O2 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

O2 Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 410 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great pension contributions & flexible working policy including home working(in 52 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is amazing, brilliant employee perks scheme(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "The business is very focused in Head Office, (Slough) meaning lots of early starts and very late finishes(in 10 reviews)

  • "senior management are awful to work with(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "There is nowhere else for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A Genuine focus on the customer (not lip service), in an environment of smart and friendly people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    I don’t want to leave.

    O22019-08-19

    O2 Response

    August 21, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for leaving such a lovely review. We’re glad to hear you have such a high opinion of our company, after working with us for such a long time. We hope you’ll continue to be part of the O2 family for many more years. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  2. "A place where dreams come true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Manager in Bury, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Such an incredible place, amazing teams, a family spirit where hard work is rewarded and people development comes first. I can't speak highly enough of the senior teams, Corporate Affairs, Marketing, Exec office the list is endless and the place is filled with world-class down to earth amazing people. Only join O2 if you want to actually make a diffence, anything else is not enough.

    Cons

    Hard to find any, but sometimes you can get lost in the size, but it's easy to find our way again.

    Continue reading
    O22019-09-05

    O2 Response

    September 10, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for your review and what a lovely title. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed working with us so much and we agree as it’s our people that make O2 a great place to work. We can see you no longer work with us but we hope your career is going well outside of O2. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  3. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Hastings, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonuses, time off, buy and sell holidays, understanding company in general

    Cons

    a newer manager was not as humane/understanding of personal life affecting work life. Lack of understanding work/life balance

    Continue reading
    O22019-09-03

    O2 Response

    September 10, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We’re pleased to read that you enjoyed many of the benefits we offer our employees. We’re sorry to hear you felt one of our managers wasn’t as understanding as others. Our HR team are on hand to help with any issues and we have an exit survey in place which helps us target any areas that may need to be addressed. We hope your career is going well and thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at O2 full-time

    Pros

    Good hours Good bond with team Fun engaging management

    Cons

    None if you don't mind working weekends and enjoy having targets

    O22019-09-02

    O2 Response

    September 10, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for your review. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed working with us. We agree as it’s our people that make o2 the success it is and they are our greatest asset! In regards to your con, we do need to cover weekends so that we can be there for our customers when they need us. We also have targets in place so that we can continue to offer a great experience for our customers, which is really important to us. We hope your career is going well outside of O2, thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Trust and flexibility. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Corporate functions can be very slough centric.

    Continue reading
    O22019-08-29

    O2 Response

    September 2, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for your review, we are pleased to have had you on board for so long and wish you all the best with your future at O2.

    Continue reading
  6. "Innovative and very flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Software Engineer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There flexible and relaxed if the work is done they have discounts and good benefits on phones and products

    Cons

    They have poor management and no time for their employees. They have good benefits but dont pay as well . Not always enough work . Environment was terrible.

    Continue reading
    O22019-09-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Some good elements, some not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Reasonable packages Some good people

    Cons

    - Blame culture: it’s more important to find who is “accountable” - corporate code for “to blame” - than actually fix a problem. Great delight when someone is found to blame as they can then be marked down at their year end review to hit the performance forced distribution curve. - It’s all about being in Slough. Unless you work in Retail don’t bother getting a job if you live anywhere else, as progression will be impossible. - Huge legacy technology problems and no clear idea how to “transform”. - Cottage industries are created to satisfy senior management’s clever ideas and egos. An obsession with “business planning” but no clarity on how to do it, so we just churn out PowerPoint deck after PowerPoint deck after PowerPoint deck... until someone finally says it’s good enough, then we get back to what we should have been doing all along and nothing is any different.

    Continue reading
    O22019-09-08

    O2 Response

    September 10, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for leaving a review. We’re glad to see you enjoy the flexible working aspect of working with O2, as we agree this is important for us all. We’re sorry to hear about the cons you have raised. We do support our people to develop their career with us and we now have a digital learning platform called Campus that helps with development both professionally and personally. We also advertise all of our roles internally, so that everyone can see what opportunities are available. We’ll take your feedback on board and would recommend to discuss any issues with your line manager in the first instance or our HR team. We hope you continue to work with us in the future. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  8. "Innovative but lack excitement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Software Engineer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good innovation with tech and good working flexibility

    Cons

    Poor management and working environment

    Continue reading
    O22019-09-12
  9. "Always something different happening every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Leader in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mostly great people, using the latest technology.

    Cons

    Not everyone was treated the same.

    O22019-09-11
  10. "Customer centric company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Systems Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, people will help you and look after you.

    Cons

    Not agile when it comes to urgent projects

    O22019-08-27

    O2 Response

    September 2, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Our culture is something we are very proud of, so it pleases us that you have recognised it in your work life. We will pass your feedback on as we are always looking for new ways of working and we are trialing agile working in some areas of the business but in the meantime we would also encourage you to work with your colleagues to explore any opportunities/process that could be implemented to become more agile. We wish you all the best in what we hope is many more years as part of the O2 family.

    Continue reading
Found 410 reviews
</>Embed