FDM Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1094 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
601 Ratings
Pros
  • "Access to placement with blue Chip companies to get started in the industry(in 84 reviews)

  • "The opportunity presented to the dedicated trainees is by far the biggest positive of the graduate programme(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Might have a feeling that you are a product of the company, so account managers would try their best to sell you to their clients(in 146 reviews)

  • "2 year Contract hanging over your head(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, awesome opportunity, everything a grad can dream about

    Cons

    Nothing much to say, I am satisfied

    FDM Group2019-05-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Better than reviews suggest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have to say that my experience has been wholly positive. Trainers are friendly and helpful. Nice culture around the office and other trainees are only too happy to help too. For someone not from an IT background this is a great foot in the door of big companies and can really set you on your way if you are willing to work hard. I was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews but after experiencing it I can’t say I have...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not paid for training period and have to repay fees if you leave within 2 years, however they are up front and transparent about this so you should have no complaints if you choose to ignore this.

    Advice to Management

    Get better coffee in the machines.

    FDM Group2019-06-24
  3. "Software developer at FDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Near-guarantee of role with blue chip companies -Base wage while not on-site -Door to entry into tech without comsci background -Generally okay at providing some form of training when necessary -Reasonable entry salary, good salary after 2 years. It is what it says on the tin, you will get a job, you will get experience and from there you can pave your own future

    Cons

    -Training is arbitrary -Minimal Annual leave/sick pat -May be allocated to role that doesn't match your skillset/interest with no ability to turn down 'oppurtunity' -long, mandatory, often not particularly useful training

    Advice to Management

    -Improve treatment of consultants -Increase lenience in edge cases (i.e. allowing trainees to wait for interview results to come through before assigning them a role unwillingly)

    FDM Group2019-07-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Better than expected - it is worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Note: I was hesitant in joining the graduate program for FDM due to Glassdoor reviews. However, my experience has been pleasant. Note: There is less supply of IT consultants, meaning those on tech programs are more likely to get placed. Whereas, there's more competition amongst business consultants. - I got placed by the time my training ended. - You get insightful training (it is not everything you need to know,...

    Show More

    Cons

    - You do not get paid for your training. Therefore, don't join the program if you cannot support yourself. - You are under contractual obligations - Placements are not always guaranteed (NOTE: this is not necessarily FDM's problem, sometimes consultants can be joining the program at a time where FDM's clients are simply not hiring, IN ADDITION, I find that those who do not get placements tend to be candidates that are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My FDM experience has been pleasant, but I know people that have had a tough experience. My only advice is reassuring and be honest with your consultants. Sometimes it's not the company's fault but building a rapport with your consultants will help the company's reputation and overall satisfaction amongst consultants.

    FDM Group2019-06-18
  5. "Rough with the smooth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to some excellent companies Some excellent job opportunities Potential to earn good money

    Cons

    The atmosphere when on the bench between contracts becomes toxic and then leads to a downwards spiral of negativity Some very poor job opportunities Salary is low with the bonus making up a large percentage of take home Mental health awareness is discussed but rarely put into action

    Advice to Management

    Open up the client base Run one off training sessions at different times of the week to break up the monotony of "beached" life

    FDM Group2019-06-20
  6. "Ideal way to get your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Training provided - Many opportunities available including internationally - Friendly and helpful environment - Close network of reputable companies across industries - Culturally diverse - Salary increase each year

    Cons

    - Low salary to begin - No salary whilst training - Placements may be short term (although usually are long term) - Training only minimal (learn more on the job)

    Advice to Management

    Improvement needed on relationship between account managers and employees/trainees - account managers tend to treat employees/trainees like products

    FDM Group2019-06-18
  7. "IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Foot in the door to blue chip companies

    Cons

    Must commit to geographically flexible

    FDM Group2019-06-04
  8. "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Free coffee, other than that - nothing!

    Cons

    Everything! - They only care about money

    FDM Group2019-07-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Foot in the door - no growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Foot in the door and good clients

    Cons

    Sales team treat consultants like crap

    Advice to Management

    Management are aware of the culture but do nothing

    FDM Group2019-06-14
  10. "Business Consultant with FDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Guaranteed work placement - Good companies

    Cons

    - Can be thrown at any city in the UK - Low pay compared to direct employment

    Advice to Management

    - Take care of trainees - Less hiding - Less pressure on Trainees

    FDM Group2019-06-16
Found 1094 reviews