Magellan Health Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Magellan Health Reviews

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years(in 24 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate of productive employees(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Social workforce and flexible hours

    Cons

    Administration still needs to be streamlined

    Magellan Health2019-04-14
  2. "Good opportunity for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service Owner in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you’re willing to put in the work and be open to change, it’s a good opportunity to grow your career.

    Cons

    The organization was experiencing some toxic immune response to new leadership. This made it difficult to get things done as a company. This may have leveled out over time.

    Magellan Health2019-11-28
  3. "Case Manager Reviewr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ralph's Taco truck, parking lot, some windows in the building,

    Cons

    Where to start?? Gosh there is so much wrong with Magellan/NIA one can hardly get it out. Management is horrid and create a toxic environment. Retribution and reprisals are their management style. If co workers become too friendly and start visiting during their 30 minute lunch management will change schedules so they can't talk during breaks. Listen to every phone call. HR is awful - never available to answer... questions. Lots of promises when hired. None of them followed through. Easily the worst company I've ever worked for. Truly nasty managers and executives.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close your doors. You have no idea how to motivate people. HR needs to be onsite so they are available to field all the complaints against management. I would've given Magellan 0 stars but I had no choice but to give 1 star.

    Magellan Health2019-12-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety of schedules which are convenient

    Cons

    They care more about the call volume than their employees

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example

    Magellan Health2019-11-04
  5. "Great company with room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to grow and get promoted

    Cons

    Nature of work can be tedious if you don't like working with numbers all day

    Magellan Health2019-10-16
  6. "Remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy. You are not micromanaged

    Cons

    No upward mobility. Nothing else I can think of

    Magellan Health2019-10-15
  7. "Hired in December 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Pharmacy Technician 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love everything about magellan health

    Cons

    I can't think of anything wrong with this company so far

    Magellan Health2019-09-30
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EAP Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary, lots of independence, varied clients, good supervision

    Cons

    Not much room for internal growth

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work

    Magellan Health2019-09-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Charged me $50 to rollover my 401k"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allows employees to work from home

    Cons

    The benefits were substandard. Too much out of pocket for employees. They only offered HDHP with no HSA funding. HR moved to a self serve platform which would be OK if they would get back to EEs with answers. Days later employees still didn't have answers to their HR questions after submitting a ticket.

    Advice to Management

    I have over 20 years of experience in benefits and I have NEVER heard of being charged a $50 fee to rollover MY 401(k) funds. They laid us off when they acquired Senior Whole Health, which I understand is part of business. But to be charged to rollover my own retirement money into my new employer plan is simply gouging laid off employees, it's insulting and despicable. I emailed the HR team about it TWICE and they... didn't have the decency to get back to me with an answer. Such disrespect for former coworkers and shows a complete lack of caring about employees.

    Show More
    Magellan Health2019-11-01
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Case load can be heavy sometimes

    Magellan Health2019-09-27
Found 621 reviews