Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Boots Reviews

Updated 21 November 2017
1,206 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Elizabeth Fagan
149 Ratings

1,206 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The work collegues and great and good pay (in 128 reviews)

  • Temp employees still got to use the staff discount card (in 107 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours but to be expected in retail, especially if temporary (in 61 reviews)

  • Work life balance needs a little adjustment (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots full-time

    Pros

    Double discount yearly, chances for career progressions

    Cons

    working hours
    took away attendance bonus


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great brands, great people, needs to be more innovative with its people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people and great brands with a great heritage. Loved going out into store and seeing the customers being delighted.

    Cons

    Not very flexible in their approach to a modern workplace. Very traditional in its thinking. Total benefits not very competitive. Felt that the values were being paid lip service to. The stores colleagues need to be supported and valued more.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that people will leave if they feel they aren't being valued.

    Boots Response

    13 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, it's greatly appreciated! We value your opinions about the benefits, and how traditional the workplace is. This will be passed on to the relevant... More


  3. "Good company to work in - particularly for part-time employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Bristol, England
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - decent wage
    - staff discount
    - relatively flexible working hours

    Cons

    - rude customers (obviously depending)

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Boots Response

    20 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thanks very much for your feedback; we really appreciate it! It's great to hear that you're happy with our benefits package and flexible working hours.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Boots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good rate of pay, good working employment

    Cons

    Lack of staff on shop floor

    Boots Response

    13 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback around pay and the staffing levels. We can ensure you this will be passed on to the relevant teams so that improvements can be made.


  6. "Fine Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Sidcup, England
    Former Employee - Cashier in Sidcup, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, fair wage, friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Not that many cons, it was a nice, easy job

    Boots Response

    13 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your feedback.


  7. "PDC Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Team atmosphere and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Time of routes was always nearly impossible to complete on time. Staff in store who worked in pharmacy's often looked down on drivers.

    Advice to Management

    Change routes to me more realistic.


  8. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots full-time

    Pros

    The team works hard and management is fair

    Cons

    I dont have any cons at the moment

    Boots Response

    14 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback; it's fantastic to hear that your team works hard and management is fair.


  9. "Will do the absolute minimum possible to make a bigger profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beeston, East of England, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beeston, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Relationships
    Responsibility and diversity of work
    City
    Costa and Starbucks coffee

    Cons

    Parking and traffic on site
    Salary is not competitive
    Pension is terrible and company contributes very little
    Maternity pay is statutory
    Management are wreck less and unaccountable for their actions

    Advice to Management

    The company seem to have lost their way, using their heritage and culture as a marketing scheme. Great people in the business go unnoticed whilst arrogant chocolate teapots are hired into senior positions. The company is too complicated with no real accountability going to so-called leaders. Each manager can do as they please with whole teams suffering because nobody will address known issues. In three words, such a shame.


  10. "Don't understand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Liskeard, England
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Liskeard, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    It is a job with an income

    Cons

    Too many to share right now

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in the shoes of those you make decisions over

    Boots Response

    20 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Assistant Boots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boots part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The discount
    Organised breaks
    Part time hours can be increased
    Very social job
    Rewarded when you met targets
    Extensive training opportunities

    Cons

    Uncomfortable uniform
    Part time hours can be very long
    Forced to traffic stop/sell items to customers

    Advice to Management

    Update the uniform and do not force staff to sell products and traffic stop customers

    Boots Response

    20 Nov 2017 – Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback; we really appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you're happy with the staff discount, hours, the way breaks are organised, our rewards system... More


Showing 1,206 of 1,281 reviews
Reset Filters