A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated 22 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group Managing Director; Chairman, Hutchison Whampoa Limited  Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very hard work, can be very long hours and asked to work(in 4 reviews)

  • "It's in Battersea and nothing goes on there(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "e-commerce administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, great benefits, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Facilities could be slightly better

    A.S. Watson Group2018-08-24

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 30, 2018Comms Manager

    Thanks a lot for your review! We're very happy you're enjoying your time with us. Your feedback means a lot, and we're delighted to hear you're rating our culture, benefits and development opportunities so highly! We're also very keen to hear the constructive part of all the reviews we get on Glassdoor, and really do take the cons on board. A perfect example of that, is the recent refurbishment of our office in London Battersea - an action based mainly on the feedback you gave us. Again, thanks for taking your time and leaving us a review!

    Continue reading
  2. "Hmmmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount is 10% on branded and 30% on own brand with Superdrug.

    Cons

    Very hard work, can be very long hours and asked to work long hours with only a moments notice. Left feeling like just a dispensiple number. However if you fall out with management expect to get minimum hours and bad mouthed behind your back.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2020-02-22
  3. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Support Engineer in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free peaks for superdrug

    Cons

    Salary and career progression

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2020-02-19
  4. "Environment not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    1 International Vibe -Working with people from different countries is pretty interesting. Mother company and Business units in different countries so calls sometimes happen in the oddest hours. But no big deal. -Nice people 2 People are friendly in general. - Helpful. Not very high achievers. HR are very busy. They tend to "forget" things. 3Rules Policies -They sent them all out to you. Liking it nice and clear. 4 Good meeting Roomd and Seats - really make you feel like in a conglomerate

    Cons

    1 Horrible pantry Environment. - No real coffee. Only Instant. Was told to bring your own capsules for the third floor machine. - Poor cleanliness. Office is busy but still. pantry is putrid with dirty cups and bowls in the cupboard. That limescale kettle on the third floor should go to the science museum. No one maintains the pantry basically. 2 Hot desking was a joke Some teams and people just occupy certain seats for months. What's the point then. 3 Office location It's in Battersea and nothing goes on there.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2020-02-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and office culture/ environment, poor everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Working with fun and clever colleagues, good work/ life balance, flexible working, good social life.

    Cons

    Benefits are quite basic and the salary is definitely below industry standard. There are no clear career development opportunities. Not enough recognition given to colleagues who have performed well. Some senior management don't appear to do very much, all talk and no action. Office is in an awkward location by Battersea Bridge.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-12-17
  6. "Great please to work and develop your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management always willing to listen Comfortable, relaxed and fun working environment Good benefits If you want to do something different, they'll let you try it. Leader care about your development.

    Cons

    Flat structure, difficult to get a promotion in certain teams Annual leave flexibility is limited. In some departments they're a few people short of what they need to really make a difference.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-13

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 13, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We’re very glad to hear you’re enjoying your time with us and the benefits we have to offer! We value your feedback and will ensure it is passed on to the appropriate team – it’s great to hear you want to make a real difference.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - sizeable company - good exposure - 1.5 lunch hours

    Cons

    - bad company culture

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-19

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 11, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoy the international aspect of our company. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve in other areas you mention, please contact your local HR team – we’d love to hear from you.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "TERRIBLE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superdrug discount card Some of the employees were really nice (because we shared the same pain)

    Cons

    Terrible management. Absolutely the WORST! Don't let you go on breaks. Force you to do overtime. Sometimes without pay. The manager 'forgot' to pay me for extra hours I did. He promised to pay me soon. I chased after him for ONE WHOLE MONTH and each time he would tell me he'll do it or he forgot. I gave up with him. FORCE you to do SAS when they know the customers don't want the items. The customers will be refusing the product on 'promotion' (it's always the same price) and you'd hear a whisper saying 'pUsH It HaRdEr Ya!' and when the customer is gone, they'd have a word with u. Don't let you pray if you're religious. Give people who hate the till, a permenant till role and the people who hate stacking the shelves, the shelves. That just makes it a less enjoyable experience for everyone apart from management, who spend their day in the staff room watching YouTube videos or on the phone, going on her '2nd break' for the 10th time. Also DO NOT! I repeat, DO NOT work there if ur a student. They treat u like you're worthless. xoxo

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-13

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 11, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are extremely keen to address your comments. Due to your role, we believe you might have been employed by one of our retail businesses. Please kindly get in touch with us on More@uk.aswatson.com, this will enable us to address your feedback with greater accuracy and support - ensuring we get the right HR team involved. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good, friendly work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce Administrator in London, England

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly teams with team members willing to help, lots of exciting projects to get involved in. Many group events like summer bbq

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for development

    A.S. Watson Group2019-07-08

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 8, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your time with us and got involved with our internal events. We really appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve our internal opportunities. For example, we recently launched a new platform to source internal talent for opportunities within Group Europe that includes our BUs as well. We wish you best of luck with your future endeavours.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Average and boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workforce diversity at work place. I can't believe I am saying anything good about HR but actually local HR team are not bad. They are tightly controlled by HK head office but they are trying their best. Good location in Battersea, right next to the park. HR makes good effort to educate western employees on Chinese culture.

    Cons

    At local senior level company tends to hire on paper credentials but those people turn out pretty average. So you get bunch of fat cats not doing much. Managers hire to increase span of control and not because they actually need a resource. As a result, most of the time I had nothing to do. In the end I got bored of being bored, so I left. Cheapness and low cost culture is all around you: pay below industry standard, no canteen, no place to have lunch, tight desk space, overcrowded office, cheap Christmas parties and list goes on.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-01-23

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 8, 2019Comms Manager

    Hello and thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback. We’re very glad to hear about your positive experience when it comes to our HR team, our internal diversity, location and culture. At the same time, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts and advice when it comes to the less-positive aspects of your experience with us. We’re very proud of what we do at A.S. Watson, especially around the way we recruit our people. What we look for in all of our potential candidates is commitment, teamwork, science, innovation and most of all passion - it’s not a coincidence we’re the largest Health & Beauty retailer in the world! In our recent Employee Engagement survey our people told us, it is the Opportunities that are one of the top 3 best things about working at A.S. Watson. Although we know for a fact there are a number of fantastic opportunities available at A.S. Watson, we also know they require own initiative and innovative thinking to be taken. Again, thank you for your review and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 102 reviews