Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
198 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and not much pressure from work force(in 58 reviews)

  • "Staff discount on all coop products(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours that are often understaffed - stressful at times(in 35 reviews)

  • "Hours of work leave a poor work life balance (in my personal situation)(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Work life balance good benefits and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great place to work, making a difference to local communities. Flex time and good varied benefits. Understanding and approachable managers

    Cons

    None really it is a great place to work

    Co-op2019-08-06

    Co-op Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks for your lovely feedback!

  2. "Welcoming staff, fast-paced environment, but safety is a concern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Team Member in Leighton Buzzard, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff here are really friendly and welcoming and are always willing to lend a hand if needed. Within just a few months of working here I was gradually given new responsibilities and introduced to new jobs which helped keep me occupied once I became faster at getting jobs done. Time goes really quickly due to it being busy and always having something to do. The pay is also really good for part-time... work Understanding management who are happy to adjust your availability to suit your current education timetable.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a problem with shoplifters in the area and there isn't a security guard on the door, and no possibility of ever having one. Sometimes its so busy that it is impossible to finish all your jobs before your shift ends, and you'll need to stay late. I work nights so this is irritating, but overall its not so bad.

    Co-op2019-09-30

    Co-op Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, it's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us! Colleague safety is one of our top priorities. Our safer colleagues, safer communities campaign is focussed on tackling crime and violence. We have invested over £70 million since 2015, and have committed to match this over the next three years. This investment will go towards the installation of the latest remote monitored CCTV; communication headset devices rolled-out to all front-line colleagues and the targeted deployment of SmartWater Fog Cannons.

    Show Less
  3. "Long shifts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extra hours usually available on top of my 15 hours, some weeks I do 40, which is great when I need the money. Colleagues are great. Pay is good. Shifts app is brilliant. They're fairly flexible.

    Cons

    Very little training, you're just expected to know how to do everything. Also having to stand behind the till for 7 hours a day can be painful, especially as we aren't allowed to leave it unattended to walk around. I've worked with coop only 2 months and have already developed knee and back issues from standing. And i'm in my 20s. I've taken to pacing behind the tills to keep the blood flowing. Often feels... understaffed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow stools behind tills on longer shifts. Even if only to be used when not serving a customer. Dont have a staff on tills longer than 4 hours unless they request to be.

    Co-op2019-10-16
  4. "Does the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Team Member in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everybody gets paid the living wage or above regardless of age and they are reasonably accommodating when compared to other employers.

    Cons

    Manager is disorganised and shifts can be busy. Often understaffed but that’s not different to other jobs in food retail.

    Advice to Management

    Be more organised and get colleagues involved more

    Co-op2019-10-15
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible and good work life balance

    Cons

    Pay could be better to help retain staff

    Co-op2019-10-14
  6. "Great place to work, strong financial performance and exciting changes ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Change Partner in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    An ethical company and different way of business that genuinely cares about and gives back to it's customers, members and colleagues Brilliant office and facilities in Manchester City Centre Great opportunities for progression both sideways and upwards across different business areas Great benefits beyond just salary, bonus, pension etc Co-op is performing really well, especially in retail and it's a great time... to join with more exciting changes to come

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any negatives to say!

    Co-op2019-10-11
  7. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Ryde, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people Easy to work up

    Cons

    Long hours Not enough pay Variety of one type of staff

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to tell it like it is more

    Co-op2019-10-11
  8. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good internal development path way

    Cons

    Expectation to work well above contracted hours

    Co-op2019-10-09
  9. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member in Barrow upon Soar, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were great.

    Cons

    Scatches due to unboxing .

    Advice to Management

    To make sure staff are treating each other fairly

    Co-op2019-10-07

    Co-op Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thanks for your review, it's great to hear you would recommend us as an employer.

  10. "Customer Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management made everyone feel at ease.

    Cons

    The shifts must be prepared to work unsociable hours.

    Co-op2019-10-04

    Co-op Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

Found 929 reviews