Capital One Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capital One Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "One of the best companies for software engineers in Nottingham."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    The benefits offered are among the best available for the area. You get 10% time to learn or work on something that interests you. You have access to many online courses and books plus a wide community of developers. Great facilities really good canteen with multiple meal options every day. As a software engineer you get the latest MacPro, wide monitor, standing desk, unlimited coffee and a really comfy chair....

    Show More

    Cons

    Getting used to all the acronyms will take you a few months (but there is always someone willing to help!) No parking available on site for most associates. On the other hand, support for travel to work is good e.g. NCT, Tram, cycle.

    Advice to Management

    Coordinate with HR so that all on boarding sessions (company and tech) are done within the same week.

    Capital One2018-06-25

    Capital One Response

    June 25, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your review, it's really great to hear all of your comments. Unlimited coffee and standing desks are among my pros too!

  2. "An amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Strategy Analyst in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, culture and values

    Cons

    None from me, I’m really happy with my job!

    Advice to Management

    The volume of senior level exposure for my role is vital for progression and development

    Capital One2019-03-30

    Capital One Response

    April 11, 2019Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review, it's really great to hear your comments.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - just make sure you fit in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great informal atmosphere High standard of people Great buildings

    Cons

    Just make sure you fit in with the culture and be nice, it's not an abrasive atmosphere and people can take offence to very minor things

    Capital One2019-05-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Unfair managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Complaints Coordinator in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - compared to other companies, culture is laid back and you can dress casually - the company make you feel appreciated they reward staff with small treats to say thank you, which is a nice touch. - open plan so senior managers are accessible

    Cons

    - low salary 16.5k per year for coordinators - perfomance management could be better. I do not understand how you can compare performance for all people at the same level right across the department when people do extremely different things? It makes sense if everyone is doing the same thing. It's really not a reflection of someone's perfomance. - management have a relaxed approach to bullying. I have seen the victims...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - please review perfomance management - take a stronger stance on bullying.

    Capital One2019-04-07

    Capital One Response

    April 11, 2019Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all of your comments, both positive and constructive. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please email us at ukrecruitment@capitalone.com

  5. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work culture - Salary - Career Progression - Benefits

    Cons

    - Lack of on site car parking

    Capital One2019-03-26

    Capital One Response

    April 11, 2019Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Complaint Handler in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and facilities such as free gym

    Cons

    Really political when it comes to performance management.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication

    Capital One2019-02-24
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, Flexible working, Office environment is great.

    Cons

    Very competitive. Performance Management/end of year reviews can be stressful.

    Capital One2019-01-30
  8. "Capital One"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engaging team & Responsive hiring managers Flexible working Great location

    Cons

    Nothing has come up so far

    Capital One2019-01-15
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great progression, good work life ballance

    Cons

    no cons at capital one

    Capital One2019-01-15
  10. "designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - County (Optional) in Huyton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    It was very hard work but the team were fantastic and it felt like we were all working to one goal

    Cons

    there could be a lot of anti-social hours

    Capital One2018-11-28
Found 103 reviews