J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 18 August 2017
587 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
257 Ratings

587 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good discount on food: when on shift you get 50% discount, when off shift you get 33% discount (in 38 reviews)

  • Lots of employee benefits including 50% off food during your shift (making a meal and a drink very often under (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours on your feet are expected (in 75 reviews)

  • There we're times when the rota had changed and I hadn't be notified of the update which made the work-life balance difficult at times (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (11)

    "Good career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fast progression, good prospects, lots of support from above. Nice to have something to aim for and isn't "just pub work". With 900+ pubs it's not like I'm going to be wondering how long my job is going to last.

    Cons

    Late finishes, early mornings. Should be standard for the trade, but sometimes it can get to you. Sometimes that 11 hours between shifts law seems very, very flexible.

    Work/life balance is, as expected, truly awful. Even for management.

    Advice to Management

    There's a certain element of not knowing what happens in the rest of the country outside of London. Head Office aren't really in touch with what goes on outside of the M25 so some decisions from above can seem a little backwards. I appreciate that there's a company line to toe and consistency throughout is nice, but maybe things need to be a bit more bespoke.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    31 Jan 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are... More


  2. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Otley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Otley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great CPD and training with pay progression, performance statistics

    Cons

    0 hours contract - not short of hours in my location though

    Advice to Management

    More standardisation

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  3. "Friendly but Tiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Stockton, East of England, England
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Stockton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    lovely staff and customers, 25% off meals on brake, they where very flexible with my shifts, and had a high pay for my age at the time.

    Cons

    very very busy and fast paced, didn't get to try new opportunities or different rolls which i was promised, wouldn't give me time off to grieve a family member, as I was the youngest in the Kitchen I was always put on pots and very really got to cook.

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to staff and longer brakes, 20 minuets isnt enough if you've been on your feed running about for 8 hours none stop.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Good Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Busy environment, working with customers

    Cons

    Can be stressful, rota given a week in advance

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  6. "Enjoyable, only left because I had a baby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cross Trained Associate in Wigan, England
    Former Employee - Cross Trained Associate in Wigan, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good teams, plenty hours, pay can be decent once trained, bonus' and discounts. Cross training available and extensive training given

    Cons

    Long shifts, mandatory online courses, have to buy own bar uniform. Often short staffed so likely to be called in on a day off

    Advice to Management

    Progress people who deserve it

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your positive feedback , your comments will be discussed at our weekly meetings.


  7. "hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Leeds, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    always busy and good training

    Cons

    stressful at times . Very young workforce


  8. "Hard Work but Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Kitchen Associates over 25 now receive £8.50 hour from day one and zero hours contracts have been replaced with guaranteed minimum hours. Plus all employees now get 20% discount on drinks for themselves and 3 friends.

    Cons

    Early Mornings and Late Nights i.e. 1-30 to 2.30am finishes

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  9. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great staff and they can be flexible with your availability

    Cons

    Lots of unauthorised absences leaving other members of staff to pick the slack up

    Advice to Management

    Always appreciate staff

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your positive feedback, i would encourage you to give any feedback to your manager if you feel things can be improved at a local level.


  10. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Easy Job
    -Socially Rewarding
    -Employee Benefits
    -Flexible
    -Friendly Staff
    -Friendly Customers

    Cons

    -Poor Management
    - Weekend Work

    Advice to Management

    Have more drive, and show more pride in the way you run the company!

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review your points will be discussed in our weekly meetings. i would encourage you to give any feedback directly to your manager if you feel there is... More


  11. "Fun, friendly but hard work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Bartender in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Usually fun atmosphere, easy to advance, lots of skills to be learned, easy doable alongside university or college. Can transfer all over the country.

    Cons

    A lot of jobs that you'd think you'd be paid extra for. Can receive abuse from customers but this can be found in all hospitality.

    Advice to Management

    Staff are often made to clean up after customers for no extra incentive. Can be a deterent to staff.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your positive feedback


Showing 587 of 596 reviews
Reset Filters