Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Etsy Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office culture, benefits and pay.

    Cons

    None that I can think off.

    Advice to Management

    Keep commerce human, stay focussed

    Etsy2017-12-06
  2. "Well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Lots of food, activities, personal development encouraged

    Cons

    Employees have been here for years and there are some cliques

    Etsy2019-12-09
  3. "Bussiness analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've had Good experience working in the team

    Cons

    collaboration with interfaces were a bit slow

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in marketing technology

    Etsy2017-08-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Etsy Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Very good people. Lovely office and benefits.

    Cons

    Too many HR for such a small entity. Your contribution is not valued.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers and give recognition for the hard workers.

    Etsy2017-03-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "As long as you can roll with changes, this is the place for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Etsy is a wonderful place if you can handle a fast paced, ever changing environment. I've been here for almost 4 years and the company has been nothing but supportive of me and my career and especially in times when things personally were not great. The company deeply cares about us as humans and for that I am thankful.

    Cons

    The only con is that we move too quickly at times, because of that we do often have to change directions which can cause a lot of fatigue among teams

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and continue to listen to the employees.

    Etsy2019-12-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not an equal employer as they claim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Compensations & benefits are ok, better than a non-tech company, however they are not as good as other tech companies.

    Cons

    While they spend all the internal meetings talking about diversity and equality, I have known several cases where females were promoted at the same time and to the same position that males in the same team and they received a lower salary raise. Their complains were brushed off under the carpet by HR. Also while employees are encouraging to talk to HR and they are promised that the conversations are confidential, HR has informed about this "confidential" meetings to the employee's manager creating a toxic atmosphere. No career opportunities outside of the US. In all the employee surveys the lack of opportunities outside the 2 main US offices is an issue that is bringing up by the employees constantly, the executive team poorly address this and nothing has ever changed. Salary is definitely lower than other tech companies.

    Show More
    Etsy2020-01-09
  7. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
  8. "Toxic political environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation & benefits, perks, events

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack of accountability, poor leadership, toxic work environment

    Etsy2019-10-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Can't imagine where else I'd want to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of career growth opportunities here and ability to have a huge impact. You don't usually get this with as large of a company (or as much technical scale) as we have: it's a pretty special place from that regard. The culture is also great. We have progressive benefits (half a year of parental leave!), yummy snacks, and engaged leadership that really knows what's going on in individual teams and is excited to speak to individuals on those teams.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things move quick here. The people who are most successful tend to be comfortable working through ambiguity.

    Etsy2019-08-23
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
Found 157 reviews
</>Embed