NHS Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5,028 of over 5,705 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
975 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will have plenty of opportunities once you get in the NHS(in 210 reviews)

  • "Good pension arrangements through Nhs(in 140 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "tiring with long hours and work pressure(in 305 reviews)

  • "None at all I love working for the nhs(in 196 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Jul 19, 2021 - Manager in Inverness, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job satisfaction is second to none

      Cons

      Short staffed which makes it more stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Aug 2, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Guildford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management and working relationship with colleagues. Flexible with working hours fitting into childcare and always providing training if you need it

      Cons

      Slow process, but that is similar to much of the NHS. Overworked staff means that management can be tricky sometimes where managers have too many staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Aug 1, 2021 - QUALITY IMPROVEMENT INVESTIGATOR 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      staff are all lovely people and the hours are short. Annual leave often accepted! comfortable office and spacious. Generous annual leave.

      Cons

      management are terrible with no training or little training. Training is not given to staff despite the need for staff to be properly trained. I was quite shocked considering this is the NHS!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good but outdated

      Aug 2, 2021 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and Friendly management and Relaxed environment

      Cons

      Patients can be difficult to deal with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      What

      Aug 1, 2021 - Equipment Loan Assistant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good benefits happy with the people I work with

      Cons

      Hard to get annual leave because of covid at the minute

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      I just want to read reviews

      Jul 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working for the NHS and I have done for over 10 years

      Cons

      I wish I got paid more. Nurses need more mo eu

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Volunteer

      Jul 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Volunteering within the NHS has been a very rewarding experience and has provided me with many useful skills that will benefit me in the future

      Cons

      Since volunteering for the NHS I have not had any negative experiences however i have had to deal with many distressed patients.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jul 29, 2021 - Project Coordinator in Taunton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      rewarding contributing to health care. good benefits. discounts available. development opportunities. positive working environment. focus on inclusivity.

      Cons

      very structured pay scales with little scope to increase other than longevity of experience. sometimes underpaid in comparison to private organsiations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The community spirit keeps me going!

      Jul 27, 2021 - Senior Children's Wellbeing Practitioner in Maidstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible team managers Excellent well-being support Amazing colleagues Everyone gives their 110% Morale and community spirit

      Cons

      Low pay Stretched resources Negative public view Burnout and workload Leadership team a bit disconnected

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      nhs

      Jul 30, 2021 - Clinical Pharmacist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We are at the center of everything

      Cons

      nobody knows we are there

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,028 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with NHS Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NHS? Share Your Experiences

    NHS logo
    or