A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 176 of over 235 reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group Managing Director; Chairman, Hutchison Whampoa Limited  Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "nice working environment, flexible working time in elab(in 13 reviews)

  • "People are friendly, nice working environment, good work life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Due to the need to turn things around quickly some weeks will be very busy with some long hours required(in 6 reviews)

  • "Quite fast paced, no planning for the tasks and timelines, huge pressure to staff(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company to work for

      Apr 27, 2021 - Digital Designer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Versatile environment, projects from concept to code for a variety of companies

      Cons

      Can sometimes be too fast pace

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Hi there, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy our dynamic & versatile working environment!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Team, Friendly Environment

      Sep 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Hinsdale, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A nice place to work with friendly/ approachable teams and great learning & development opportunities.

      Cons

      There are limited flexible working opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our culture and L&D opportunities. We wish you the best of luck in future endeavours.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      during the last year they are squeezing everyone worth for the money they pay

      Sep 6, 2021 - IT Infrastructure Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy location to find and commute

      Cons

      no progression, no training, overloaded with work and feeling under pressure all the time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you were feeling overloaded at the end of your time with us. We aim to encourage a culture where colleagues feel comfortable voicing any concerns to managers, and we implement regular training sessions with managers so they can more easily identify topics such as heavy workloads. Nonetheless, we will take your feedback on board! Thank you for your 4-star rating, we wish you the best of luck in future endeavours.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture of fear dictated from the CEO

      Sep 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The colleagues are passionate and go the extra mile

      Cons

      The CEO (Malina Ngai) runs every aspect of the business and does so in a way that senior leaders fear for their jobs and are unwilling to say no. To challenge her means you are then marginalised, treated unrespectfully, and usually fired. The HR directors and MDs of the business units are impotent infront of her and this is why so many people are leaving

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Thank you for your review. We work hard to create an innovative working environment driven by teamwork, so we’re sorry to hear you didn’t experience this in your role. From the Employee Engagement Survey, to cross-department meetings, we are committed to understanding what our colleagues want and implementing changes wherever possible. If you would like to discuss in More detail, please email More@uk.aswatson.com. We wish you the best of luck in future endeavours.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Asian Culture is the key

      Aug 13, 2021 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their learning and development is endless

      Cons

      They do not have enough international mentality

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic environment and no room for creativity or innovative ideas

      Sep 15, 2021 - ELab Designer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some friendly colleagues. working with people from different backgrounds.

      Cons

      There is a toxic environment cause my the way the team is managed. Management are more interested in finding someone to blame for a mistake instead of focusing on finding a solution and teaching the team in a more positive way. People are constant overworked and pulling many over hours. So this company has a terrible life work balance. Business unities are very disorganised which leads to miscommunication an adds up to the volume of work as everything is decided last minute. Very narrow minded management that is afraid to implement, consider or even to listen new ideas that could proved beneficial to the team. Archaic systems and way of working. Bonus package is a big joke. There not a specific way of measuring success so you end up not getting you full bonus package as the company try to save money. If you think you will be a designer, this is a big mistake. You would end up being an artwork in a company that is more interested in quantity then quality. A reason why some business unities were performing so badly. ("The way the company is going, the are caring more about quantity instead of quality" - manager quote). Everything is templated, from emails to online advertisement. So there is no much room for creativity. Making the role a Artwork role than a Designer role. Some teams behave that to be feed up and tired of working for this company. It is not a very collaborative environment. Some people are more busy then others

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. We regularly implement tools such as the Employee Engagement Survey and training courses (for both colleagues and managers) to create a positive environment. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and will take this on board. We wish you the best of luck in future endeavours.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Superdrug

      Jul 26, 2021 - Part-time Sales Advisor in Luton, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cosmetics and skincare aisle - interact with customers - good environment Caring colleagues

      Cons

      Beauty cards - unrealistic expectations by Area managers Some customers do not like to be asked more than twice for a beauty card.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Hi there, Thank you for your review. We can see you worked for one of our business units, but we are so glad you enjoyed your time overall. We wish you the best of luck in the future.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Sales

      Aug 16, 2021 - Sales Advisor in Wickford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much at all terrible really.

      Cons

      terrible functions in all departments. Hr does not care.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good Experience

      Jun 22, 2021 - Data Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting insights into a industry i wasn't familiar with so helped gain experience.

      Cons

      The only con would have been in relation to salary.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Thank you for your review. We focus a lot on Learning & Development, so we're glad to hear you had a valuable time with us. We wish you the best of luck in all future endeavours!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good job

      Jun 22, 2021 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incentives and friendly staff. Nice job to

      Cons

      Not many cons maybe not enough hours for me

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      A.S. Watson Group Response

      Comms Coordinator

      Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoy our working environment.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 176 Reviews

    Popular Careers with A.S. Watson Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at A.S. Watson Group? Share Your Experiences

    A.S. Watson Group logo
    or