantastic organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England

    I worked at The Open University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Clear purpose, mission and values.

    Cons

    Overly bureaucratic at times which can be frustrating.

    The Open University2019-10-25
  10. "Suits Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Lecturer in Lampeter, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Open University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I can work at home with no regular travel. It's easy.

    Cons

    Poor annual pay - less than the minimum wage when calculated annually

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    The Open University2019-11-05
Found 199 reviews