Thames Water Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thames Water Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Thames Water Interim Executive Chairman Ian Marchant  (no image)
Ian Marchant
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "The business is full of great people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Thames Water also values family and work-life balance which was also very important for me in a company(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Communications Manager 

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time

    Pros

    - People focused - Passionate workforce - Great culture, “family feel” - Approachable snr management - Takes change and transformation really seriously - Doing fantastic work around diversity and inclusion, mental health and much more - Great at listening to staff and empowering them

    Cons

    Could be a bit better at career progression/development in some areas. But lots of learning and development opportunities on offer and several great projects underway with dedicated and passionate teams.

    Thames Water2019-11-12
  2. "Water Scientis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment Help to grow

    Cons

    slow to make changes in

    Thames Water2020-02-14
  3. "Positive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Quality Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, line manager and colleagues are very friendly and helpful. High flexibility.

    Cons

    Wages should be a bit higher.

    Thames Water2020-02-08
  4. "Pay well but sometimes do not treat you well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay well and their is plenty of opportunity to move into other departments and roles

    Cons

    Treat you very poorly when it comes to organisational redesign which I went through 3 times in 13 years

    Thames Water2020-01-25
  5. "Nice people work here. Management don’t appreciate it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Generalist in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water

    Pros

    Nice staff and great locations. New IT roll out so new Laptops are a bonus.

    Cons

    Management do not appreciate their staff and most are unskilled. Mental Health is seen as a weakness so don’t admit it.

    Continue reading
    Thames Water2020-02-19
  6. "Not a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time

    Pros

    Nice office and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Poor management and no progression unless your friends with the team manager.

    Continue reading
    Thames Water2020-01-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Management Apathy Trickle Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary Convenient location to trains

    Cons

    Lip service to mental health well-being and work/life balance Bullying an on-going issue Apathetic upper management results in stagnation and frustration Non-existent training opportunities Inefficient managers

    Thames Water2020-01-06
  8. "Great company to work, flexible and encourage work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Everyone stays there for long time. Lots of internal movement.

    Cons

    HR department isn't as great as the rest of the business. A lot of internal politics and not flexible to encourage work life balance.

    Thames Water2019-12-18
  9. "Wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team, nice offices

    Cons

    Too many people in the team I was in/not enough work.

    Thames Water2019-12-10
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scheduler in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job Good company Good location in Reading

    Cons

    High staff turnover so always short-staffed

    Thames Water2019-11-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 218 reviews