Amazon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amazon Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33437 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
19,040 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good & Challenging work environment(in 1462 reviews)

  • "You learn a lot; Fast paced; Low bureaucracy; High scale to deliver big things(in 1315 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance - this is not the place to work if you're expecting a strict 9-to-5 schedule(in 2837 reviews)

  • "Long hours of standing at workstation(in 1528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (11)

    "Best Employer I had in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and place to work. Genuinely still a true startup thinking and best customer obsession I've ever seen. Couldn't wish for any place else.

    Cons

    That I haven't started earlier to work in this Amazing company.

    Amazon2019-02-10
  2. "Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Willing to succeed, passionate of learning

    Cons

    Ambitious , hard and smart worker , team work make the dream work !

    Advice to Management

    Learn from competitors mistake

    Amazon2019-09-21
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sortation Associate 

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work ethic of the company was great

    Cons

    Breaks were too short and infrequent

    Amazon2019-09-19
  4. "Great company to work for and a day is never the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of progress if career driven, working for Amazon will change you for the better.

    Cons

    a lot of pressure to perform, long working hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the good job your doing

    Amazon2019-09-19
  5. "If you're going to work in a call centre, you could do a lot worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my experience, (for a call centre) they were very relaxed, they didn't mind whether people were chatting, or browsing the net, so long as the job got done and you weren't avoiding work. Casual dress was encouraged, and managers were largely supportive. The call grading is also based on how happy the customer is, rather than how many calls you've taken.

    Cons

    Hands-on management support is less prevalent than in other call centres. They are happy to support via chat, or email, but tend to stay well away from the phones. Not always ideal when you get one of "those" customers. Working hours are *all over* the place, and as with any call centre no matter what your reason, you will be disciplined for not showing up on a particular day. You could have a broken arm, and... they've still write it up "as a formality" - one that will, conveniently, come back to bite you come review time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work-life balance could use work. Employees should at least be able to specify days they aren't working, if not times. Some level of control would be appreciated.

    Amazon2019-09-19
  6. "Improved over the years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Culture Work/life balance (flexible hours, ability to work from home)

    Cons

    Very small employee discount (10%)

    Amazon2019-09-18
  7. "Cool place to work, but the full time employees are not that nice with the new comers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a really nice and helpful experience.

    Cons

    repetitive work, that you can find it boring

    Advice to Management

    Rotate people to different areas.

    Amazon2019-09-16
  8. "Loving my new job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Kegworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, canteen, new friends, lots of work so the hours flyby, great manager, options of switching shifts

    Cons

    On your feet all shift apart from breaks. Wear comfy shoes. It does get easier.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on as you are. After only being at Amazon a few weeks I've already been asked how I am and if I'm enjoying it more times than I had in 17 years at my previous job. Keep up the great work. Praise and feedback on quality and quantity goes a long way.

    Amazon2019-09-14
  9. "Not worthy to work under pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working days and payrate is allright.

    Cons

    Too much pressure and security process for this job.

    Advice to Management

    They should pay by walking distance and pickup amount, not by hourly.

    Amazon2019-09-14
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health and Safety 

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and develop

    Cons

    Long hours, walking a lot

    Amazon2019-09-14
Found 33437 reviews