Capco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Reviews

Updated 21 May 2018
816 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
249 Ratings

816 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good policies for working women and flexibility to manage work life balance (in 40 reviews)

  • Great people with an approachable leadership team (in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • Never saw the work/life balance they claim to promote (in 33 reviews)

  • The promotions often go to those who rub shoulders with senior management (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Amazing firm in growth mode!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Charlotte, NC (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Charlotte, NC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Recently taken private again
    - Flush with opportunity to impact the direction of the firm at every level
    - New offices, new clients coming online
    - Culture that's true to their word when they say "Pitch a good idea and we'll let you run with it"; this is especially true in newer offices like Charlotte and DC
    - Simple yet fair comp structure; doesn't try to pay people less through smoke and mirrors complex bonus programs like at a lot of firms
    - Plenty of opportunity for people who want to step up to the plate and leave their mark on the firm
    - Quick promotion for those who are ready; no arbitrary forced time in current levels
    - Best benefits I've seen in the last decade, especially for families
    - A culture of work hard, but with a sincere concern and understanding that you have a life outside of consulting. They have unlimited sick days on top of paid time off but because of the culture I've not seen nor heard of anyone abusing this policy and it's a great one to have when you need it!
    - I could keep going, but you get the idea, this is a great firm with a lot of potential as a company and for anyone who works here.

    Cons

    - After splitting from FIS and going private, the operations are VERY lean. Not a terrible con as all of these are being worked on, but it does take time. Having to stand up new IT functions, update corporate policies, finance operations, etc. doesn't happen at the flip of a switch. Anyone who understands this will not be bothered by this

    Advice to Management

    Capco has a very bright future, keep up the good work with the opportunities afforded to it after going private. Focus on growth but don't lose sight of the amazing culture that is the core of this firm, as many other firms have lost sight of this and are quickly failing.

    Capco Response

    3 Apr 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your great review and we are delighted to hear that you are enjoying your first few months at Capco!

    Your review really sums up many of the great things about our firm and we are... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive inclusive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great energy, collaborative, excellent culture

    Cons

    Contribution to "community" expected over an above full day at the client

    Capco Response

    19 Apr 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your review.

    We're delighted to hear that you enjoy working at Capco and our unique culture. Many employees choose to get involved in Community activities at Capco to build their... More

  3. "Worked as a developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer
    Former Employee - Developer
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Well defined routes to progress, pays well

    Cons

    Most people are financial consultants, so a bit of a culture misfit for techys

    Capco Response

    14 May 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your review and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Capco. There are indeed lots of opportunities to develop and progress in the firm and our employees are rewarded very... More


  4. "Great Equal Opportunity employer with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Very flat structure with access to senior management, control over your own career and good support network

    Cons

    None so far, but only been at company less than a year

    Advice to Management

    Continue to shape Capco in a way that makes us adaptable to our clients needs, whilst maintaining the culture of success through the individuals it hires and grow

    Capco Response

    10 May 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your review and we're delighted to hear that you enjoy working at Capco!

    One of the many things which employees tell us they appreciate at Capco is the autonomy and empowerment to... More


  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Corporate Culture fantastic
    Family feel
    Invest in your development

    Cons

    Have seen people end in roles that don't suit them; occasionally peg in a hole is priority

    Capco Response

    8 May 2018 – HR

    Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoy working at Capco and appreciate the many benefits. The firm works hard to ensure that employees are placed in roles which align to their... More


  6. "You get back what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Capco UK has grown massively over the last 5 years. During this time the CEO has changed, but there is a core group of Partners who have been part of maintaining consistency and culture in the organisation. This has a positive impact as ‘from the top’ there are role models who have flexed and adapted to what the organisation needs.
    If you are prepared to work hard then you will get the recognition for it. This may involve periods of working long hours or doing a lot of ‘extra curricular’ work such as interviewing, coaching, business development and practice development - but this is valued and is how the UK business has managed to grow so massively.
    Despite what some other reviews say, there is a focus on giving consultants the choice on which project they get assigned to - however Capco is also a business, so there may be times where it feels like you are assigned without any consultation - here I would say it’s up to the consultant to understand where they are being proposed and speak up early on what they are looking for rather than sit on the bench with diva demands.

