J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
557 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 109 reviews)

  • "It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week(in 86 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub(in 166 reviews)

  • "Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates(in 166 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company to work for IF you work at a good pub."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For those that work hard there are serious progression opportunities. Excellent for training and plenty of opportunity to learn valuable life skills. The people you get to work with and meet make the job x10 easier.

    Cons

    Is a very high-pressure job which some people may find too much. Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback about working for the company.

  2. "Benefits; progression; and a load of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Middlesbrough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus, free food, progression, sociable

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, hard work, not a lot of cons

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  3. "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40 hour week Food on shift Bonuses Free shares after 18 months

    Cons

    Understaffed. Poor management from above. Poor controls on costs and hours for week

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on staff training and not throwing them in the deep end. Give more training hours. Ie first shift is an 8 hour shift doubled up with experienced staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-18
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment Good team work

    Cons

    No major cons Bad colleagues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  5. "Whether to Wetherspoons?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time - while at university I was able to transfer between a pub at home and a pub in Exeter. The pay is good and they were able to give me shifts based on the days/times I gave them. My team in Cheltenham has been so friendly and social, I feel integral to the pub. There is plenty of opportunity to work your way up too if you wanted to make a career of it.

    Cons

    Too large a pub with multiple managers and lots of associates means you never really feel part of a team and simply feel like a number (Imperial in Exeter) - witnessed high staff turn over in this environment. A pub with only 1/2 managers is so much better as you feel integral to the team and will work with everyone at some point and get to know them properly. Hours can be unsociable if you work closed and weekends... but you can opt not to.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  6. "Good Part Time Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Southampton, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work perks Option for fast progression

    Cons

    Increasing responsibility without equivalent pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses. Friendly staff, understanding management

    Cons

    Hard work, very busy and very repetitive

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-11
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week. You can apply for shares with the company after you’ve been with them for 18 months (free money) you can apply for a flexible rota after you have been with the company 26 weeks and they will try there best to help. Free meals and soft drink on your breaks. 50% discount when you work for your meals and soft drinks and 20% on meals and alcohol when your off. ... Great opportunity to process in the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons for me.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekend nights are a lot of fun to work. Great coworkers. Head office generally listens to you; they revised the tipping policy because of employees being unhappy about it. Nice regulars. Very decent pay for my age group. There's always a good atmosphere in the pubs; lively and enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    Can get pretty rowdy and there's often drama. I had to quit as the managers just would not let me book days off. They always "forgot" despite me taking the proper procedures. Working floor can actually be pretty stressful.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-05
  10. "Hard work, many jobs across UK and Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Sale, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Standard menu, systematic processes and training. Plenty of work. Diverse teams with good social interaction.

    Cons

    Minimal staffing levels pegged to prospective sales. One in, one out staffing means working intensely with 3 or 4 colleagues each shift so how well it goes depends if you get on with them or not. Do all tasks, from pot wash to temps and quality assurance. Strict food delivery targets. Limited promotion prospects. High churn of newbies who get early starts and late closes. Deep clean every night.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-17
Found 1361 reviews