Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Reviews

Updated 14 February 2019
706 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
117 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "good pay and not much pressure from work force" (in 46 reviews)

  • "If the store manager is 'Being Co-op' then Work/life balance is great" (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely poor work life balance" (in 24 reviews)

  • "Management very strict, long hours doing repetitive things gets boring" (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member

    Pros

    Really enjoyed my time working at Co-op. Great business to work for. Was trialling out the new membership scheme when I was working - great idea. Love that as you spend you contribute to charity as well.

    Cons

    Not enough hours at some points in the year.

    Co-op Response

    29 Jul 2018

    Thankyou for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your role at our Co-op and your like our Membership scheme. I wish your the best with your future career. ^Catherine


  2. "Undergraduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work, great team, good working hours, given lots of responsibility and opportunity to learn.

    Would definitely recommend

    Cons

    Systems can be a bit outdated

    Co-op Response

    4 Feb 2019 – .

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you would recommend Co-op as a place to work and that you enjoyed working alongside your colleagues. I wish you the best with your future career... More

  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Supportive management, great culture, great team,

    Cons

    Moving departments abroad, too many meetings


  4. "The Co-op Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    The co-op is an inclusive place with great staff. The tasks are relatively simple at a Customer Team Member level and its nice to engage with customers.

    Cons

    Training in my case was a little vague although this is not universal. To add to this when the store becomes busy it can be stressful to carry out some tasks as you are required to go to the till and help.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to make training videos more engaging, they can be uninteresting meaning you end up actually remembering very little. This is especially serious when it comes to safety training.


  5. "advise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    not enough pay, should increase pay

    Advice to Management

    pay rise is needed

    Co-op Response

    4 Feb 2019 – .

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed working alongside your Co-op Colleagues. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Sam


  6. "Good Part Time Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - CTM in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Support local causes and charities

    Flexible working hours

    Friendly colleagues and management

    Cons

    Dealing with drug users

    Too much overtime

    Advice to Management

    Stricter policies on dealing with the drug users and thieves that come into stores

    Co-op Response

    4 Feb 2019 – .

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you are aware of all the work Co-op does with local causes and charities, and that you are benefitting from flexible working hours. ^Sam


  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible, great team to work with and always good interacting with customers

    Cons

    Can be quite repetitive - same schedule everyday - sometimes long hours so can be really tiring standing in the same position all day

  8. "Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people. 90% of staff are like-minded, collaborative, people you're happy to spend your days with. There are lots of staff perks like discounts etc. The business is pretty flexible in terms of working hours and so on (unless you're in the call centre)

    Cons

    Because of its size it's not run at all like a Co-op, in that the structure is very top down and if you're not in higher management you don't get the feeling of having much say or even much knowledge of major things happening. Also insurance is about to be sold to a private shareholder owned business so won't be co-op in any sense of the word soon.

    Co-op Response

    4 Feb 2019 – .

    Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy working alongside your Co-op colleagues and that you are benefitting from flexible working hours. ^Sam.


  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CTM in Upholland, England
    Current Employee - CTM in Upholland, England

    I have been working at Co-op part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to work at events like Leeds festival and Download

    Cons

    Due to the shop being open late it means working some unsociable hours

    Co-op Response

    4 Feb 2019 – .

    Thank you for your review. It's pleasing to hear you enjoy working alongside your Co-op colleagues, and that you got to work at some great events. ^Sam


  10. "Very friendly staff and customers, pay could be better for the hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Member in North Finchley, England
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Member in North Finchley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice staff and management
    Customers for the most part are very friendly and nice ( mainly regulars)
    Pay is good .

    Cons

    Long hours that are often understaffed - stressful at times
    Breaks could be longer - only 20 mins break for working 7 hours.

    Advice to Management

    Bring up the break times,

    Co-op Response

    4 Feb 2019 – .

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoy working alongside your Co-op Colleagues, and that the pay is meeting your expectations. ^Sam