Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 770 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
142 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and not much pressure from work force(in 40 reviews)

  • "Nice customers and staff discount(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company culture and ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Colleague Engagement Adviser in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lovely culture of togetherness, friendly people, emphasis on being an ethical business with good purposes not just profit, focus on colleagues and their well being

    Cons

    Comms in such a big business sometimes don't reach everywhere or land as well as they could. Could innovate more.

    Co-op2018-12-19

    Co-op Response

    February 4, 2019.

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you would recommend Co-op as a place to work and that, as an ethical business, you find the culture welcoming. ^Sam

  2. "CTM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for what you do

    Cons

    Won’t give you set regular hours everyday e.g 10-6 Monday- thursday

    Advice to Management

    Expect the same standard of work from everyone, don’t let people that are lazy get away with being on the tills all the time

    Co-op2019-05-12
  3. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good holidays and very flexible working conditions

    Cons

    Lack of quality professionals who work there

    Advice to Management

    Invest in full time staff not contractors

    Co-op2019-05-21
  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Community focussed, moving forward with technology.

    Cons

    Can lose direction at times, rolls out a lot in one go, change agenda big.

    Co-op2019-05-21
  5. "Ok but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great team good offers and discounts

    Cons

    Hard work long shifts very few staff

    Advice to Management

    More staff would make the place tick over better

    Co-op2019-05-20
  6. "Company Policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Petrol Station Assistant in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The companies values and staff welfare and considerations are paramount.

    Cons

    Sometimes a lack of trained staff available for support of new staff members.

    Advice to Management

    More training 'before' being thrown in at the deep end as I found this to be counter productive and stressful.

    Co-op2019-05-04

    Co-op Response

    May 17, 2019

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really happy that you felt our values and staff welfare are at the heart of what we do. We wish you the best in your future roles.

  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Co-op part-time

      Pros

      Flexible working hours and kept busy

      Cons

      Can be quite repetitive day to day

      Co-op2019-05-01

      Co-op Response

      May 2, 2019

      Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback.

    • "Mixed bag over the last 10 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      If you are willing to put the work in, progression is available.

      Cons

      Moving to other areas of the company requires a supportive line manager, and can be blocked if you don't get on with them.

      Advice to Management

      Stop stripping hours from stores, making the job harder than it needs to be, or you will lose long term staff who have supported the company through difficult times.

      Co-op2019-05-15
    • "Best working environment ent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Advisor in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      • Learn new thing everyday • Good people & friendly • Program to progress • Graduate programs

      Cons

      • Salary is not negotiable • Telephone based

      Advice to Management

      NA

      Co-op2019-05-15
    • "Working At Co-Op"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Co-op part-time

        Pros

        Good work balance, Always kept busy

        Cons

        Flexible Hours and may have to work more than 7 days straight

        Co-op2019-04-30
      Found 770 reviews