J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
609 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 114 reviews)

  • "Good pay for people just starting(in 99 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub(in 183 reviews)

  • "hard to get a promotion if you work in a small/medium pub(in 181 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Excellent company to work for IF you work at a good pub."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For those that work hard there are serious progression opportunities. Excellent for training and plenty of opportunity to learn valuable life skills. The people you get to work with and meet make the job x10 easier.

    Cons

    Is a very high-pressure job which some people may find too much. Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31
  2. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really supportive company. Pays well. Great work to life balance.

    Cons

    Some late night/early morning finishes and often difficult customers.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-24
  3. "Good employer, but a lot of bother to deal with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and bonus when goals are met.

    Cons

    Have to deal with a lot of verbally and sometimes physically aggressive customers.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-26
  4. "It's okay. Could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wetherspoons' gives every employee detailed up to date online training monthly which has to be completed in order to achieve a collective team bonus at the end of the month. However, your pub as a whole has to achieve excellent secret shopper experiences and overall great monthly achievements such as sales and HR targets. All staff receive 22% off purchases out with work. While working, staff receive 1 free meal and 1 non-alcoholic beverage from a select menu (options are limited and boring). If they wish to pay for a meal, not in the select menu they receive a 50% discount. Managers can be flexible and ask what days work better for you when discussing your availability. Whether it is full time or part-time. As you spend the majority of your shift attending to customers and providing the service of drink, you often get tipped. More so on a busy Friday and Saturday night. As of recently, tips are no longer divided amongst the staff, everyone can keep their own tips.

    Show More

    Cons

    Wetherspoons due to its reasonable pricing has become an extremely busy pub. However, I believe it is always understaffed, meaning customers are waiting well over 10, sometimes 20 minutes at the bar and sometimes even longer on iorders. This is NO FAULT of the general staff, but the managers who control the rotas, who don't want to give staff their contracted hours. Especially in the 'quieter' months of January, February, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More benefits! More pay!

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-26
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Ferndown, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management team are a friendly , encouraging , fast pace team that are always pushing their staff to the best of their abilities because they want what is best with us. I’d say the Rotas are quite flexible and they try their best to fit the rotas to our best interest. You get payed weekly.

    Cons

    Can be short staffed so can be stressful . Hours can be unsociable.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-24
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great with people and pay

    Cons

    Late hours and tight hours

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-23
  7. "Very good pub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not really alot of cons

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-24
  8. "It’s great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well nice people good hours

    Cons

    A b c d e

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-16
  9. "My Life-long Career as far as I'm concerened"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Newton Abbot, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities for all. A company with integrity and admirable core values

    Cons

    Getting drawn into certain political generalisations.....which seem to be decreasing

    Advice to Management

    I am management, keep up the good work! I think the most important thing is consistency, I have had varying enjoyment with the company completely dependant on line manager, we need to make every site a great place to work.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-17
  10. "Great job for learning skills with other people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wetherspoons in Newquay, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, good fun, rewarding and achievable progress into management, should you want to go for it.

    Cons

    Understaffing is a huge problem, cutting down on staff costs cause low pub standards at times, other than that I can’t complain about anything else!

    Advice to Management

    No advice I can think of, the management at my pub is brilliant.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-17
Found 1504 reviews