Edelman Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1893 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
1,228 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work/ life balance can be tough(in 262 reviews)

  • "Are there times when you're going to need to work some long hours or endure a heavy week and some weekend work(in 180 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I can see myself staying here a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AAE in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office is an incredibly friendly place, full of enthusiastic and approachable people. On the whole, stuff just gets done - I couldn't pinpoint anybody I've worked with who I think was only half-assing it. Any times I've had a problem (personal or professional) I've been met with supportive line management. I feel like when I ask to try something new, I'm taken seriously and given the chance to improve my skills.

    Cons

    Your hours vary enormously by team, some teams are really good for making sure you're not always staying late, others regularly stay late and consider it 'the norm'. Right now, I have very few complaints about my job, but I'm given the impression that the higher up you are, the more the cracks start to show, so it's easy for me to be overwhelmingly positive. However, because of occasional negativity from mid-level staff, I sometimes feel worried about when the bubble will burst and the cracks will start to show.

    Edelman2019-07-10
  2. "Senior account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager 

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Working in teams and building relationships with clients

    Cons

    More responsibility with client and wotk

    Edelman2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Career progress at a cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As the #1 global agency that is well known Tier 1 household brand names as clients Eclectic and diverse range of employees A high pressure environment and workload that makes or breaks. It seems mainly to make - apart from in the Brand practice - which is an internal pariah

    Cons

    Some offensively inept senior leadership who, because the business is private, are allowed to escape destructive performance/management. If Edelman was listed and reported to shareholders - heads would have rolled long ago A ‘just make it happen’ approach to junior workloads which can reverse progress among those starting in the industry Fawns over ‘Trust’ data that annually points out some of the most glaringly obvious and unimaginative stats to hit the news - only as a vehicle to convince businesss they have an insight where none exists. The perfect example of a company enjoying the smell of its own farts.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-09-14

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    Hmmm, where to start. Well, first I'm glad you find our employee base diverse and eclectic. I agree that our environment can at times feel high pressure and many who do well here enjoy working that way, but we also provide numerous ways for people to unplug and step away. With regards to your comment about offensive leadership behavior, whether pressure-prompted or otherwise, please discuss it with your local HR leader or me. It's not ok with us. Sometimes repercussions of such behavior will not be immediately evident to all parties, but please know that we take it seriously. I, and many international media outlets, disagree with your take on Trust, but that's the great thing about this place. We are allowed and encouraged to disagree and challenge each other. It's the debate that ultimately makes us better. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic clients, smart and engaging people. Flexible working becoming part of the company-wide culture.

    Cons

    Unclear promotion and salary increase processes, superficial training, poor career pathing.

    Edelman2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid avoid avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big global agency - international network Clear path of promotion Flexible and remote working Big name clients Nice office space

    Cons

    Money comes first over people No support for juniors - usually pushed to breaking point with demanding accounts and leadership then blamed for anything that goes wrong No team culture - drinks and socials only happen when people leave or at offsite days/Christmas No creativity in work - rely on being a big name in industry but work is generally pretty average and copy/paste year to year and account to account Not willing to say no to any client requests - staff are worked till they drop (have actually had people faint in office and be told to keep working) Long hours

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "PR: "just like advertising, minus the ideas""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Creative Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big, prestigious agency. Biggest in the world.

    Cons

    Trying to turn the tide and get into real advertising and co tent creation. Not being successful. Hired a bunch of big shot ad people and drove them close to suicide.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-08-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn skills (as a junior) but only to move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a designer you're thrown into things so you'll learn the skills needed to progress fast

    Cons

    No big or exciting work anywhere to be seen No backing for the creative team Accounts team usually ran or had final say on creative

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-08-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Great clients , intelligent people

    Cons

    Culture and work life balance

    Edelman2019-08-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Employees come second to the company's bottom line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High-degree of flexibility to work on other areas of the business, and a good roster of 'stick'y global brands and high-profile work.

    Cons

    As a private company, it's clear Edelman protects its private interests (i.e. stakeholder & board profits) first, over employee satisfaction & retention. If the company wants to attract & retain top talent, it needs to start treating its own like top talent. The word 'transparency' is bandied-about in company emails ad nauseum, despite completely conflicting directives, and Edelman London has an inflexible, immovable approach to company policy, which ultimately creates a toxic, and resentful employee base. However, team units often have a healthier culture than the broader practices, and definitely more-so than the company as a whole, despite extremely confusing & backwards approaches to role progression and pay/remuneration. Don't expect Edelman to promote or pay based on a meritocratic system; this is one of the more highly-politicised environments I have ever worked in.

    Edelman2019-08-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "No desire to correct problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steering clear of those playing politics, it's an easy life

    Cons

    We had a department meeting where a head of department spoke about the recent results from an "anonymous" company survey as well as reviews here on Glass Door. Rather than trying to rectify the problem(s) mentioned, they simply said "If you leave the company, please write a nice review". Which is indicative of the culture and management style, they do not care about you or your career, but their own image. Countless people have been very honest in exit interviews over the last year and nothing has changed. By all means join the company if you want to play the game,

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-07-30
Found 1893 reviews