Pulse (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pulse (UK) Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pulse (UK) CEO Mike Barnard
Mike Barnard
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Having been part of the Pulse family for 10 years I am proud to work for such a great company(in 25 reviews)

  • "Clear career progression, which is mapped out in a career pathway(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pulse give everyone the tools to be able to thrive in a buzzy, fast paced, stressful environment should they be willing to put the work in(in 16 reviews)

  • "Lack of career progression or a clear pathway after initial promotions(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Coordinator in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with wonderful people

    Cons

    I haven’t experienced anything negative, so cons to state.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-05-28

    Pulse (UK) Response

    June 14, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to read about your positive experience thus far and I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team in the Manchester office and supportive Management. Internal incentives, bonuses, annual Christmas parties and other benefits such as buy/sell holiday and rewards and discount platform.

    Cons

    Nothing negative experienced so far.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2020-03-09
  3. "Okay not for long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Booking Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice team but not great management

    Cons

    Gossip work environment/ managers stick together

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2020-02-14
  4. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Work in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are friendly, supportive and cooperative

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity for advancement

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2020-01-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Still Struggling to Compete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Was with the company for 8 years, I believed what we were doing was good for the NHS and Private clients which is was as it was all about service and quality which in the early days was true. Good co-workers which on my team we worked like a team and would be there to support each other and would get some fantastic numbers on the board and didn’t let the major micro management certain other team’s experiences distract us however cringe worthy it would be sometimes to watch. Good benefits which you would expect from a corporate environment and management on the outside would be friendly. Nice enough offices, Kings Cross so fine to get too.

    Cons

    Management were in a bubble with no diversity race wise and at one point due to the Divisional Boss who was a founder was quite Anti Male (This May of changed now) One question I thought was very weird at the 2nd interview was how would you feel working for a woman??? I thought I had kinda stepped back time and responded with surprise at the question but answered accordingly. You would have to fight to get your bonus of them, they would make up silly KPI’s which they knew were outdated and use it to deduct percentages off your bonus if you would let them get away with it. An example would be one month we were set a ridiculous target as a team and if the team didn’t hit it then you could of hit 40K just yourself but if your team didn’t hit it you wouldn’t get anything. My team were £5K of a target that was raised to a ridiculous amount yet we almost did it and we got nothing, no bonus yet management got theirs. That was the last time, as a team we decided to stop pushing if we didn’t feel we were going to hit the target and basically told management this as there would be no point so they then gave us a percentage of what we would get but still wasn’t much of an incentive if your doing really well personally. Middle management would always contradict itself as they would alway walk out of that LMT meeting with the most silly tasks which would send staff a different message to a couple of weeks ago which they then couldn’t justify when they would be questioned on this. Company lost its way with the introduction of NHS Caps, Pulse was always known for its quality but the biggest complaint from clients was how much they were being charged which was considerably more than other agencies were charging, when caps came in management decided that they knew best and wanted to keep their margin and assumed others would follow by declining the caps. They were wrong other agencies were actually far off the caps in terms of what they were charging so it didn’t need that much adjusting and over night Pulse lost Big Clients, Teams went from hitting £30K - £40K to barely hitting £10K - £15K which was the beginning of the end. Forward 2020 X2 New Divisional Director’s later and unfortunately Pulse haven’t been able to move on from the past. Speaking to people surprisingly still there from the old management they are effectively working for little or no commission as they have never recovered and other agencies have built positively working within Caps and IR35 and morale at Pulse is at an all time low and I’ve been informed that they are now changing the commission structure again which has been something they have been doing frequently with little success finding one that suits both parties.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2020-01-27

    Pulse (UK) Response

    February 3, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's good to read about the experience you had with your co-workers and that whilst you were working for us you considered our benefits and our work environment to be positive aspects of our business. It's disappointing to read your comments in relation to previous management and that your experience of working at Pulse wasn’t as positive as we’d like to achieve. We know the approach taken with the NHS caps had an impact on our business, however, this is something we have learned from. There have been changes to the structure and leadership team within the Pulse Nursing business and we are confident that issues you refer to are no longer current. We have recently introduced a career pathway, individual and team recognition and incentives and are working towards a clear vision for 2020. We always appreciate feedback, whether good or bad, in order to help us make Pulse a great place to work. Your comments have been fed back and we will work with the Leadership team to address these concerns so as to improve the experience of our employees both now and in the future. Thanks again for your contribution to Pulse over the time you’ve worked with us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Ability to make money if you put the work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pulse allows you to work autonomously but also as part of a team as there is always somebody to help and support you to get to the top. The holiday allowance is beneficial as it makes you realise the importance of work / life balance.

    Cons

    Not everybody takes advantage of the structure and ability to progress.

    Pulse (UK)2019-12-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    January 31, 2020HR Business Partner

    Hi, it's great to read about your positive experience and that you feel you have had support to help you in your role. I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unfortunate management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with a are great and are very supportive. The social scene fantastic, especially for younger workers looking for a good time in London.

    Cons

    False promises from management and bonuses not being paid out, even after being told that we will get them in our next pay. Management do not care about the inappropriate behavior from coworkers and only care about gross margin not about the well being of employees.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-08-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A once great company that has lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Account Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There were some great people within the business. The CEO is a great leader, but his senior management let him down.

    Cons

    I worked for Pulse for over 10 years and the reviews I have seen on here do not reflect the poor treatment that I have seen happen especially over the last 2 years. The division I worked in had no direction or strategy. Poor decisions at senior management level lead to losing many major contracts and candidates. It all could have been different if they had listened to the staff who were on the ground who knew the market. This once great company who I absolutely loved working for let me down. Lack of support to do my job efficiently, poor communication, and being left to keep staff moral high after changes being made to the business that I had no say in. No career progression- a career pathway was spoken about and promised for over 3 years which never materialised. The bonus structure is an absolute joke for what is supposed to a recruitment company! finally the company of late has lost some really good employees who worked hard and grew the business at its peak, these employees were loyal and stayed because they wanted to see the company get to that success again, but you let them down. I'm still waiting for my exit interview so I thought I'd write a review.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-08-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 7, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your experience of working at Pulse wasn't as positive towards the end of your career as we'd like to achieve. I want to reassure you that we will take your feedback on board and ensure that we work with the Leadership team to address these concerns and take any remedial action to improve the experience of our employees both now and in the future. Thank you for your contribution to Pulse over the time you’ve worked with us. You have stated that you didn’t receive an exit interview; if you wish, please contact me at marcia.white@ukics.com, so that this can be arranged.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pulse have put in place a great career pathway, which means you are in control of what you want to achieve in your career and the timescale in which to achieve it. There is a high level of on-going personal developement which is personally tailored rather than just attending generic training sessions.

    Cons

    Parking can sometimes be limited

    Pulse (UK)2019-04-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    April 8, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are passionate about supporting our employees to help them to grow within Pulse and ICS; developing clear career paths and providing training and opportunities for progression is a key focus across our business. It's great to read about your positive experience thus far and I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here

    Continue reading
  10. "Pulse Nursing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Having been part of the Pulse family for 10 years I am proud to work for such a great company. You have autonomy and trust to help grow the business, open communication and so much in terms of benefits from a simple thank you, through to an amazing Christmas party.

    Cons

    Very few, the nature of what we do = fast pace and often a busy environment, but if you work hard the pros certainly out weigh the cons

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-03-01

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 8, 2019HR Business Partner

    Hi, it's great to read about your positive experience and to see that you'd recommend this as a great place to work. Listening and acting upon feedback play a key part in engaging with our employees and we'll continue to do so. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
Found 113 reviews