British Gas Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Gas Reviews

Updated 21 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Made me feel like I was totally incompetent at my role because of the way I was talked to by senior management(in 31 reviews)

  • "poor management, work life balance, safety issues(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for lots of oppertunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great pay and benefits offered

    Cons

    none that i can think off

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-02-16
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheduler in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most managers are helpful, great environment and a lot of opportunities to develop your career

    Cons

    Frequent changes in standard operating procedures and uncertainty regarding job security due to jobs being outsourced to companies abroad

    British Gas2020-03-16
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Architect 

    I worked at British Gas full-time

    Pros

    Work Life balance, Career Opportunites

    Cons

    Pay and Benifits are not great

    British Gas2020-03-13
  4. "Working at British Gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, quarterly bonuses, parking available

    Cons

    Company too unorganised, expect everyone to be trained on everything, poor communication, no real progression opportunities

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-03-21
  5. "Their alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good wage, opportunities for extra too

    Cons

    Too many weekends/on call. Not the right tools for the job

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-03-13
  6. "Not as good as it used to be. And going the wrong way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas

    Pros

    The brand name itself is a Pro. I felt that I was working for the elite whilst there. Very well recognised and respected. Mostly good equipment.

    Cons

    British Gas seem to promote yes men and woman who will just get the job done with no questions asked, regardless of if they’re good managers or not. If the company wants to survive in the modern climate then they need to promote people who challenge them to do better. Otherwise they will follow the same route as most other energy companies that refuse the change. There aren’t many opportunities for people that are outspoken and want things to be better. Anyone with an idea seems to get a pat on the back and then ignored. Systems are diabolically out of date. Which I’m surprised is allowed considering modern GDPR regs. They spend money on unnecessary things without proper thought processes. Such as lots of electric vans that they invested in which were never used due to low mileage capacity. In my time there, they replaced all of our tablets with exactly the same model of tablet, only with windows 10, instead of just updating from windows 7. I suggested a better and cheaper alternative and was told by a senior manager that i didn’t know what I was talking about. Wasn’t even willing to listen to me. Very arrogant and will undoubtedly be a small part in the downfall of British Gas. I worked there for many years and never intended to leave. I quite enjoyed working for the company. But out of the blue they told us on a grainy conference call that our department was going. No thanks for the service and no face to face goodbye. People on my team had been with them for over 40 years but got no thanks or recognition. Very poor on the companies behalf. You cannot expect loyal employees without being a loyal employer.

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-03-12
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great development and career progression opportunities

    Cons

    Nothing that you wouldn't expect of a company of this size and complexity

    British Gas2020-02-27
  8. "Getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installation Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time

    Pros

    Used to be good but now its

    Cons

    Slowly getting worse. Bad management

    British Gas2020-03-04
  9. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    excellent perks, benefits, staff friendly

    Cons

    pressure for sales if target not met.

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-02-28
  10. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of development potential

    Cons

    Very big organisation, people can become another number

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-02-10
Found 734 reviews