SGN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SGN Reviews

Updated 14 December 2018
61 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
34 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "While I wouldn't guarantee this is a 'job for life' there is a degree of stability in the utility industry when compared to offshore work etc" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Amazing training, management team are brilliant, never bored, great people to work with" (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay and Benefits is below the benchmark" (in 3 reviews)

  • "Bit more e-learning would benefit, paper qualifications and interest from the senior management would benefit all sides" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "It's a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aldershot, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aldershot, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people I work alongside make my day, we help one another and there is always someone you can ask. The work itself is a challenge and I like a challenge.

    I have been with SGN for just a short while (a year and a half) and I can honestly say that SGN have given me more than I expected. I am always hungry to learn and they have recognised this and 'fed me' and for this I will always be grateful.

    Cons

    Sometimes people can feel overlooked, it's a big company and you can feel as though nobody has noticed how hard you have worked everyday, a lot of good people do a good job on a daily basis.

    Advice to Management

    Look after the 'little people' sometimes just a well done is enough to make someones day and keep them on the track to success.

    SGN Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for the five-star review! We’re so pleased to hear that you’re enjoying life at SGN and making the most of the opportunities that are available.

    The work our people do across all levels... More


  2. "A career in SGN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    An exciting innovative Company moving forward with the changing legislation and technology. Provides a diverse range of career opportunities in many different processes/work streams. Excellent training, secure employment, good benefits, competitive pay, opportunities for progression based on ability and ambition

    Cons

    Operates a 24/7/365 Emergency service protecting life and property, so some relevant work streams are required to work a stand by rota on call for emergencies out of hours on a rota basis for gas escapes. Compensatory rest time applies if called out with generous associated pay

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company with good prospects if willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great work ethic in relation to safety. Generally management is good and training is being provided to ensure management skills are improved. If you are a hard worker SGN will invest in you and you can have a variety of opportunities to follow and create a great long-term career.

    Cons

    As with a lot of companies, management often should listen more to input from the workers as we all have good ideas and a voices. Although this seems to be improving and hopefully will continue to.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff- we all care and want the company to do well. It is a benefit for all.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    there is lots of support and knowledge available to help you if you ask. the company really looks after its most valuable assets (the staff) and senior management are approachable.

    Cons

    The IT systems are still in need of bringing in line with other organisations, they are slow and very dated, I know changes have been made and since O365 has been rolled out things are looking on the up but still a long way to go.

    Advice to Management

    harvest as much information as you can from all the 'old school' employees, you have a massive amount of knowledge and skills walking out the door on a daily basis when they retire but nobody is harvesting and documenting that knowledge

    SGN Response

    13 Dec 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for your recent review!

    As I’m sure you’ll already know, ‘putting people at the heart’ is one of our company values so it’s great to hear that you feel we’ve got this right when it... More


  5. Helpful (3)

    "It's a good place to be :-)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The people, a fantastic place to work !!

    Cons

    Sometimes having to deal with third parties is difficult, but that can happen at any place if employment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rhe excellent work up listening to staff and engaging them in decisions.

    SGN Response

    26 Nov 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a great review. Employee feedback is so important to us so we’ll be certain to keep listening to our people and involving them where we can!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of benefits, great pension scheme, holiday plus scheme, further development opportunities. Company definitely changed over the last few years for better

    Cons

    Not all benefits are available if you are contracting through an agency.

    SGN Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review.

    Unfortunately, we’re a bit restricted when it comes to the benefits we can offer colleagues working for us through an agency. As we don’t process the... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "about the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Company to work for, always friendly, flexible hours, near gatwick easy for train journey

    Cons

    near a local town not many shops to explore loads of cafe's

    Advice to Management

    talk and listening to your staff

    SGN Response

    22 Nov 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we’re proud that you consider us a great company to work for. Talking and listening to our people is hugely valuable so we’ll make sure to... More

  8. "Plenty of opportunities to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Progressions
    The people you work with are amazing
    Salary is decent

    Cons

    Management is very poor...
    Hours are not very flexible around appointments, commitments etc
    If you are sick, prepare to pay for it!

    Advice to Management

    Get new management in to do the job they should be doing now!!!!!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company to work for that has a lot of opportunities to progress your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Technical Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good people and good at working together as a team.

    Cons

    None as far as I know

    SGN Response

    22 Nov 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for your positive review. The people at SGN really are great and achieve fantastic things when working together as a team!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, friendly staff, study support, development opportunities.

    Cons

    There should be more flexibility on working hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep engaging.

    SGN Response

    22 Nov 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for sharing your review with us. It’s so helpful for us to know what you consider to be our best bits and areas for improvement.

    We’re currently in the process of setting up a working... More