Biogen Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Biogen Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 843 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Biogen CEO Michel Vounatsos
Michel Vounatsos
109 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Biogen full-time

    Pros

    good place to work in

    Cons

    none at the moment. nice place

    Biogen2019-07-08
  2. "Good but intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Unit Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really great people to work with, good atmosphere and very rewarding work

    Cons

    work/life balance often tipped the wrong way

    Advice to Management

    More resource needed in the right places

    Biogen2019-09-03
  3. "Very good at looking after their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Proactive at engaging their staff and looking after their welfare

    Cons

    very lean teams, lots of meetings

    Biogen2019-03-18
  4. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time

    Pros

    Staff are very friendly

    Cons

    Hard to progress within the role

    Biogen2018-11-07
  5. "All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice place, good environment, nice parking space

    Cons

    not well organized, the team are just coming and not sure of next stage

    Advice to Management

    be opened to change

    Biogen2018-04-19
  6. Helpful (9)

    "It’s all about shareholder value now - sadly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Biogen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at Biogen for over 10 years - was a great place to work and you really felt we were making a difference to patients lives - managers listened and we felt empowered - culture was very good

    Cons

    Leadership has become weak, bullies prevail, HR are puppets and fawn to their MD Dissenting voices are silenced, SOPs are pretty much all the training you get - no structure to proper development

    Advice to Management

    Culture comes from top down so that’s where change needs to start Time to run a survey that is non biased and not run by HR

    Biogen2018-02-18
  7. "Biogen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    exciting pipeline, flexible work, benefits

    Cons

    Poor project management, work-life balance

    Biogen2017-11-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Biogen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and package is highly competitive; Great science; Great people; flexible working; lovely offices.

    Cons

    Culture was the best thing about Biogen when I started; sadly declining rapidly as hiring more detached management style at the top. Pipeline constraints - but they have been there before and no doubt will find a way to recover.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focus on the task to grow without falling into the pitfalls of "big pharma" - ensure employees feel valued.

    Biogen2017-03-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "changes to come"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Biogen full-time

    Pros

    pool of extremly well educated medics

    Cons

    turnover is the highest I have ever seen in industry due to managment expecting execution rather than contribution

    Advice to Management

    cure the root cause in SABR

    Biogen2016-10-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good people to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Logistics Manager in Ludlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Biogen

    Pros

    Good people management, happy workforce

    Cons

    Not enough done to change the work sectors so work dried up.

    Advice to Management

    Look more into diversifying into other sectors.

    Biogen2016-09-09
Found 843 reviews