A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group CEO Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team spirit in Zurich and regular team building activities(in 5 reviews)

  • "Stable long-term opportunity, safe working environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Demanding workload, fast-paced environment, wages slightly below industry average(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "e-commerce administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, great benefits, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Facilities could be slightly better

    A.S. Watson Group2018-08-24

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 30, 2018Comms Manager

    Thanks a lot for your review! We're very happy you're enjoying your time with us. Your feedback means a lot, and we're delighted to hear you're rating our culture, benefits and development opportunities so highly! We're also very keen to hear the constructive part of all the reviews ...

    Show More
  2. "Good, friendly work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce Administrator in London, England

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly teams with team members willing to help, lots of exciting projects to get involved in. Many group events like summer bbq

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for development

    A.S. Watson Group2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Average and boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workforce diversity at work place. I can't believe I am saying anything good about HR but actually local HR team are not bad. They are tightly controlled by HK head office but they are trying their best. Good location in Battersea, right next to the park. HR makes good effort to educate western employees on Chinese culture.

    Cons

    At local senior level company tends to hire on paper credentials but those people turn out pretty average. So you get bunch of fat cats not doing much. Managers hire to increase span of control and not because they actually need a resource. As a result, most of the time I had nothing to do. In the end I got bored of being bored, so I left. Cheapness and low cost culture is all around you: pay below industry... standard, no canteen, no place to have lunch, tight desk space, overcrowded office, cheap Christmas parties and list goes on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Monitor what senior management does all day. You may be surprised with what you find.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-01-23
  4. "Great company - a career full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Variety of development opportunities - Fast pace environment - A company with innovation at heart - There's always a number of new and exciting projects you can get involved in

    Cons

    Can't think of any so far :)

    A.S. Watson Group2018-07-31

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 2, 2018

    Hi there and thanks for your review. We're extremely happy you're enjoying your journey with us! We're very proud of our innovative nature and are always glad to hear our people appreciate it it too.

  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Looks after staff Good training Fun place to work Motivated

    Cons

    Heavy workload Pay could be better

    A.S. Watson Group2018-06-22

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    June 28, 2018

    Hi there and thank you for such a great review! It means a lot to us to hear you enjoyed your experience with A.S. Watson and we would like to wish you all the best in your future career.

  6. "Short Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multicultural environment Great Team Fast paced and proactive in change

    Cons

    Hong Kong influence on working environment.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-08

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 23, 2017

    Hi there, and thanks a million for taking your time to leave us a review! At A.S. Watson we’re exceptionally proud of our multicultural nature and international expertise. That’s what makes us unique. That’s what helps us build a strong instinct for teamwork – no matter on the location. ...

    Show More
  7. "Supportive employer / great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    ASW is a fast paced, dynamic and truly international company. It has fully supported both my professional and personal growth and given me a platform to progress in my career. It is people centric and treats its employees fairly and with respect. It's innovative and results driven which provides ongoing challenges and opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Overall very good but could provide greater incentives for long service.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-07

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 24, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback and remarkable rating. We’re extremely happy to hear about your successful journey with us so far, and wish you all the best for the future. Thanks a million!

  8. "Forward thinking, people focused company - great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay & benefits, career progression, good work/life balance promoted, inspirational people, diversity embraced, "work hard play hard" mentality.

    Cons

    Can be a little corporate, not necessarily a "cool" brand to work for (and often unknown in Europe).

    Advice to Management

    Increase brand awareness of ASW (not just their brands). Become more flexible for younger generation.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-04-10

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 24, 2017

    Thank you for such a brilliant review. We love the fact you’re enjoying ASW’s unique and inspirational culture and you’re totally right – we need to shout More about it! To help us increase awareness about who we are as an employer we we’ve recently launched our global Employer ...

    Show More
  9. "Great team, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and environment in the London office, very open and honest culture. Senior managers/directors are very busy but approachable. Work-life balance is ok.

    Cons

    Very small teams means less space for growth, there's no place to step away from your desk to have lunch, flexible working could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Rearranging/relocating the office should be considered - it's difficult to focus being stuck at your desk all day, there isn't always time to go out for lunch.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-04-06

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    June 20, 2017Head of HR Operations (Europe)

    Hi. Thank you for your feedback and review. It's good to see that you mention our great team, senior management and culture of openness as particular positives. We will ensure that your comments around space for growth and office rearrangement are addressed. We wish you continued ...

    Show More
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group

    Pros

    Great Team, good development and internal promotion and moves. Good culture and always lots to do.

    Cons

    Office facilities aren't up to standard. Could do with an upgrade on refresh of the office.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-03-13

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 24, 2017

    Hi and thanks for 5 stars! We’re extremely happy you appreciate our culture, team spirit and the breadth of opportunities available at A.S. Watson Group. We’re particularly proud of these aspects too. Thank also for highlighting the cons - they’re on our radar. Best wishes.

Found 84 reviews