Towergate Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Towergate Insurance Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
37%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Towergate Insurance CEO David Ross  (no image)
David Ross
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work culture, really enjoyed being at Towergate the team are great(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good people - dynamic company - always evolving(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have seen many favourites leave under the guise of a "reorganisation" (Towergate do a lot of these on a frequent basis)(in 27 reviews)

  • "There is being a team player and then there is just being ignorant to the problems around you because you don't want to upset senior management(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Returned twice so they must be doing something right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Executive in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people, opportunity to develop (if you want to), regular feedback from management and development for those that work for it.

    Cons

    As a DE hours can be long with the Telford office's territory covering most of England and Wales, the car allowance could be a little more generous for the mileage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep calm and carry on.

    Towergate Insurance2019-09-11
  2. "Not the greatest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work pretty easy, hardly ever saw management.

    Cons

    Pay rises nearly non existent, targets too hard to meet.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff.

    Towergate Insurance2019-12-10
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Handler 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, charity days, training, parking

    Cons

    Some disruptive staff get away with a lot !

    Advice to Management

    Look after your long time employees a bit better !

    Towergate Insurance2019-12-04
  4. "I kept praying but now I've given up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Erm...... The office is newish, but you literally aren't allowed to breath in the wrong direction without being punished. Oh and we have a table football game in the kitchen, but its for a 5 year old!

    Cons

    Everything, I mean everything. Pay is awful (I mean embarrassing to be blunt), some people earn way more than they deserve whilst others would be better off working at Tesco. Management are a complete JOKE! They are either arguing (publicly) amongst themselves, falling out like cat and dog or kissing each others butts, there is no in between. They are either unapproachable or bore you to sleep. The business... is run on emotion, they call it passion, but its emotion, irrational decisions, that's emotion! A very very backwards thinking office run in the 1980's with the ethos of 'if you don't like it here then .... off'. Nice hey :-( I'm off along with many many others as soon as I can find a better job, although signing on seems appealing at the moment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They wont listen, but advice to the senior team at Ardonagh level, ignore the BS from the Telford Mangers/Directors, cut through that and really get to grips with the underlying issues here before its too late.

    Towergate Insurance2019-12-10
  5. "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Handler in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff are the best part of the company

    Cons

    Stressed out staff. Toxic work environment with managers who couldn’t care less. Staff leaving hand over fist and the remaining staff having more and more work dumped on them. Managing Director is only concerned with lining his own pockets and not the welfare or mental health of remaining staff. Refuses to pay his staff market wages as it affects his ‘budget’, yet employs new starts with no experience on similar... wages to staff with experience. Disgusting treatment and total disregard for the staff who continue to make money for this cut throat company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start managing. Properly!

    Towergate Insurance2019-12-07
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Broker in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Left to manage self and not micro managed

    Cons

    Quite a quiet office

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-11
  7. "AWFUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The IMPACT Friday's where we would finish early and have lunch provided for you.

    Cons

    Everything else. No support, no proper training. Dropped in at the deep-end and expected to know what you are doing, even with no previous experience. Was lied to during the interview stages. Job role was completely different to what I was told I would be doing. Left due to serious depression brought on by this job.

    Advice to Management

    Take more care of your employees!

    Towergate Insurance2019-11-14
  8. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent training and progression. Enjoyable working environment and excellent bonus.

    Cons

    Managers favour certain people. No clear structure for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Look at talent

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-07
  9. "I wouldn't Go Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Handler in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its OK for a starter job but not a long term career

    Cons

    A lot of back stabbing and throwing people under the proverbial bus High turnover of staff which doesn't go unnoticed by other members of staff Constructive feedback is not given, no praise for when things are done well but closed door meetings when mistakes are made

    Advice to Management

    Look at staff like humans and not so much as numbers which then may help with staff retention Praise staff instead of shooting them down, the smallest things go a long way

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-11
  10. "Terrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevenage, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing everything is terrible

    Cons

    Unprofessional in every capacity. One of the manager talks to her staff like they are dirt. No matter how many times this was brought to the attention of the MD he did nothing about it. I would rather be homeless for the rest of my life than to ever even consider working here again. Truly, hell on earth.

    Advice to Management

    Direct to the MD, you need to sit down with every team member, people are being treated terribly, you need to know about it and do something!!!

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-29
Found 218 reviews