Dyson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dyson Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Dyson CEO Jim Rowan
Jim Rowan
265 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management don't seem to have employees best interests at heart(in 32 reviews)

  • "While working there, there was a substantial problem with poor middle management and a lack of HR(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyson part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vacuum after 6 months

    Cons

    High pressure selling environment which is unnecessary

    Continue reading
    Dyson2020-03-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced but systems frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, feel like you can make an impact

    Cons

    Lack of systems and structure

    Dyson2020-03-19
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Can be great if you "get it""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Malmesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dyson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very wealthy company. Thowing money around in R&D is very much its core stategy. Despite the apparently crazy methodologies, has good hit-rate with products. Vast majority of people are great. Once you work out how to make your voice heard, people can and do listen. Has (or had) a "we're all in this together" culture with refreshing lack of corporate feel and blame culture.

    Cons

    Heavily dependent on graduates who are more often designers and not engineers, despite being given that title. Epic waste of resources coming up with new ideas without basic knowledge of thermodynamics/mechanics that would quickly eliminate half of what they're trying to do. Staggering waste of time proving things can't work rather than investigating what might work. Paranoia about secrecy is oppressive. The message is sound but the way it's delivered is overbearing. Jobsworths in Health & Safety obsessed with safety shoes and ignore forklifts driving around on exempt walkways. One talented, diligent person's bonus was halved solely because "the department head had to make her budget". HR are a mouthpiece for the company and not an effective department with the best interests of employees at its heart.

    Continue reading
    Dyson2020-02-24

    Dyson Response

    February 27, 2020Dyson Glassdoor Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. We value all feedback given so we can understand where we can improve. We appreciate you taking the time to let us us know about your experience of working at Dyson. Should you have any further comments please email anyfeedback@dyson.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Academic work environment, good place to work

    Cons

    House old appliances can be unexciting

    Dyson2020-03-03
  5. Helpful (10)

    "A slow paced place, wandering around to find its next hit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Malmesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can do your stuff at your own pace. No one will harass you to deliver fast. Try to get involved in several project, then do nothing and no one will understand what you do... and you will be able to do what you want...

    Cons

    Siloed like crazy. Management is unable to sort inter-department collaboration. Most of the managers who run the company have never worked for any other industry in their entire life... so, if you don’t do it the way they know, it is not being Dyson... which sucks... cause Dyson is dying of being dyson and paying salaries to useless people attached to their power...

    Continue reading
    Dyson2020-03-03

    Dyson Response

    March 10, 2020Dyson Glassdoor Team

    All feedback is useful for us to improve, thank you for your review. If you’d like to share further detailed feedback so we can review and address appropriately, please email anyfeedback@dyson.com.

    Continue reading
  6. "Frustrating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Dyson

    Pros

    The projects are fun and exciting. Lots of smart and interesting people to work with.

    Cons

    Review process is slow and frustrating. Gender bias towards men within RDD. Lots of barriers to execution. The workplace isn’t as forward thinking as the products. Decision making by upper management is poor.

    Continue reading
    Dyson2020-03-02
  7. "Good pay but commute too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Malmesbury, England

    I worked at Dyson full-time

    Pros

    good pay and nice office

    Cons

    not diverse. commute too long

    Dyson2020-02-28
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice site in a small town

    Cons

    Boring place to live in

    Dyson2020-02-24
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, exciting environment to learn.

    Cons

    Chaotic, lack of structure and supporting systems in place.

    Dyson2020-02-23

    Dyson Response

    February 27, 2020Dyson Glassdoor Team

    Thank you for leaving a review – we appreciate your feedback and it’s great to hear about your positive experiences.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Work with world class engineers...... ha ha ha."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dyson

    Pros

    Flexible working hours (not alway a pro, you will be expected to do more hours far, far more often than you will feel you can do less)

    Cons

    Designs are massively influenced by very inexperienced “concept engineers” with little experience of mass production manufacturing. Experience counts for little, unless it is exclusively Dyson experience. Silo approach to working Fear of new technology/manufacturing technologies - too risky and expensive. Decisions often made in JD reviews based on mis-information and feeling rather than solid engineering information. Too many “yes” men surrounding him. Staff are made to feel like disposable commodities.

    Continue reading
    Dyson2020-02-28

    Dyson Response

    March 3, 2020Dyson Glassdoor Team

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments. We always want to improve our people experience and would like to understand more about your feedback, please email anyfeedback@dyson.com.

    Continue reading
Found 883 reviews