AstraZeneca Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AstraZeneca Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1789 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
AstraZeneca CEO Pascal Soriot
Pascal Soriot
809 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had a great work/ life balance which was very rare in my area of work in my country(in 213 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, peaceful environment to work(in 105 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need more people for the pipeline to be delivered(in 72 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be difficult as there is much to do to bring these medicines to market(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (22)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great employee benefits and perks, we have a very nice facility with awesome services, the company spends so much on employees in training and development. Probably the most important to me is Diversity and Inclusion, making AZ a safe place out of discrimination in any sense and you can bring yourself to work everyday.

    Cons

    Work is very fast paced and some seasons it's hard to have a work-life balance. It's normal anywhere I guess...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    AstraZeneca2018-08-06
  2. "Great Pharmaceutical Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Great Pharmaceutical Company to work for!

    Cons

    Not many Cons to write about!

    AstraZeneca2019-05-01
  3. "Small cog in big machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Cambridge, East of England, England

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and kudos for CV

    Cons

    For newcomers it will be tough. Some of the bosses are very patriarchal having spent all their lives there

    AstraZeneca2019-05-17
  4. "Its all about your Network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Companies strategy to make a difference to 200 million peoples lives, feels like you are making a difference

    Cons

    Like many large companies you have to build a strong network to get things done, and its overly complex. Despite a Great Place to Work being a priority for several years, still see bullying behaviours, poor managers, preference for external hires, and a fear of speaking out.

    Advice to Management

    Root out the poor leaders and fire them.

    AstraZeneca2019-05-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

      Pros

      Good development Salary Opportunities Ethics Values

      Cons

      Business location is not ideal

      AstraZeneca2019-04-08
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

        Pros

        Work with nice people in the team who help each other with projects. Good opportunities for progression.

        Cons

        No cons to working here so far

        AstraZeneca2019-04-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "AstraZeneca process development"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

        Pros

        many opportunities to develop development opportunities through experience and courses vibrant people good line management good work life balance motivating company direction

        Cons

        location is not the best. could be closer to a large city and better connections to motorways. viability of senior leaders could be better. car parking can be an issue. there is no pool in the on site gym

        Advice to Management

        I really enjoy working for AstraZeneca. I have had many opportunities to develop, both through on the job experience and attending external courses. the line management team in my department is good and I feel well supported.

        AstraZeneca2019-04-08
      • "Needs to do some catching up to become current"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Head of Project Management in London, England
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good salary and benefits package

        Cons

        Feels like an old company which is overly cumbersome compared to other nimbler organisations

        Advice to Management

        Clear out the deadwood and old thinking

        AstraZeneca2019-04-04
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

        Pros

        Amazing people, flex working and great opportunities. Love this company

        Cons

        Work life balance is tough to

        AstraZeneca2019-03-12
      • "Scientist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at AstraZeneca full-time

        Pros

        travel discount; job security; big company

        Cons

        small politics dominate. Science doesn't speak. company values are just talks. people are still in different offices after years. Too many inexperienced people in high-level roles but lots of talented and hardworking people are in low positions. To "reward" employees who haven't left the company early enough, they cut the company's pension contribution meanwhile telling people "return to growth ".

        AstraZeneca2019-03-26
      Found 1789 reviews