J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
654 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 118 reviews)

  • "Good pay for people just starting(in 109 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and unsociable hours(in 193 reviews)

  • "Pub dependent on how well managed everything is(in 191 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Excellent company to work for IF you work at a good pub."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For those that work hard there are serious progression opportunities. Excellent for training and plenty of opportunity to learn valuable life skills. The people you get to work with and meet make the job x10 easier.

    Cons

    Is a very high-pressure job which some people may find too much. Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback about working for the company.

    Continue reading
  2. "Excellent company for teens and associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great online training Lots of benefits such as free meals, paid breaks, and holiday days Opportunity to rise through the ranks

    Cons

    Heavy workload depending on location

    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-14
  3. "Brilliant staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Coalville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Flexible hours Overtime

    Cons

    Can be stressful and can put you under pressure

    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-01
  4. "Good for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay, discounted food, shifts are fairly flexible

    Cons

    Not allowed to keep tips Up and down hours

    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-01
  5. "No issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly paid. Shifts 2-4 weeks in advance. Regularly shifts.

    Cons

    Sometimes shift changes without your knowledge.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-28
  6. "Job at spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meet lots of people Good training courses

    Cons

    Late nights and early mornings

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-23
  7. "Great for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Team Leader in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to balance part-time work with my uni degree Develop management skills, and perform a wide variety of tasks Fun job, so long as you like customers Wetherspoon managers are trained to be lovely and supportive people You'll make great friends with coworkers

    Cons

    Can be stressful/intense in busy periods Pay increase to team leader isn't enough for the extra workload Smaller pubs can often be understaffed I don't think I'd enjoy the job nearly as much if I worked full-time Tim Martin

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-24
  8. "Not bad for a part time student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair management and decent employee benefits

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and travelling home after finishing work in the early hours

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-21
  9. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, competitive salary, great training scheme

    Cons

    Unsociable hours of work, hard shifts

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-18
  10. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay Flexible hours Easy job Good co-workers Nice customers

    Cons

    4am starts Late nights Have to pay for uniform HR are scary Management think they're above everyone

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-18
Found 1590 reviews