J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 20 February 2017
470 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
203 Ratings

470 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great Discount on Food when on and off shift and extends further to the chains hotel bookings (in 20 reviews)

  • Lots of employee benefits including 50% off food during your shift (making a meal and a drink very often under (in 19 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Good career prospects"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fast progression, good prospects, lots of support from above. Nice to have something to aim for and isn't "just pub work". With 900+ pubs it's not like I'm going to be wondering how long my job is going to last.

    Cons

    Late finishes, early mornings. Should be standard for the trade, but sometimes it can get to you. Sometimes that 11 hours between shifts law seems very, very flexible.

    Work/life balance is, as expected, truly awful. Even for management.

    Advice to Management

    There's a certain element of not knowing what happens in the rest of the country outside of London. Head Office aren't really in touch with what goes on outside of the M25 so some decisions from above can seem a little backwards. I appreciate that there's a company line to toe and consistency throughout is nice, but maybe things need to be a bit more bespoke.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    31 Jan 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are ... More


  2. "Disorganized management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Associate in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Former Employee - Floor Associate in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good training scheme, 50% off food while on shift, very nice and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Disorganised management, awful at sharing information with all staff

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to hiring the right people for the first time, make sure information and updates are shared with all staff

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    21 Feb 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.


  3. "2 Years In"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Northampton, England
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon (More than a year)

    Pros

    fun environment, friendly staff, constant work, decent pay, discounts on food. Builds confidence and self respect. tips occasionally, constant meeting new and different people from all walks of life

    Cons

    late, sometimes unsociable hours, managers can take the mick or victimise if they don't like you for whatever reason but easily sorted if you go to pub manager who takes grievance seriously.

    Advice to Management

    Take responsibility, speak to staff about issues, less moaning


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "better than most"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager
    Current Employee - Shift Manager
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    extensive training scheme; plenty of room for progression

    Cons

    micro management from upper level management; little to no social life

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    21 Feb 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are ... More


  6. "Good first company for bar work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar & Floor Associate in Preston, North West England, England
    Former Employee - Bar & Floor Associate in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to get into, work is managed so you always have something to do, good team spirit and social life, good pay

    Cons

    Most staff only on for a few hours a week, opportunities for getting more hours are rare unless you have been there for a while

    Advice to Management

    Keep up to good work, but be more honest about what hours you are signing people on .

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    21 Feb 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  7. "Great place!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The team I work with are brilliant, the 33% off shift and 50% on shift discounts are so handy, I love the job itself, get to talk to loads of new customers and existing ones that come in all of the time! I'm a student so it really fits in well with university & it's easy to sort out and swap shifts if need be. Best job Iv had yet!

    Cons

    Sometimes hours are long, breaks can feel like they pass over quickly 8 hour shift you only get 30 minute break. Sometimes you deal with rude customers but that's common everywhere, weekends can get very busy especially round Christmas time it's always busy and you can feel rushed off your feet!

    Advice to Management

    Longer breaks

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    21 Feb 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  8. "could be worse"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    half price food, good bonuses

    Cons

    long shifts, late finishes, less than 11 hours between shifts

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    21 Feb 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback


  9. "Kitchen Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    50% of food on shift, paid on a weekly basis

    Cons

    Little training given, awkward working hours,


  10. "Shift Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wales in Cardiff, Wales
    Former Employee - Wales in Cardiff, Wales

    Pros

    Good Training scheme, opportunity for development and progression available, ability to move around country, broad approach to hospitality Industry

    Cons

    Not ideal for family life, expectation for unpaid overtime when in salaried positions high, hours targets very strict, not always suitable for every site. At the time salary not really high enough.

    Advice to Management

    Be more adaptive for each location, less focussed purely on bottom line to avoid wasting g human resources through emotional burnout.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    21 Feb 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.


  11. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work for the team are excellent and with the staff discount 50% food is good for me also the bonus scheme for doing the job you should do is even better who doesn't want that extra bit
    Great atmosphere and good customers

    Cons

    Tbh not many cons but just a few little minor things but just could do with a bit more movement with progression with the company

    Advice to Management

    More Incentives for staff to feel they can progress

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    31 Jan 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are ... More



Showing 470 of 477 reviews
Reset Filters