Pulse (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pulse (UK) Reviews

Updated 14 August 2018
87 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pulse (UK) CEO Richard MacMillan
Richard MacMillan
47 Ratings

87 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "There is lots of career progression available within the company and the career pathways are very clear" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Fantastic social events, including a huge Christmas party" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "But this is something that could be done with career progression" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Earn hardly any bonus and have never been told how to earn more as the bonus scheme is different every month" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fantastic recruitment company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent career progression, great benefits, real family feel, open and honest management, first class training, allows autonomy in role, forward thinking and encourages innovation.

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to measure performance if profits aren’t moving forward - this is generally the nature of recruitment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to staff and moving forward with new ideas.


  2. "Do not work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Kings Cross, England
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Kings Cross, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are no pros, don’t look after staff

    Cons

    No diversity within the management team, and if you are a person of colour do not bother joining, you receive a lot of racial abuse, which is veryy unfair! It’s 2018 and companies still hire people who are racist. Nasty people work within the company and if you speak up they will target you and pick on you. Best to avoid working for this company. Not worth it. Wouldn’t even recommend this company to my worst enemy. If I could give it a less raiting than 1 star, I definitely would

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff
    And stop hiring racist people

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Trainee Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good team
    Great benefits
    Company looks after you
    Open door to management at any time

    Cons

    Teams are falling apart
    Resignation galore
    Commission structure needs MAJOR REVAMP!

    Advice to Management

    Sort it out before more people resign.

    Pulse (UK) Response

    15 Jun 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture so it's great to see one of your pros as 'open door'. It's really disappointing to hear... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed bag - has its pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and candidates.
    Good benefits package.

    Cons

    Often find that you are the last to hear about changes that are being introduced.
    Company always wants more and more from you. Very target driven.
    Bonus was taken away except for a few "privileged" colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication needed - often find out about things through the grapevine rather than through the correct channels. Moral is low when management ask for more and more.

    Pulse (UK) Response

    6 Apr 2018 – Group HR Director

    Many thanks for leaving us a review. We always appreciate feedback, whether good or bad, in order to help us make Pulse a great place to work. I will ensure that your comments are fed back to all... More


  5. "Good start to a recruitment career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Colleagues in the office very warm and welcoming
    -Team culture is strong and emphasis on working as a team
    -On-Boarding programme teaches you everything you need to succeed
    -Ongoing training and development opportunities
    -Kings Cross location is easy to get to if you live in London
    -team drinks/office competitions and charity work have become more frequent since 2017.

    Cons

    -Lack of career progression or a clear pathway after initial promotions.
    -Bonus structure isn't the clearest in comparison to competitiors
    -KPIs are very rigid meaning there is little room for consultants who are successful outside of the traditional mould.

    Advice to Management

    Create a careers pathway. When a consultant reaches targets give them either a pay review or a progression review - this will keep people happier.

    Make KPIs more flexible as some consultants can hit/exceed their GM targets using their own techniques and this should be rewarded rather than discouraged.

    Keep the office culture. Pulse is a nice place to work and does have a family feel which is tough to find in recruitment. It still remains a great choice to start your career as the training is second to none and some of the management have a wealth of experience to learn from.

    Pulse (UK) Response

    4 Jan 2018 – Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    It's great to hear that you feel our on-boarding programme sets our people up for success and that you experienced on-going training and... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    you could help yourself to a free drink in the kitchen every friday, friday games, free tea and coffee, recruitment and compliance team were very welcoming.

    Cons

    Constantly criticised on a daily basis, was told I don’t know how to use outlook properly or send or delete emails, told i was making the business lose money,constant demotivating remarks from my manager via email and verbally infront of other staff daily at the Kings x branch. Witnessed emails between senior staff talking rudely about lower ranking staff as they’d forgotten to delete emails from team inbox. Also witnessed bullying in other teams and constant swearing between staff in conversations.Witnessed someone resign while I was there also due to bullying. Went home crying twice,In the end i left due to this.

    Advice to Management

    Management should be monitored as internal bullying has also come up in other reviews because it happens frequently. It is managers and senior staff bullying staff of lower ranking. People feel scared to speak out.

    Pulse (UK) Response

    30 Jan 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Some of your comments are extremely concerning and I would therefore encourage you to contact me directly at Rozie.Edwards@ukics.com so I can... More


  7. "A&E Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in London, England
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in London, England

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It allows you to be flexible, pick your shifts and hospitals you want to work in

    Cons

    Not being part of a team

    Pulse (UK) Response

    4 Jan 2018 – Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Whilst it is great that you value our flexibility, it's disappointing to hear that you don't feel part of a team.

    Our culture very much... More

  8. "Did not enjoy my experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Team trips out once targets have been met.

    Cons

    No probation reviews were carried out during employment, no thorough trainning provided to perform job to a high standard. Work colleagues were not pleasant to be around. Management had favourites and those that were more quiet but worked hard were often not rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Train you staff and make sure probation procedures are followed through. Do not be lazy and rely on other team members who are busy themselves to train new members of staff. Directors need to be made fully aware of how other managers are treating members of staff and make sure that the managers are following new starter procedures correctly.

    Pulse (UK) Response

    21 Nov 2017 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience of working at Pulse wasn't as positive as we'd like to achieve. I want to reassure you that we will take your feedback on board and... More


  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Cares about its employees
    -Has growth opportunities
    -regular bonus incentives

    Cons

    None I encountered within the one year I was there

    Pulse (UK) Response

    27 Sep 2017 – Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.


  10. "good agency to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    strong management, impressive vision, investment in the future

    Cons

    not much really, technology platform required some work but was being taken care of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Pulse (UK) Response

    27 Sep 2017 – Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is appreciated.


Showing 87 of 88 reviews
Reset Filters