Expedia Group Software Development Engineer II Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Expedia Group Software Development Engineer II Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

0.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Expedia Group CEO Mark Okerstrom
Mark Okerstrom
0 Ratings
  1. "one of the best company to work for in NCR (Delhi)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, great work life balance, great food, great benefits. very good working environment

    Cons

    None which i can think of

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Expedia Group2019-07-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Varies from team to team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, carrots, eggs, and soda

    Cons

    Very high pressure in some areas, management constantly shouting at engineers about everything in those instances. Newer developers with life ahead of them leaving left and right.

    Expedia Group2019-03-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Software Development Engineer 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Challenging and innovative work. Always keen to adopt new technology.

    Cons

    Salary is not up to the market standard. Growth is really slow. Promotion is not given based on performance and effort. Even gold star awarded employees are not promoted for 4 years with continuous effort.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your high performing employees.

    Expedia Group2017-12-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test II in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best Place to work for anyone

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Expedia Group2017-10-07
  5. "SDE 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good, Work life balance , LEarnings

    Cons

    Low compensation Low growth Politics

    Expedia Group2017-09-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "lumbering legacy e-commerce website trying to reinvent itself as a trendy startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Development Engineer II in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group for less than a year

    Pros

    A fairly selective recruitment process means that most of your colleagues will be competent and cooperative/obedient. Deep pockets mean that you can easily get a license for your favorite IDE's and other tools, a nice laptop, and access to talented/experienced technical people based in Expedia's various global development centers all over the world. Massive scale means that you'll get hands-on experience building... massively scalable systems.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working at Expedia was an object lesson in the creepy weirdness of late-stage (terminal-stage?) American corporate-capitalist bureaucracy. They use a lot of nice words like "transparency" and "thinking outside the box" and "work/life balance", where what they really mean is "paranoid secrecy", "don't question the directives handed down by your Director / VP", and "unpaid overtime". To be fair, that last one has... become pretty much an industry standard, but it's harder to justify when the work is dull and often feels completely meaningless.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix the perverse incentive structure at the upper management / executive layers, so as to encourage the leaders of the various silos to actually contribute to the organization as a whole, not just compete for "visibility" within the company.

    Expedia Group2017-04-16
  7. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to use latest technologies - Great company culture - No corporate shenanigans

    Cons

    - Employee perks are not impressive - Lack of travel opportunities

    Expedia Group2017-02-18
  8. "SDE II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open culture. Good work life balance. Lots of room to grow. Professional environment. Management doesn't hesitate to provide facilities to employer.

    Cons

    None so far. Just like everywhere better relationships better perks.

    Expedia Group2017-02-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunctional. Ready to leave 2 weeks after starting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Development Engineer II in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively up to date technologies used. Free sodas. Bellevue office has a nice view. Comfortable chairs. Microwaves in the break room

    Cons

    Tribal atmosphere No training on the system 0 documentation on the system Must work with no requirements at all You will feel like an outsider and won't feel super welcome, especially if you are a contractor. The tribal atmosphere will treat you like some sort of interloper or invader. People aren't mean or anything, just not welcoming. Meanwhile you are supposed to know which tribe to battle with to get... stuff done. Knowing that before your start date is a must(good luck with that! ) I was given no training at all, and the person that I was supposed to shadow was out of the country for a month. Other "team mates" were also gone for weeks at a time. There were a number of days where I was the only one of my team actually in the office, not very good for getting trained. So I tried looking at documentation, only to find, well nothing. There was a FEW things here and there, but nothing very useful and mostly out of date. But of course it was my fault that I didn't have a complete understanding of the system after the first month. Well duh, the guy supposed to be "training" me left the country for a month 3 days after I started. Also, there are some serious SDLC issues. This is a shop that believes agile means having absolutely no requirements or documentation. Any documentation done is a total afterthought. There are no comments in code and code is totally not self documenting. In my code base, often classes have the same name, only differing in case. Requirements are in the form of a (incomplete) sentence. Literally of the form "Make X do Y".. That's it. You talk to 3 different team members get 3 different interpretations. Refactoring multiple times until every one on the team is happy, only to get smacked down from a different tribe. Refactoring again....would've been nice if someone told me about the other tribe so I could talk to them directly, but that's not the way it's done here. The work itself isn't difficult, there's just too much dysfunction for me to have any desire to stay. *update* yesterday there was a yelling match between one group and another...so yeah

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the siloed, tribal culture. Improve processes / learn the difference between agile and anarchy Actually train new employees / contractors

    Expedia Group2016-09-23
  10. "Company to work for lifetime..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test II in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    culture, work life, opportunities, travel benefits

    Cons

    Growth path and opportunities are different in different groups. Some groups offer better opportunities than others. Each group(business unit) works as an independent company with its own culture.

    Advice to Management

    Doing good. Keep it up!

    Expedia Group2016-04-30
Found 33 reviews