Saga Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Saga Group Reviews

Updated 21 September 2018
108 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lance Batchelor
52 Ratings

108 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Plus the senior management are on ridiculous salaries whilst telling staff they have to cut the cost base" (in 6 reviews)

  • "The way that staff are treated is appalling" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "8 years and still here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Sales Executive Level IV in Ramsgate, England
    Current Employee - Travel Sales Executive Level IV in Ramsgate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It has a great salary and goes up inline with your performance, You have varied shifts but can always get swaps if other agents if you really need the day off, It comes with a great Flexable Pension Scheme, lot's discounts off local shops lie GYM memberships and O2 phone store and DIY stores and many many more, Team and agent incentives where you can to quality shows in London and around the U.K even abroad sometime, also as an individual you can will things such as I-Phones, you have BBQ days and team dress competitions where you can win Pizza's for everyone,, there is plenty to opportunity to move around departments and further your carer in other area's as well as constant on the job coaching to better you skills, another great things is the amount of commission you can earn, some agents easily take home over £1000 a month on top of their already high basic salary if you are willing to work hard for it.

    Cons

    As with any big business there can be a few changes that need to be made where by you change teams or possible area's however that also creates plenty of new opportunities to expand your skill set.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep listening to your agents as they not what is best to always allow the best customer journey and keep staff happy once that is lost then there is only one way things can go.

    Saga Group Response

    13 Sep 2018 – .

    Thank you for sharing your positive review of Saga.

    The Saga Recruitment team.


  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is a really supportive and friendly place to work, people look out for each other and the benefits are great

    Cons

    Some shifts can be long and the hours tougher but overall no complaints from me :)

    Saga Group Response

    13 Sep 2018 – .

    Thanks for recommending us and for sharing your experience for others to consider.

    The Saga Recruitment team

  3. "Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hastings, England
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hastings, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There are many pros of working for Saga. Mostly for me, it was meeting my team. Everyone clicks and gets along both inside and outside of work. There is support all around from colleagues and managers whenever you may need it

    Cons

    The call volumes at times can be quite demanding so it's important to stay calm under pressure.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the air con

    Saga Group Response

    13 Sep 2018 – .

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience and for recommending Saga!

    The Saga Recruitment Team


  4. "One day you have a job, the same afternoon you don't...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Progression - if you work hard
    No weekend work in some roles

    Cons

    No loyalty to staff
    Bonuses slashed with little or no warning
    Senior management lack of acknowledgement
    A culture of who you know - the wrong people get promoted/chosen for senior roles

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff, do some proper work, don't just chat when your operations manager isn't around.
    Treat staff like humans, not just numbers when it comes to "cost cutting"
    Spend money on retaining staff, instead of new cruise ships


  5. Helpful (1)

    "if i died and went to hell id wake up back at saga"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hastings, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hastings, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time

    Pros

    some people were fun to work with

    Cons

    sagas way of treating the elderly through vicious sales practices is awful, and i remember being told off for not pushing for the sale when it was obvious that the caller didnt understand why she had called in the first place (i think she was unwell and picked up a leaflet through the door)
    absolutely shocking pay structure. especially when the company makes so much money, the targets are impossible to reach consistently and the bonus is so small theres no point in trying
    poor to little career progression
    incredibly two-faced environment overall


  6. "Saga Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time

    Pros

    Some Good people work there

    Cons

    Too many changes
    Managers don't care

    Advice to Management

    Care

    Saga Group Response

    13 Sep 2018 – .

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, although disappointing for us to read.

    We do recognise how we sometimes need to change, either as our customers' needs change or so that we can... More


  7. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Folkestone, England
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits package, there are some great people.

    Cons

    Diminishing progression routes for middle management looking to develop

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff on the front line

    Saga Group Response

    13 Sep 2018 – .

    Thank you for recommending Saga.

    We're continuing to invest in our approach to developing and retaining the many talented people who choose us as their place of work. We believe the diversity of... More

  8. "Keep your dignity, do not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Ramsgate, England
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Vending machines
    Canteen
    Close to town
    Free car park
    Do not have to dress smart

    Cons

    It’s not what you know to progress, it’s who you know.
    Poor commission structure.
    Very low salaries.
    Scrutinise every single phone call.
    Pull you into HR for any petty reason.
    Racist staff and managers turn blind eye.
    Homophobic staff and managers turn blind eye.
    Bullying.
    If you want to go back to school, work here.

    Advice to Management

    Change the entire structure of the company and make it a professional working environment.

    Also get rid of your IBITDA presentation, the people at the bottom don’t care.

    Saga Group Response

    24 Aug 2018 – .

    We're disappointed to read this review.
    Please get in touch so we can discuss this further: saga.careers@saga.co.uk

    Saga Recruitment Team


  9. "Started off well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Saga Group full-time

    Pros

    Good staff, good facilities and infrastructure

    Cons

    Weak leadership, managers are out to further their own career at the expense of anyone in their team. Senior management created new job roles for middle managers every year, thus adding more and more layers of management


  10. "Good for experience, too many hangers on and no moving forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people
    Good work experience and learning for starting your career
    Good training
    Beautiful offices

    Cons

    Too many managers been there for life who haven’t worked anywhere else and therefore only know the ‘Saga way’ - some have been there since the 80s!!!
    They allowed bully managers to stay there for years being pushed around to Direct Choice instead of getting rid, even then they made them redundant instead of sacking them for their atrocious behaviour!
    Backwards way of thinking with treating the over 50s as if they’re decrepit
    Very little progression
    Outright sexism of males being promoted to managers whilst females not
    Lots of favouritism and cliques - same applies that the favourites get promoted despite being on maternity leave/sabbaticals for months prior!
    Poor holiday and benefits
    Poor flexibility - no home working
    Terrible pay
    They employ people who are severely under qualified to do the jobs

    Advice to Management

    Get some new blood into the management teams with different ideas and different experiences.

    Saga Group Response

    13 Sep 2018 – .

    Sorry to hear this was your experience of working for Saga.

    Feel welcome to get in touch at saga.careers@saga.co.uk to talk this through with us.

    The Saga Recruitment team.


Showing 108 of 111 reviews
Reset Filters