British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross CEO Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Support from senior management was weak at times(in 8 reviews)

  • "Volunteers are over worked and pressured into more hours and doing things that should be done by actual BRC staff(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive environment to work. Pay and ts&cs were good and they care about their staff.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape, similar to different large NGO's I have worked at.

    British Red Cross2019-10-13
  2. "HR Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment and excellent workplace culture Contributing to a meaningful cause Fast paced

    Cons

    Low paid Little opportunities for growth

    British Red Cross2019-10-26
  3. "Amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casework Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to develop and attend training.

    Cons

    Pay and lack of practical support to respond to increase demand of the service.

    British Red Cross2019-10-07
  4. "Ideal job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not micro managed. Teams worked well together.

    Cons

    Projects set up and working well but then funding stopped for various reasons. No job security

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with staff if funding WILL be available and not leave it to the last minute.

    British Red Cross2019-08-26
  5. "welcoming and nice to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Shop Floor 

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    line manager focused and willing to help, explained tasks and how to do things clearly and well

    Cons

    shop could get busy at times, difficult to handle

    British Red Cross2019-08-19
  6. "Friendly and supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative in Grantham, England

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    So many processes and procedures

    British Red Cross2019-08-14
  7. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job itself was straightforward. Volunteers were good to work with.

    Cons

    Expected to work through lunch hour for free if no volunteers were in. Refused all my holiday requests because manager thought I could be at work and still take holiday. Didn't understand that because I was only on a 7 hour contract that if I came in for 1 day that week then I hadn't taken my holiday allowance. Expected me to work nearly ever Saturday even though these should have been split between the manager and... me. Would text me at all times, evenings, weekends - I wasn't allowed to have a day off, I had to be available to answer her questions at all times. Manager threatened to cancel my training due to her personal issues (this is what she said herself via text message). This was a 7 hour part-time role yet felt like full-time. I lasted less than 3 months because of how the manager treated me. It just wasn't worth the hassle for 7 hours a week at minimum wage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a new manager.

    British Red Cross2019-09-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work but decision making could be slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good at connecting staff to the work of the BRC and wider Red Cross and who we were there to support. Large organisation with opportunities for secondment and development.

    Cons

    Teams are quite siloed and it was sometimes hard to cut across this. More leadership needed from senior management to support the organisational changes and to speed up decision making.

    British Red Cross2019-08-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Be cautious and ask to look where you'll be working before agreeing to the role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Salford, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some colleagues were lovely Range of training you can partake in, however none of it was helpful to the actual job role I was doing

    Cons

    They lie to you in the interview about what the job entails, I specifically asked in the interview about the amount of phone work I'd have to do and they said very little if any. It was all phone work to the point it was very similar to a call centre job! it's pretty much a call centre type job stuck on the phones all the time People in management roles are inadequate No sense of ownership especially when a... customer issue arises. For example the sales teams don't care unless they can make money out of the caller, otherwise it's passed on to the customer care even though it's sales which created the issue in the first place. As a customer service administrator you are left to take all the negatives from customers such as cancelled training sessions and you are left to give them shoddy explanations. Also lots of non first aid training calls come through to your line some are from people who are in desperate need and you are left with no training on how to deal with this and are blamed that they came through to the wrong number. You literally have to 'pass them on' and are left feeling guilty that you couldn't help.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get retrained, some of the managers and how they behaved was disgusting.

    British Red Cross2019-09-06
  10. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexitime, A/L, Colleagues, rewarding job.

    Cons

    Poor management structure and terrible HR.

    Advice to Management

    Staff are at capacity, stop burning them out.

    British Red Cross2019-07-31
Found 172 reviews