British Gas Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Gas Reviews

Updated 12 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Made me feel like I was totally incompetent at my role because of the way I was talked to by senior management(in 31 reviews)

  • "No work life balance whatsoever(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at British Gas

    Pros

    Job satisfaction Great perks Great hours

    Cons

    Volatile industry Little progression opportunities

    British Gas2019-12-14
  2. "Senior leadership doesn't care about people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Developer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people that do the work truly care

    Cons

    The leadership teams within the company do not want to make employees happy

    British Gas2020-01-12
  3. "Stagnant career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at British Gas full-time

    Pros

    Our team , our team manager and floor manager (4)

    Cons

    No promotion ops, rigid finish times, people’s privacy not always maintained, and certain people get away with doing nothing!

    British Gas2020-01-12
  4. "Good and fair employer. I only left as the redundancy was too attractive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Operations Manager in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are extremely good. Managing agents was a joy as there is a culture and expectation that allows you to promote the correct values. Always said to new-starts that you'll find anyone will help you - there are no daft questions as we're all still learning. Generally stable employment, although prone to the odd re-organisational change

    Cons

    Nothing inherent. The odd person, the odd SL decision. Nothing out of the ordinary for a large multi-national Fair bit of change on a regular basis but I believe in a good way. Stops things getting stale.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure more people in middle management have a better grasp of the basics to allow them to manage teams and line managers better

    British Gas2020-01-10
  5. "Bg working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Engineer in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, days off in summer, plenty of overtime, every day is different

    Cons

    Pressure for sales. Performance targets.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more.

    British Gas2020-01-11
  6. "Going through significant changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Heating Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff are ver loyal and in the main are pretty good at what they do the employees put the customer first

    Cons

    A number of the changes have eroded the customer experience with more negative feedback than previously.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customers and employees. don't let the accountants drive the quality of the business down, its what keeps our customers coming back.

    British Gas2020-01-12
  7. "I would reccomend working at BG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities and development at BG

    Cons

    Slow to transform to ensure market leading

    British Gas2020-01-10
  8. "Not as bad as people think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, suitable perks and good wage

    Cons

    Reacting to staff needs. Limited knowledge of reasonable adjustments

    Advice to Management

    Support staff more to achieve the highest potential

    British Gas2020-01-09
  9. "Great people, but the culture has changed, less focused on people now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Design Analyst in Staines, England

    I worked at British Gas part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    wonderful people, great development, and a good level of flexibility if you are in the right role, the ability to move around a large company in different roles

    Cons

    Leadership don't listen to the employees, they don't always know the answer but they often have very valid points - they are not all about maintaining the status quo

    Advice to Management

    remember your employees are people and have legitimate passion for their customers. increasingly staff are treated like numbers, the huge wealth of talent is leaving because this.

    British Gas2020-01-09
  10. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Calls 

    I worked at British Gas full-time

    Pros

    Good over time, alright hours parking is terrible

    Cons

    People dont really care about you

    British Gas2020-01-08
Found 700 reviews