FDM Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
652 Ratings
Pros
  • "Foot in the door to blue chip companies(in 88 reviews)

  • "The opportunity presented to the dedicated trainees is by far the biggest positive of the graduate programme(in 74 reviews)

Cons
  • "Might have a feeling that you are a product of the company, so account managers would try their best to sell you to their clients(in 159 reviews)

  • "2 year contract with buy out cost(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, awesome opportunity, everything a grad can dream about

    Cons

    Nothing much to say, I am satisfied

    FDM Group2019-05-28
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Look after their consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I find that FDM have done an excellent job looking after me and making sure that I get the best treatment and experience on client site. They will help you if you ask them to and are understanding, kind and fair when dealing with issues. They also help you get your foot in the door of many different big companies, and are a great support and base when a placement ends. The security of knowing you will have somewhere to upskill and still be getting paid is great.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes different functions are difficult to reach, the basic salary is extremely low, especially when you are 3rd+ year, to the point it is almost impossible to afford to live if your placement ends suddenly.

    Advice to Management

    I have noticed a massive change in the general culture in FDM over the last 3 years. When I first started, consultants felt miserable and were treated as numbers on a spreadsheet and not as humans. The better salary packages, introduction of EAP, increased number of LGBT+ and other diversity events and better attitude towards mental health and employee wellbeing has made FDM a delight to work for. Please continue investing in your consultants like this. This new atmosphere has made me so proud and loyal to FDM.

    Show More
    FDM Group2019-12-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Open plan office - Social scene

    Cons

    - No perks, eg no free meals, time off hard to get

    FDM Group2020-01-10
  4. "process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    good place to work. really good experience

    Cons

    goes very quickly. but good learning experience

    FDM Group2020-01-08
  5. "A great way to start a new career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great way to get into companies that you wouldn’t normally have a chance of working for.

    Cons

    They put you out on site and will only contact if something goes wrong.

    FDM Group2020-01-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good access to high profile clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and access to clients

    Cons

    Low salary and initial benefits due to model

    Advice to Management

    NA

    FDM Group2019-12-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good stepping stone/training to progress your careen further"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great list of clients Great trainers And great training

    Cons

    Sometimes there are not many client opportunities but if you are persistent you will get opportunities

    FDM Group2019-12-13
  8. "Returners Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great returners program for preparing those out of the workplace to get back into it. Great client list!

    Cons

    A little under supported once on clients site

    FDM Group2019-12-19
  9. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team is young Central location and modern offices

    Cons

    recruitment manager(s) are not very good at their job (hence the very high staff turnover) Very basic salary and basic commission structure Selling a programme that no one wants to do Unrealistic targets Hostile atmosphere at times

    Advice to Management

    Leave

    FDM Group2020-01-15
  10. "Fdm Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training Gain industry relevant skills Foot through the door of big companies like Sky, Credit Suisse, etc.

    Cons

    No pay, but there is travel bursary

    FDM Group2019-12-09
Found 1213 reviews