Optical Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Optical Express Reviews

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Optical Express CEO David Moulsdale
David Moulsdale
176 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Absolutely no direction from senior management and a complete refusal to change the way things are done through fear of reprisals(in 14 reviews)

  • "minimum wage, no pay review - in fact, no review or appraisal of any kind;(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities for progression. Great staff and senior management

    Cons

    Sometimes you need to travel to other stores to help

    Optical Express2019-11-16
  2. "Live chat agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Live Chat Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, staff get on well and you build long lasting friendships.

    Cons

    No career progression. Just a job to pay the bills.

    Optical Express2019-12-02
  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus, good regional management. Locations

    Cons

    Bad local management , work every saturday

    Optical Express2019-11-09
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A nice environment to work in.

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Continue reading
    Optical Express2019-10-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Individually the team I was in were nice and my manager was kind.

    Cons

    It extremely chaotic, nothing is planned throughout the year and there is no clear strategy so my job was constant firefighting but there also isn't any interest from senior management to improve this. Personal learning and development isn't a thing at Optical Express and one-to-one's and objectives aren't kept to up date. I was never given a clear job description and it didn't seem like anyone else had been either so there are a lot of people there trying to look important but not actually doing much. General everyday processes are just as disorganised. Staff aren't kept up to date with things they actually need/want to know which can make working like stressful and difficult. They are happy to show people the door for any reason.

    Continue reading
    Optical Express2019-11-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer care representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Glasgow, Scotland
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus structure is not capped Used to have open door policy Good corporate induction

    Cons

    Management esp department managers Bonus been kept from you if your sick or leaving No training once in your department Don’t get paid for being off sick No confidentiality from managers Face fit society No 121s or feedback on observations Asked for help when struggling and got no help

    Continue reading
    Optical Express2019-11-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing special. All the good reviews are fake, done by current management and low level employees are coerced into doing positive reviews.

    Cons

    Pay is too low for what you're doing. Bonus system isn't great. Extremely high staff turnover - don't give employees enough time to settle in! All this "patient care comes first" is BS its all about sales targets. Constantly bending the truth to patients - this may be common in sales environments but we are also dealing with people's personal health here. The laser treatment side of the business is going downhill - sooner or later this is going to cause some serious downsizing as the company have doubled down on this as their main money maker. Laser eye surgery is nothing new and yet prices continue to soar. The company nearly went down the toilet in 2013 - will it survive next time? Even if it does it will be vastly different.

    Continue reading
    Optical Express2019-11-17
  8. "Good progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job progression Changing peoples lives Good benefits

    Cons

    None the day is varied with the tasks I preform varied and enjoyable

    Optical Express2019-09-26
  9. "Make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to make suggestions on improvements that are actually listened to Great environment with a massive array of characters Always something happening in the office to bring people together Genuine care in your career development

    Cons

    Clock in and clock out machines working bank holiday

    Optical Express2019-09-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ok to work for but be prepared for pressure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free refractive treatment after probation period

    Cons

    Unrealistic Targets with little investment

    Continue reading
    Optical Express2019-09-14
Found 259 reviews