    Cons

    For some people there is a lack of transparency on how their work (on client side or extra curricular) fully contributes to promotion / compensation - I think that part of this is also due to quality of some coaches who aren’t giving enough support to their proteges and preparing them realistically for life as a Capco consultant, and part of it is down to comms around the performance management framework differing with perception of end of year outcomes.
    There is still a feeling that some accounts are better/worse than others. It would be useful if delivery leads with senior coaches could come together to dispel some of these myths and support focussing on the role and potential for career growth, not just the account assignment.
    At some of the junior levels there is a feeling of entitlement with the new entry level consultants. Keep them grounded by managing them firmly from the outset and not allowing them to feel too ‘special’ when they join. There’s no harm in learning the hard way sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    - focus on reducing attrition. There are some great people in the organisation who would be a loss if they left - at all levels. The people in the organisation are your only asset
    - continue to keep a flat hierarchy. Partners are not gods
    - revenue generation is important as Capco is a business, but we could do more to save the environment. Invest in this too

    Capco Response

    24 Apr 2018 – HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments give us real insight into how we can improve the experience for our people.

    Your comments on project assignment are very... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hiring a lot of Ex-Capgemini into their ranks makes for a poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They pay my salary on time.
    They pay higher than average salary
    Their office is in Great Eastern Street, Shoreditch

    Cons

    The GROW program (moving abroad) has been scrapped last year yet they’ll still tell you that it exists.
    Over 70% of their clients are HSBC which is a body shop project.
    Lots of new staff are from Capgemini where the culture was clearly more cut throat and not focused on using consultants to the best of their skill set.
    Obsessive culture of trying to sell everything from massive change projects to just having someone sat there for the sake of it.
    #beyourselfatwork is clearly a marketing exercise as it’s not actually respected

    Advice to Management

    Become far more conscious of the type of senior management you’re hiring and ensure you educate them in Capco culture. People join Capco based on their culture and startup mentality, and you’re losing it.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Bit of a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    - Some good people do work for the company
    - Free drinks and fruits
    - A lot of events to get to know people and have the chance to celebrate just about
    anything

    Cons

    - Very clicky, backstabbing and overall poor management is a common issue throughout the company
    - Management will accept meeting invites and not bother to attend or apologies for missing the invite they accepted in the first place (I mean human courtesy should be a job requirement for this company)
    - There is not much focus and expertise in any area, in fact most of the existing projects are mundane and sold to the resources as something it is not
    - Promotion depends on your ability to kiss up/rub shoulders with senior management and less on your work

    Capco Response

    4 May 2018 – HR

    Respect is one of our core values at Capco, and one of our core differentiators according to our staff is the level of empowerment and autonomy enjoyed by our people. Against this backdrop Capco... More


  9. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -People - everyone is motivated and wants to deliver
    -Positive culture
    -Flat structure - all views are listened to
    -Open to new ideas and enables you to follow them through
    -Promotions based on results as opposed to ‘perception’!

    Cons

    -Can’t think of any - it’s all relative to where you have come from!

    Advice to Management

    -Continue to promote from within
    -Maintain start up feel / positive culture even with company growth

    Capco Response

    20 Mar 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your first year at the firm!

    Your comments really sum up many of the great things about Capco including the culture... More


  10. "Great company & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast growing, great culture, interesting opportunities, meritocracy

    Cons

    You work for the client, sometimes losing sight of Capco and its culture.

    Advice to Management

    Organise more events to keep people engaged with Capco. Make sure senior management on projects give people the flexibility to do trainings, work on Capco related projects (that may require some time at the office), etc. as opposed to being stuck at client site 8 hours a day 5 days a week.

    Capco Response

    6 Mar 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your review, and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your 3+ years at Capco. We fully agree that we have a great culture with lots of great opportunities for our employees... More


Showing 816 of 843 reviews
Reset Filters