Dyson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dyson Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 767 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Dyson CEO Jim Rowan
Jim Rowan
191 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome 😁"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time

    Pros

    Highly entrepreneurial, inventive and growth oriented . Not held back like public companies

    Cons

    Improve on being more open externally

    Dyson2019-06-08
  2. "Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Friendly staff Good food Exciting projects

    Cons

    Poor communication Low salary Remote location Too many managers

    Dyson2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (29)

    "Great engineers, but frustrating processes and management. not what it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Design Engineer in Malmesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Get to work with some really great people, interesting products, challenging, improved investment in sustainability and social responsibility. Great work/life balance, with flexible hours. Engineering facilities are good.

    Cons

    Incredibly frustrating processes and blockers which prevent us getting our work done... the longer you stay here, the more you realise that nobody at the top of the business really has a clue what they're doing. Lack of a clear business strategy and an inability to stick to a plan. Everybody at senior management level is just trying to get promoted and 'achieve objectives' regardless of whether it's what the... business needs or not. Change for the sake of change. New CEO isn't being honest. Communication across the business is poor and teams often work in silos.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the important things - pay, reward, and remove barriers to execution. Come up with a clear plan and direction, and let your excellent engineers execute it for you. Stop changing meaningless things and calling it 'progress'. Also, be transparent... your employees aren't stupid and we can tell when we're being lied to.

    Dyson2019-07-09
  4. "Beauty department hair dryer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job not much to do

    Cons

    Standing all day and short breaks

    Dyson2019-09-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "NPI Design Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind and cooperative colleagues within NPI and around the business. Intelligent people willing to support each other. Good work-life balance (all too easy for individuals to cruise and not push themselves however). NPI can be a free creative space to explore new ideas for the business.

    Cons

    Zero accountability for decisions made or meeting deadlines. Tragically poor communication across teams within the business. Very frivolous expenditure for design development - feels wasteful. Employee discount reduced to an insulting level (now 3 products at 40% off per year) When developing new products, we don't speak with consumers at all or regularly enough. This (9 times out of 10) leads to wasted product... development.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please improve communication between teams across the business. Encourage simple, short and regular updates. We don't need fancy new systems, we need a cultural nudge in the right direction. It's all too easy for teams to work in silos, but that's how work is repeated, money gets wasted and employees become frustrated. Design teams really need to speak to consumers far, FAR more frequently than we do.... Understandably Dyson holds secrecy very seriously but this encourages engineers to design products through assumptions for people that we don't even understand. This all results in poor design decisions, products that are simply unwanted and as a result frustrated employees as 9/10 projects get shelved.

    Show More
    Dyson2019-08-30
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Firmware Engineer in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great for starting your career

    Cons

    Negotiate well when joining, consider commuting

    Advice to Management

    Staff retention, survey the main reasons for people leaving and act on it

    Dyson2019-08-29
  7. "Less good than was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing Planning in Malmesbury, England

    I worked at Dyson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great products Reasonable Level of autonomy Good salary Flexible working Great people

    Cons

    Changed to a London-centric corporate culture Lack of resource for no of projects and required ‘deliver now’ Too many layers of management

    Advice to Management

    Less dictating of ‘do this now’. If want this, then look at resourcing levels (especially outside of engineering).

    Dyson2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Fairy Dust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Malmesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some good individuals to work with. Products are interesting with challenging technical problems to solve, many created by ourselves. Lots of autonomy.

    Cons

    Leadership clueless. Projects are run in a chaotic and unstructured manner. How they make it to market must be down to the fairies and their magic dust they sprinkle around.

    Advice to Management

    Know when you are out of your depth and bring in people who know how to run R&D professionally. Break down the current organisational structure and rebuild it to focus on engineering the products in an optimal manner. Overhaul the manufacturing process to assign clear ownership of areas and hold them accountable.

    Dyson2019-08-25
  9. "Random luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Robotic Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is good enough company to stay for 1-2 years.

    Cons

    Most people wont last more than a few years. Promotion and reward is not structured and it is based people perception. So if you shout louder, you will get a better deal.

    Dyson2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HMI Designer in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career progression, resources, passion for engineering.

    Cons

    Gender pay gap, almost no women in senior positions.

    Dyson2019-08-07
Found 767 reviews