J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 13 December 2017
684 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
291 Ratings

684 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good discount on food: when on shift you get 50% discount, when off shift you get 33% discount (in 33 reviews)

  • Lots of employee benefits including 50% off food during your shift (making a meal and a drink very often under (in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours on your feet are expected (in 84 reviews)

  • There we're times when the rota had changed and I hadn't be notified of the update which made the work-life balance difficult at times (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (13)

    "Good career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fast progression, good prospects, lots of support from above. Nice to have something to aim for and isn't "just pub work". With 900+ pubs it's not like I'm going to be wondering how long my job is going to last.

    Cons

    Late finishes, early mornings. Should be standard for the trade, but sometimes it can get to you. Sometimes that 11 hours between shifts law seems very, very flexible.

    Work/life balance is, as expected, truly awful. Even for management.

    Advice to Management

    There's a certain element of not knowing what happens in the rest of the country outside of London. Head Office aren't really in touch with what goes on outside of the M25 so some decisions from above can seem a little backwards. I appreciate that there's a company line to toe and consistency throughout is nice, but maybe things need to be a bit more bespoke.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    31 Jan 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are... More


  2. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Great work collegues
    Promotion great
    Great Wage packet if you work the hours

    Cons

    Long/Late shifts
    Uniform unpractical
    not great discounts

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    12 Dec 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  3. "Great, First Bar Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    50% off food on shift
    Convenient shifts
    People I worked with

    Cons

    Breaks were too short compared to how long your shift was

    High staff turnover

    A lot of mystery shoppers

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    12 Dec 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Good and bad in some aspects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good start up job and are willing to accept under 18s and those with not much catering experience. Decent pay above minimum wage.

    Cons

    Not a job that is life-long suitable unless wanting to work up the business. Working unsociable hours with shift work can become exhausting.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    12 Dec 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  6. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and constant training

    Cons

    Profit oriented so often understaffed

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    12 Dec 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  7. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Everyone I worked with was very like minded, bar the management.
    It was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    It would seem once you get to management level, attitudes change and suddenly you're "above" everyone else.

    Would often do a late finish / early start the next day.


  8. "good long hours very flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    good long hours very flexible

    Cons

    tiring no sitting sometimes boring

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    12 Dec 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback


  9. "Extremely decent jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Current Employee - Bartender in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay
    Paid breaks
    Lovely place to work
    50% of food
    20% of good when not at work
    20% of drink not at work too

    Cons

    Pay increase was delayed heavily
    Hardly any tips compared to other pubs
    Customers are really gross
    No time and half or double time etc

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    28 Nov 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  10. "Kitchen manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Colwyn Bay, Wales
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Colwyn Bay, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very good benefits, 5% of your salary on shares, several bonus schemes, very good pension prospects, overall really good perks

    Cons

    Difficult to climb any higher, looking into rcm is really difficult as there are very few positions available and very difficult to find info on them

    Advice to Management

    For all of you wanting to climb up the managerial ladder this company offers a good set of incentives for both bar and kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    28 Nov 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  11. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and can be good sociably. Bonus isn't too bad.

    Cons

    Can't always get hours and most are unsociable.

    Advice to Management

    Think more on the long term approach to employees.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    28 Nov 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


Showing 684 of 693 reviews
Reset Filters