AstraZeneca Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AstraZeneca Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "No work & life balance- work on evenings & weekends is normal(in 106 reviews)

  • "Need more people for the pipeline to be delivered(in 78 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly Ethical, great development opportunities if you perform well, Great Quality culture, Transparent organization

    Cons

    The culture imbibed within management is such that it always takes constructive criticism onboard and actually does something about it. Therefore I don't have any negative points about this company.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2020-01-27

    AstraZeneca Response

    February 24, 2020Social Media Specialist, Employer Brand

    Thank you for the great review and your contribution to AstraZeneca during your time with us!

    Continue reading
  2. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    Good pay and job security

    Cons

    Working with total strangers .Some people are not hygiene literate

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2020-03-17
  3. "Industrial placement student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement Student in Cambridge, England

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic real experience, hands on from day 1, treated like a real employee but still supported

    Cons

    Sometimes overlooked as a member of the team

    AstraZeneca2020-03-22
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place location and good facilities

    Cons

    Very less pay compared to other countries

    AstraZeneca2020-03-27
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Alderley Park, England

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great values and work ethic

    Cons

    The IT systems and speed could be improved

    AstraZeneca2020-03-10
  6. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative vibrant culture. I feel valued as an employee.

    Cons

    Career progression has been challenging.

    AstraZeneca2020-03-04
  7. "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Modern facilities, good benefits, reasonably flexible

    Cons

    None that really stand out

    AstraZeneca2020-03-03
  8. "Great opportunities, very interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very clear strategy, patient orientated, plenty of opportunities to progress into more senior roles. Work is very interesting and varied. AZ sites are very well equipped and great places to work.

    Cons

    Some processes can be quite slow and cumbersome. Company is striving for simplification but lots of hurdles to overcome first.

    AstraZeneca2020-02-29
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Project Manager in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits Common goal Great leaders Invests in it's people

    Cons

    None that I can think of immediately

    AstraZeneca2020-02-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Successful company but falls very short of being a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working is very good in my experience Plenty of opportunities to try new career paths Good for building an entry level career, lots of exposure to novel technology

    Cons

    Too many to mention but here's a short list (in no particular order): Senior leaders have managed to create a fear culture that permeates most of the company. You can see this most in governance interactions, which are more like a Victorian schoolroom rather than an environment where all viewpoints are valued. The AZ values are quite a decent framework of behaviour that all employees should follow. Unfortunately these values seem to be for underlings only, don't expect them to be displayed by senior leaders in the majority of cases. Workload in many functions is quite frankly ridiculous. If you don't work on evenings and weekends you apparently aren't performing your role effectively. I've worked for many companies over two decades and I have to say that the frequency of individuals with massive egos is by far the most I've seen. This makes doing your day job all that more difficult. To be fair there are some great people too (all suffering). ZERO pension contributions from the company (you have to contribute it all yourself). Bonus is calculated on a lower 'base salary' value and not on what you would consider your normal salary. Performance review process is onerous and it can and will be used to unfairly beat you with by certain managers (usually those with the massive egos). Turnover of staff is unmanageable, the 'revolving door' just won't stop. This adds to workload, reduces project knowledge and makes resourcing almost impossible. The lack of process is astonishing. Good if you are a free thinking spirit who likes to make it up as you go along but bad if you need to learn the job and work in a highly regulated environment.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2020-03-05
Found 2527 reviews