Capital One Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capital One Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
92 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love my company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They look after you and I thankful to you.

    Cons

    They are so good no need for changed.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-03-27
  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent location Lots of perks, including a christmas and summer party Training and development opportunities Excellent work/life balance

    Cons

    Hard to get into certain departments

    Capital One2020-02-19

    Capital One Response

    February 25, 2020Talent Marketing Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate your comments!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Work/Life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Energetic environment Great office environment Challenging and exciting projects

    Cons

    Performance management system can promote bad behaviours Promotion from within can be slow

    Capital One2020-02-12

    Capital One Response

    February 25, 2020Talent Marketing Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate all of your comments, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company who cares about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture and environment

    Cons

    Sometimes we overspend on things

    Capital One2020-01-22

    Capital One Response

    January 28, 2020Talent Marketing Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write you review, we really appreciate your comments!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Nottingham, England

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good company. Cares about employees

    Cons

    Pay was low for the role

    Capital One2020-01-15

    Capital One Response

    January 20, 2020Talent Marketing Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate your comments!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Political."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Energetic, interesting initiatives from the US parent.

    Cons

    Highly political in most areas. If your face fits then you are okay. Most senior staff are busy telling themselves they are much better than they actually are.....

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-12-11

    Capital One Response

    December 12, 2019Talent Marketing Partner

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of your comments, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A Disappointing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance. - Great office and equipment. - Regular fully-expensed trips to Nottingham.

    Cons

    Upon joining you quickly become mired in endless planning and scrum ceremonies, bookended by talks on numerous corporate initiatives. Unworkable requirements are simply passed to teams from stakeholders in Nottingham who have remarkably little understanding of the teams in London. Inexperienced managers must then wrestle with these to try and eke out deliverables for stakeholders wedded to unrealistic deadlines. The graduate scheme is large and there are a limited number of developers able to support them in their development, adding additional pressure on teams. If you’re looking to grow as a developer I would simply avoid working here. Although Capital One does have good initiatives for learning and development, these can’t make up for the total lack of time spent actually building software.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-11-07

    Capital One Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Marketing Partner

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of your comments, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location to work city, good pay

    Cons

    Largely friendly place to work no cons

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-10-05

    Capital One Response

    October 16, 2019Talent Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

    Continue reading
  9. "Very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot from the company Office in heart of london

    Cons

    Had to travel to Nottingham once a week

    Capital One2019-10-01

    Capital One Response

    October 16, 2019Talent Manager

    Thank you for leaving your review, it's great to hear all of your comments.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not as great as it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Work life balance is good. Flexible 9-5 hours * Compensation is OK * Friendly people

    Cons

    * Work is very dull, not interesting and filled with horrible corporate process and red tape. As a result, you won't be able to learn much as an engineer. * Engineers in london are not given the same support as the Nottingham counterparts. * Performance management is completely unfair. You are not rewarded on you're technical ability and delivery but on how well you sell yourself to senior managers. * HR is very unhelpful, non responsive and their only interest is to protect the company. * Hiring is also very biased as well. Again people who are all talk but no substance get hired while actual talented engineers are not taken into consideration. This results in many hires having imposter syndrome.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-11-03

    Capital One Response

    November 7, 2019Talent Marketing Partner

    Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to read some of your comments, but take on board all feedback, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
Found 4513 reviews