XLN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

XLN Reviews

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
XLN CEO Neil Conaghan
Neil Conaghan
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "People, location, free breakfast on Friday(in 23 reviews)

  • "As a department manager now myself, I know for a fact that through hard work and a good attitude you can get places in this company(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not focused on customer service(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been an employee at XLN for around 7 months and I really enjoy it so far. There is a very youthful environment, everyone is really friendly and I have an excellent team to help support me. I started a personal business venture and I have been very overwhelmed with the the support from the company and I will be eternally grateful. They truly believe promoting from within and I am surrounded by people who have worked their way up which is very encouraging. There's free fruit on a Monday and free breakfasts on a Friday so you can't really go wrong with that.

    Cons

    Breakfast is amazing but could be more more healthy options ... could be more fruit?

    XLN2019-08-30

    XLN Response

    September 4, 2019HR

    Hi there, Great to hear how much you're enjoying XLN. Keep up the good work! Shamilla

    Continue reading
  2. "GOOD PRODUCTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good products of telecom

    Cons

    did not come across

    Continue reading
    XLN2019-09-17
  3. "It's tough but it is doable and it is not for everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Advisor in City of Westminster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Results driven! Tough bosses and quite competitive. Learning a lot still.

    Cons

    The weather out there is too cold and it has been raining heavily for the past couple of months.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-01-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Disgusting Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, free breakfast, free fruit

    Cons

    If you are looking for a job, don’t bother with Xln. It is the most awful place I have ever come across. The Senior management team/directors are horrible people. They don’t care how they treat people. You will be sworn at, sexually harassed and treated like dirt. The founder is the worst of them all. He offers women to have sex with him, takes drugs openly infront of his employees and threatens to fire people if you don’t look good, are too fat or the wrong colour.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-01-17

    XLN Response

    January 31, 2020HR

    Hi there, We take feedback like this extremely seriously, so I think it would be beneficial to discuss all of this in detail, completely confidentially. Please email me at S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk and I’ll get back to you to arrange a call. Best wishes Shamilla

    Continue reading
  5. "I would not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don't even see good reasons to work for XLN, but if you are ready to sacrifice your entire life and free time for some company, you might like it.

    Cons

    Where do I start from? Interview - 2 hours presentation, well done, they sell dreams. Even I was impressed and signed up the contract. Training - OMG. For 2 days I've been listening again and again how to handle rejections (we can guess how it's gonna be working for them), but when we finally came to product knowledge, Oh Gosh, I could not believe it. She had 1-1.5h, literally running through the topics. I asked to slow down a bit and later on have been asked from the Manager to not do it again and the whole group can not wait for me, when it wasn't only me struggling. Straight after we have been asked to do presentation of product knowledge??????? What knowledge?????? Working hours - I read here that the hours might not be as advertised, asked at the interview, the manager's answer was 9:00-18:00, not convincing. Guess what happend later - meetings every first Sat of the month for 4 hours, drinks after that(sounded like mandatory), finishing time 18:00, but as we were advised - we would love to work later ourselves to cover targets!!!Someone here mentioned 19:30 and now I do believe it. One of the guys asked for the working hours and the answer was "why would you think for hours, when you can get promoted after 6 months"!!! Leaving - when I decided to leave to job, I've been asked to leave my notes on the desk and almost asked to Leave the Coffee Mug, that they gave me, Full of coffee!

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-01-17

    XLN Response

    January 31, 2020HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your review. Working in the field can be extremely rewarding - we've had countless success stories. But we make no secret of the fact that it's challenging too - it isn't for everyone. Thanks for your efforts nonetheless and we wish you the very best for your ongoing career. Shamilla

    Continue reading
  6. "Hard Sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If unemployed or prepared 60-hours per week to hit target

    Cons

    Unsustainable commission Has tech evolved?

    XLN2019-12-03

    XLN Response

    January 31, 2020HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your review. We think our commission model and our tech is in good shape - but we're always open to ideas and feedback. So if you're interested, I'd love to have a discussion with you, completely confidentially. Please email me at S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk, and I'll get back to you to arrange a call. Otherwise, good luck with your ongoing career. Thanks Shamilla

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "AVOID AT ALL COSTS......."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Worker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friday breakfast if I have to name something

    Cons

    Where do we start: * Outdated offices which are either like an oven or a fridge, plus toilets more disgusting than most public offerings * Long hours with no reward * No flexibility * No recognition for doing a good job * Totally focused on making profits so the owners can sell and make lots of money * Staff incentives are a joke (just the "favourites" going out using Company funds) * A CEO with no actual power as the owner is still "hanging" around making decisions

    Continue reading
    XLN2019-12-05
  8. "A strong work ethic and a positive attitude - you'll do just fine."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Approachable management, Friendly, Nice office, Innovative,

    Cons

    Lack of training (in certain departments), Progression limited (in certain departments),

    Continue reading
    XLN2019-08-28

    XLN Response

    September 4, 2019HR

    Hi there, Thanks a lot for your review. Really appreciate your honesty too - we aren't perfect but all feedback is actively used to keep us improving. All the best Shamilla

    Continue reading
  9. "Good if you are hot with sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time

    Pros

    Gives opportunities to people with no experience to get their foot in the door and learn a trade. The training was outstanding.

    Cons

    Commission only. Also, to be good at fields sales (ie door to door sales) you really have to have a natural talent for it.

    Continue reading
    XLN2019-09-04

    XLN Response

    September 4, 2019HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your review. Delighted to hear how much you rated the training - we've been working hard on that! To be clear, no roles in our business are commission-only - all positions include a base salary, and some have commissions on top. All the best, Shamilla

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Account Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sheffield, England

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free breakfast on friday Only one saturdy a month

    Cons

    The pace can be too fast

    XLN2019-07-14

    XLN Response

    September 4, 2019HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your review. Keep up the good work and the pace will slow down! All the best, Shamilla

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 117 reviews
</>Embed