Thames Water Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thames Water Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Steve Robertson
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Thames Water also values family and work-life balance which was also very important for me in a company(in 9 reviews)

  • "The business is full of great people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance struggles in some departments(in 5 reviews)

  • "During my time at Thames I have seen a lot of change very quickly, however it was not very well planned or structured(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "thames water work review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time

    Pros

    great hours and also great rates of pay. Great opportunites for carreer progression.

    Cons

    Night shift may make you feel a bit strange.

    Thames Water2019-04-06
  2. "Ok Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time

    Pros

    People are great, lots of knowledge

    Cons

    To many re-orgs, risk of losing knowledge you just won't get back when long term people realize great opportunities in wider market out there

    Advice to Management

    Let your people manage, value experience, you can't just buy it in with consultancy,

    Thames Water2019-04-11
  3. "Good benefits but needs to practice what they preach about mental bealth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enhanced Maternity leave - 14 weeks full pay before SMP. Good pension - double your contribution up to 12%

    Cons

    Ineffective resourcing policy - some departments have lots of staff but do very little; some have minimal staff with a high workload causing stress Salary structure isn’t fair and annual salary increases are minimal Very little training or support for managers

    Thames Water2019-04-11
  4. "Customer service advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great offices. Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    High pressured, high calls, high stats

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees, avoid clickyness

    Thames Water2019-04-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some colleagues are very supportive. High level management are good. The brand is very well known.

    Cons

    Thick low level managers intimidated by intelligent people so they bully you.Love wasting money. Expect you to do as your told and not challenge. Some team members are lazy. Work ethics are appalling No HR knowledge.

    Advice to Management

    Find a job in Tescos behind a til.

    Thames Water2019-04-07
  6. "procurement officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Thames Water full-time

      Pros

      lots of nice people and nice team environment

      Cons

      Management has little care

      Thames Water2019-04-07
    • "Alright"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Call Centre Agent in Reading, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Thames Water full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Decent pay, modern workspace, diverse employees

      Cons

      Too far for me to travel

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up👍🏻

      Thames Water2019-03-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good for PEOPLE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Reading, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Really good at the people stuff, H&S culture, flexibility, diversity etc. General community of people are friendly, welcoming and good team spirit. Great values Benefits and senior manager level are good - bonus, car allowance and health care If you work hard, good opportunity to progress

      Cons

      Old school - difficult to embed change Strategy doesn't always filter down to front line teams in literal terms Exec team have too much on and therefore, we don't always deliver Resource is always a significant reason why people can't do things Some culture of 'the old way is best'

      Advice to Management

      More heads on the ground, better layers of management, less 'away days'! We have a strategy, let's not keep changing it.

      Thames Water2019-03-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bit Behind"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Thames Water full-time

      Pros

      Learning & Development are exceptional but massively undervalued. The people at Thames Water are hardworking and genuinely proud to be there for the most part.

      Cons

      During my time at Thames I have seen a lot of change very quickly, however it was not very well planned or structured. Achieving anything at all can feel like a mission due to high levels of bureaucracy and company wide technical issues. Pay is very poor and the benefits provide a good pension and not much else worthwhile for office workers. I will say that the environment can be very unprofessional in certain areas,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take the time to invest in understanding the environment in your teams on a personal level, too much reliance is based on the employee survey/middle managers.

      Thames Water2019-03-18
    • "Finance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Thames Water full-time

      Pros

      Good worklife balance at thanes

      Cons

      Head office is in reading

      Thames Water2019-03-03
    Found 160 reviews