Optical Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Optical Express Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Optical Express Chairman & CEO David Moulsdale
David Moulsdale
178 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Absolutely no direction from senior management and a complete refusal to change the way things are done through fear of reprisals(in 14 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage and minimum breaks(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team work, team leaders motivate team

    Cons

    There aren't any cons that I can think of

    Optical Express2019-12-31
  2. "Only if you like to be under high pressure for minimal salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team if you are lucky

    Cons

    Rota is done for 1,5 months on advance without asking your preferences Push even the poorest people to buy the most expensive lenses and frames Travel two hours on train without seat reservation because company doesn't pay the accomodation Feel frustrated because the manager's eyes are always on the staff Swallow down if you didn't manage to sell enough and you are being told off No any motivation never

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing people even in the weak months Stop forcing the staff for overselling Stop making the staff frustrated Ask them how would they like to have their rota, if they have any plan on advance Ask them how do they feel about the job Provide them feedback forms and ask them to fill them up ANONYMOUS

    Optical Express2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No Commitment to Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time

    Pros

    Nice Bonus Structure, Nice colleagues

    Cons

    Company values are by no means followed. Aggressive commercial attitude. Very poor customer aftercare. Needs a big reshuffle between Values and Commitment.

    Advice to Management

    Market is changing. The kind of management was good in the early 90's. Not anymore. The main issues come from the very top management. I fell sorry for everyone bellow the Board Members

    Optical Express2019-12-16
  4. "Maximum micromanagement minimum everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some friends for life

    Cons

    Inexperienced & insecure management leads to petty behaviours & major micro management. 4 people resigned due to one particular manager. Minimum holidays. 40 hour working week. Half hour lunch only. Clock in/clock out. Hire & fire attitude. Antiquated in the views of running the entire business. Lacks inclusivity - won’t employ anyone with visible tattoos, dyed/quirky hair, visible/unusual piercings. Casual racism - if applicants don’t have a traditional “British” name, you will be asked how good their spoken English is. Salary is below market average. Clinical staff assisting with eye surgery are paid minimum wage (terrifying)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you start to value staff, pay what they’re worth, be more open minded & incisive you could save thousands of pounds in recruitment. Stop giving jobs to people with longevity rather than skill.

    Optical Express2019-12-31
  5. "Live chat agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Live Chat Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, staff get on well and you build long lasting friendships.

    Cons

    No career progression. Just a job to pay the bills.

    Optical Express2019-12-02
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities for progression. Great staff and senior management

    Cons

    Sometimes you need to travel to other stores to help

    Optical Express2019-11-16
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus, good regional management. Locations

    Cons

    Bad local management , work every saturday

    Optical Express2019-11-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Management awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Training given at head office.

    Cons

    Fast paced - rushed off your feet Aim is to get as many people in the door to spend spend spend! It’s a bit like a conveyer belt! Very corporate environment. Only a half hour break for lunch. Not paid enough for the amount of work carried out. Too much focus on store targets and your own targets - staff given monthly reviews. No support from manager when new to the role. Expected to watch and get on with it. Computer system is old and not user friendly. Expectation of staff to stand outside the store and hand out flyers/ clean specs etc - this looks very cheap.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really disappointed with this company. Never come across anything like it in my life! Glad I got out - it really word me down! Manager and one other staff spoke to me in a very unprofessional manner in front of patients. I was left feeling shocked! My hard work and grasping new skills was never acknowledged. Poor poor management. Quite honestly the worst job I’ve ever had!

    Optical Express2019-12-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Advisor in Dartford, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Going home. Not having to go there.

    Cons

    Make you do jobs you are not qualified for

    Advice to Management

    You need to seriously check out the bullying that goes on. I experienced behaviour I never knew existed by those employees who are allowed to behave in a disgusting manner.

    Optical Express2019-12-08
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A nice environment to work in.

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Advice to Management

    None

    Optical Express2019-10-27
Found 265 reviews