Optical Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Optical Express Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 245 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Optical Express CEO David Moulsdale
David Moulsdale
169 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really great team and company to work with(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great people and forward looking company(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bonus structure could be better for people outwith senior management or shop front(in 12 reviews)

  • "minimum wage, no pay review - in fact, no review or appraisal of any kind;(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee engagement and recognition is the main focus. It's a fast paced environment, which offers flexible working patterns and a great work-life balance. I love working for an organisation that has a strong set of values which are reflected across the business. Patient care comes above all else and it's amazing to be part of an organisation that changes peoples lives for the better.

    Cons

    I can honestly say there aren't any.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate the corporate goals effectively and celebrate success.

    Optical Express2019-07-09
  2. "Employee Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Function in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fellow team members, colleagues, onsite facilities, exposure to dealing with senior management/stakeholders

    Cons

    Lack of flexible working, career progression not as quick as it could be in some areas

    Advice to Management

    Moving in the right direction, however further focus placed on people development and staff benefits package to attract and retain top talent in line with market and competitors.

    Optical Express2019-07-09
  3. "Optician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time

    Pros

    Efficient Good support Good technology Nice clinics Good benefits

    Cons

    Working hours Bonus Double clinics Fast staff turnover

    Optical Express2019-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "If you have the option to work anywhere else, literally anywhere, choose that before Optical Express."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, some nice people. That's about it.

    Cons

    Absolutely no direction from senior management and a complete refusal to change the way things are done through fear of reprisals. Poor investment in technology resulting in your job being made even more difficult and backward. A refusal to invest in their staff and the tools they require to do their job. High attrition of staff and a known bullying culture if you face doesn't fit. Openly discuss HR cases...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Absolutely no point in offering advice.

    Optical Express2019-07-08
  5. "Very good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant 

    I have been working at Optical Express part-time

    Pros

    Working as a team in challenging environment

    Cons

    No cons to mention a

    Optical Express2019-05-31
  6. "Optical Express Patient Advisor Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the staff are very friendly. When it comes to getting days off and requesting holidays, the management are very fair. The professional environment opens up many doors to continuously develop and expand your skills.

    Cons

    Employee benefits in the UK are better than those in Ireland.

    Optical Express2019-05-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Darlington, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Structured and progressive career paths for everyone.

    Cons

    Wage increases not in line with cost of living. No uniform

    Advice to Management

    Look after your loyal staff.

    Optical Express2019-04-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I have worked at optical express now for the past 13years.both in Plymouth and Newcastle.great staff warm friendly team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optical Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team.working hours to suit everyone’s needs.always plenty of on going training.top of the range equipment. Management always very helpful.

    Cons

    Not enough hours in the working day

    Advice to Management

    Xmas bonus

    Optical Express2019-04-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Patient Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Advisor in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a company we work as one team with branches in the UK , Ireland and Germany. There is opportunity for training on new skills and even refreshers for those who want to relearn current skills. We offer various roles within the stores from Optical Advisors, Store managers , Call centre and even surgical support, all have options for progression. In Newcastle we are open 7 days a week , the rota works around well with...

    Show More

    Cons

    Store has no on site parking

    Optical Express2019-04-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Advisor in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optical Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team around you working together to achieve the best possible. Always opportunities for growth development and training. Great regional team that are always there to support you when needed that push to get the best out of everyone playing to each individuals strengths and always improving the way we do things.

    Cons

    Can be really fast paced wich doesn’t play to everyone’s strengths but always keeps you busy!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support new starters and give all training and time to grow in the role.

    Optical Express2019-04-16
Found 245 reviews