Financial Ombudsman Service Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Financial Ombudsman Service Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
19%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Financial Ombudsman Service Chief Executive and Chief Ombudsman  Caroline Wayman  (no image)
Caroline Wayman
328 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support for work/life balance, flexible working

    Cons

    No clear career progression for certain departments

    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Over worked and under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, lovely people, interesting work

    Cons

    We're not paid enough for what we do, our targets are too high and circumstances aren't taken into consideration

    Continue reading
    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-02-17
  3. "Lovely colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Help 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Lovely colleagues Subsidised cafe Free gym

    Cons

    Repetitive work Can be a little disorganised

    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-01-30
  4. "A pleasant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjudicator in London, England

    I have been working at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good staff facilities - flexible working

    Cons

    - limited opportunities to progress

    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "You can reach a plateau"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great offices and good work environment

    Cons

    Its a rather bureaucratic place and sometimes moving up is limited.

    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "really enjoyed my job at FOS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Adjudicator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay had a great manager rewarded well if targets met great team flexile hours

    Cons

    no flexibility to work from home, or work part time if a contractor

    Continue reading
    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-01-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Watch out for the iceberg!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjudicator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Like most, I wold say the people are the organisation's main asset.

    Cons

    In fact, the people are the only asset! Poor IT (Phoenix was about three years' late and is awful), very poor training, very poor management (lions led by donkeys). Racism, obvious ageism and favouritism are rife, which means working times and practices can be manifestly unfair. And it's said that new employees are 'encouraged' to put nice reviews out....

    Continue reading
    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-02-20
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Still waiting for redundancy..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjudicator (Permanent) in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits (non-contrib. pension, medical ins., dental ins., sick pay etc Location Nice premises Great people Sports & social committee Networks (e.g. BAME Network, Sikh Network, Hindu Network, LGBTQ Network etc) Flexible working (e.g. remote working, flexible start/end time) 25 days paid annual leave plus bank holidays

    Cons

    Launching a new case management system (Phoenix) before sufficient preparation, pointless restructure (there's no difference between the current investigator role and the now defunct general casework adjudicator role), increased backlog of cases, unachievable targets for investigators, lack of experience due to high turnover since approx. 2015/2016 when restructure was implemented (getting rid of the original customer contact division was a massive loss of knowledge), tarnished reputation due to televised Dispatches investigation and poor Treasury Select Committee reviews.

    Continue reading
    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-01-02
  9. Helpful (13)

    "avoid at all costs if you value your mental health and work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Adjudicator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive. Benefits look good on paper but you won't be able to utilise them

    Cons

    - racism -bullyism -unrealistic targets - no adjustments even if you are disabled - HR function is completely useless -managers only believe in micromanaging and making life hell - no proper training or support - very target oriented - weekly target, so can't even take holidays otherwise managers place on a performance improvement plan -benefits are good but only on paper because you won't be able to make use of them - you can't go on holidays because if you go on a holiday you can't achieve your targets and therefore the management will impose a performance improvement plan; if you go sick you won't be able to make use of the long-term sickness policy because they will get rid of you by hook or crook

    Continue reading
    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-02-12
  10. Helpful (8)

    "The worst place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mass Claims Consultant 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Financial Ombudsman Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The building is nice and good benefits.

    Cons

    This place will make you depressed! My manager was extremely racist and incompetent. I was so micromanaged, that even my toilet breaks would be monitored. Also all these so called ‘oldies’ that have worked longer than 10years at FOS, are completely incompetent and barely know or do any sort of work, but rather gossip all day like a bunch of school kids, whilst micromanaging the rest of us who are actually putting the work in. Also racism is rife at FOS especially if you have managers who are openly racist. This completely crappy environment is reflected in the high staff turnover. Avoid this place!

    Continue reading
    Financial Ombudsman Service2020-02-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 525 reviews