J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,855 of over 2,913 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
1,058 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay Good people Good atmosphere(in 162 reviews)

  • "The quarterly bonuses are the best depending on how your Pub performs(in 140 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Expect to work long hours in busier periods and occassions(in 257 reviews)

  • "Hard work when working in a busy pub(in 229 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company if you work for the right pub

      Aug 19, 2021 - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, great promotion opportunities

      Cons

      No overtime for bank holidays

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place of work

      Oct 13, 2021 - Bar Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent hours and flexibility. 50% off on shift, 20% off shift Free food if working a shift 6+ hours or more.

      Cons

      I don't personally have anything bad about the company itself. If its a small pub in a not so popular area you might be standing around for hours doing nothing. but its pub dependant.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Oct 13, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, good people

      Cons

      None, it’s a decent place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard Evening/Night Shifts

      Oct 13, 2021 - Kitchen Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy for part-timers to choose working days and hours depending on shift managers

      Cons

      Night shifts which include closing are very difficult and can tire you out very quickly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Oct 12, 2021 - Shift Leader in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sociable job working with friends

      Cons

      Hard work / competitive / busy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good for teenager

      Oct 11, 2021 - Kitchen Porter in Dumfries, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked here when I turned 16 and got paid more than any other place in my town would at my age They were very helpful and kind, and gave me training throughout and were understanding of this being my first job

      Cons

      Can be hard work working in the kitchen especially when it's busy, have to be up for physically demanding times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Ok Uni Job

      Oct 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working days/hours Good rate of pay

      Cons

      Work atmosphere depends on the team members you work with. Has a high staff turnover

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The company will look after you well

      Oct 8, 2021 - Team Leader in Stevenage, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, free food while working, lots of opportunities for progression within the company, CEO (John Hutson) is very likeable and proactive,

      Cons

      Pub managers can make or break your experience, a lot of weekend work, can be very late finishing on closes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to work

      Oct 7, 2021 - Shift Manager in St Ives, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have worked at my current job for 5 years now and look forward to what the future holds. In that time I've been lucky enough to have 2 beautiful children but have been able to continue where I left off from and continue building on my shills and knowledge to become higher up in my team

      Cons

      Hard work but if you love doing well then this shouldn't matter.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to start a career

      Oct 6, 2021 - Shift Leader in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was barely speaking English when I started and they gave me the opportunity to work and grow in the company.

      Cons

      Sometimes rude customers.. but many lovely locals

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,855 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J D Wetherspoon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at J D Wetherspoon? Share Your Experiences

    J D Wetherspoon logo
    or