A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated 20 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group CEO Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Comfortable, relaxed and fun working environment(in 8 reviews)

  • "ASW is a dynamic international company with fast paced business(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Due to the need to turn things around quickly some weeks will be very busy with some long hours required(in 3 reviews)

  • "need to OT on Sat/Sun a few times in a year(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "e-commerce administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, great benefits, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Facilities could be slightly better

    A.S. Watson Group2018-08-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - sizeable company - good exposure - 1.5 lunch hours

    Cons

    - bad company culture

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-19
  3. "Great please to work and develop your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management always willing to listen Comfortable, relaxed and fun working environment Good benefits If you want to do something different, they'll let you try it. Leader care about your development.

    Cons

    Flat structure, difficult to get a promotion in certain teams Annual leave flexibility is limited. In some departments they're a few people short of what they need to really make a difference.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "TERRIBLE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superdrug discount card Some of the employees were really nice (because we shared the same pain)

    Cons

    Terrible management. Absolutely the WORST! Don't let you go on breaks. Force you to do overtime. Sometimes without pay. The manager 'forgot' to pay me for extra hours I did. He promised to pay me soon. I chased after him for ONE WHOLE MONTH and each time he would tell me he'll do it or he forgot. I gave up with him. FORCE you to do SAS when they know the customers don't want the items. The customers will be refusing... the product on 'promotion' (it's always the same price) and you'd hear a whisper saying 'pUsH It HaRdEr Ya!' and when the customer is gone, they'd have a word with u. Don't let you pray if you're religious. Give people who hate the till, a permenant till role and the people who hate stacking the shelves, the shelves. That just makes it a less enjoyable experience for everyone apart from management, who spend their day in the staff room watching YouTube videos or on the phone, going on her '2nd break' for the 10th time. Also DO NOT! I repeat, DO NOT work there if ur a student. They treat u like you're worthless. xoxo

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get new management.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-13
  5. "Good, friendly work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce Administrator in London, England

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly teams with team members willing to help, lots of exciting projects to get involved in. Many group events like summer bbq

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for development

    A.S. Watson Group2019-07-08
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Average and boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workforce diversity at work place. I can't believe I am saying anything good about HR but actually local HR team are not bad. They are tightly controlled by HK head office but they are trying their best. Good location in Battersea, right next to the park. HR makes good effort to educate western employees on Chinese culture.

    Cons

    At local senior level company tends to hire on paper credentials but those people turn out pretty average. So you get bunch of fat cats not doing much. Managers hire to increase span of control and not because they actually need a resource. As a result, most of the time I had nothing to do. In the end I got bored of being bored, so I left. Cheapness and low cost culture is all around you: pay below industry... standard, no canteen, no place to have lunch, tight desk space, overcrowded office, cheap Christmas parties and list goes on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Monitor what senior management does all day. You may be surprised with what you find.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-01-23
  7. "Great company - a career full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Variety of development opportunities - Fast pace environment - A company with innovation at heart - There's always a number of new and exciting projects you can get involved in

    Cons

    Can't think of any so far :)

    A.S. Watson Group2018-07-31
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Looks after staff Good training Fun place to work Motivated

    Cons

    Heavy workload Pay could be better

    A.S. Watson Group2018-06-22
  9. "Short Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multicultural environment Great Team Fast paced and proactive in change

    Cons

    Hong Kong influence on working environment.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-08
  10. "Supportive employer / great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    ASW is a fast paced, dynamic and truly international company. It has fully supported both my professional and personal growth and given me a platform to progress in my career. It is people centric and treats its employees fairly and with respect. It's innovative and results driven which provides ongoing challenges and opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Overall very good but could provide greater incentives for long service.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-07
Found 95 reviews