SSE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SSE Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
SSE CEO Alistair Phillips-Davies
Alistair Phillips-Davies
192 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work in but need more organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Protection and Control Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working environment Working from home options ( agile working).

    Cons

    Normal salaries compared to other companies. Need a restructure in many areas

    SSE2019-11-20
  2. "Great people, not the best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SSE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Many kong standing employees that are happy to offer advice and mentorship - reasonable level of opportunity for advancement - Some flexible working and autonomy in role - regular training offered - my manager was excellent and very supportive - my team where experienced, committed and very capable.

    Cons

    - Company lost the ‘family feeling’ it once had and became more corporate - many processes and rules in place just as tick box exercise (health and safety etc). These are important rules so upper management should have taken them more seriously - lack of clarity around staff expectations and performance review process

    Advice to Management

    I think they knew/know the issues that exist, they should have pushed harder to get meaningful changes implemented.

    SSE2019-12-10
  3. "Forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Digital 

    I worked at SSE full-time

    Pros

    Good use of technology, good pay, great office

    Cons

    Some functions overlapped and under resourced

    SSE2019-12-06
  4. "Company has pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate 

    I have been working at SSE full-time

    Pros

    Large company so not terrible rotation options

    Cons

    Do not get lots of choice or advice from managers

    SSE2019-12-04
  5. "Wasted potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always looking to promote internally

    Cons

    Too resistant to change - lagging technologically

    Advice to Management

    Adapt

    SSE2019-11-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends

    I worked at SSE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and career progression

    Cons

    Unsocial hours. Target driven culture

    SSE2019-11-06
  7. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project in Perth, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working is encouraged for all staff.

    Cons

    Not enough car parking for everyone on site

    SSE2019-11-19
  8. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that can be thought of

    Cons

    Pretty much every thing there

    Advice to Management

    They would not listen openly encouraged bullying

    SSE2019-12-08
  9. "Sse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SSE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment Loved working there

    Cons

    Far distance travel problems for me

    SSE2019-11-12
  10. "Data ignorant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Havant, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSE part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting times and problems, good pay (but negated by the utter lack of development potential)

    Cons

    Tools not fit for purpose, management covering of workplace bullying commonplace, management data literacy poor

    Advice to Management

    Staff are every bit trying to solve the problems as management and yet and treated like idiots.

    SSE2019-11-08
Found 437 reviews
</>Embed