Sage Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,653 of over 3K reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Sage CEO Steve Hare
Steve Hare
1,000 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people - Flexibility - Sage Foundation "giving back" - Good benefits package - Fantastic products(in 143 reviews)

  • "great people and company benefits(in 127 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Stability required in upper management levels required to fulfill strategic move to cloud(in 68 reviews)

  • "Innovation senior management and progression(in 46 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Best Employer I've ever worked for

      22 Jan 2021 - QA Manager in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career Opportunities & D&I - Focused on doing the right thing and ensuring everyone is regularly offered and takes advantage of mandatory trained on critical topics such as Security, Quality, Diversity and Inclusion. Provide access to multiple online and webinar trainings to develop their People. Technology - a huge variety of tech' and a driving movement towards Cloud offering yet more opportunities from Salesforce, .Net, C#, Java, JS, Angular, REST, API's, Selenium etc. Comp' & Benefits - tangible bonus system that you have control over a proportion of making personal responsibility a key attribute of their employees. This sparks people on to giving their best. I could go on for days. Culture and Values - Satisfaction surveys where actions is promptly taken. Sensible Senior Management - Switched on, smart, capable and care about their people (not resources). Fully recognise the value we all bring and are appreciative at every opportunity. Covid - absolutely outstanding in caring for staff health and wellbeing, avoided Furlough, protected jobs, considerate of everyone's situation and been fantastic with comm's, updates, flexibility and resources such as free Mindfulness app. Work/Life Balance - Incredibly supportive of this with flexible hours, open conversations on concerns in this area and help always available from managers to juggle the Covid new world we live in. Additionally (unprompted) offered 3 additional wellbeing days off on top of annual leave to spend on caring for ourselves so we bring our best selves to work every day. I've worked for many employers from start-ups to blue chip and rarely do I wax lyrical about how good an employer is, as I have high standards. Sage has regularly exceeded these in my 4 years here.

      Cons

      None that I can think of. Big company making big changes but somehow manage to have that small startup touch.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      14 Jun 2021 - Team Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The greatest company I have ever worked for! Amazing staff who make you feel a part of a team and been amazing for support during the pandemic

      Cons

      Nothing to say, great compant

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture and a positive place to work

      21 May 2021 - Customer Success Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is fantastic. The Culture at Sage is like nothing i have experienced before, for such a big company, it feels very personal. The regular communication from both managers and colleagues is brilliant. You never feel alone and thanks to teams, it is easy to reach out to anybody! Sage give their employees so many benefits - too many to list, but they are a great incentive and reward. Wellbeing - The Sage culture really promotes mental and physical wellbeing. Mental health is a big topic on a day to day basis. They really do look after you. Holiday entitlement - This is a great incentive to work for sage, you get all of your holiday days + bank holidays + 5x Sage foundation days and in 2021 3 x wellbeing days. It really is unheard of.

      Cons

      I can't think of anything that i would consider a con at this point in time. Even starting Sage remotely has been a joy. There has been so much support. The colbalt office will prove a difficult commute though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Response

      Global Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great to hear your positive perspective on our culture and work environment, because we are on a journey to ensure we continue to build our culture together. We truly care about our colleagues and glad your experience has been a testimony to that. We encourage you to keep sharing your feedback and letting us know what we are doing well and where we can do things better as we continue to experiment, iterate, and innovate.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent experience with recruitment team and interviews

      8 Jun 2021 - Lead Business Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The recruitment team is very supportive and helpful throughout the entire process. They take time to listen to every query and are absolutely prompt in responding . Even the interview process had been a pleasant experience.

      Cons

      None I can mention from my experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lies about offering remote working

      8 Jun 2021 - Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong job security for most roles (occasionally positions do become redundant but not very often) Immediate team/colleagues are always friendly and helpful.

      Cons

      Remote working took off the table by middle management despite upper management saying there would be 'flexibility' "Older" management do not value employee wishes to work from home full time, they say they do at the company level but then the teams decide. Legacy software is terrible to work with and no end in sight for teams responsible for maintaining it, would much rather be working on the 'cool' new stuff.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sage Response

      Global TA Director

      Thank you for your review; we appreciate your feedback. Since 2020 our colleagues have shown that they are adaptable, resilient, and have continued to thrive while working away from the office. However, we know that our colleagues have missed being able to come together as a team. Having listened to colleagues' feedback, we enter our next chapter of work with a framework for how, where, and when we work, which we have termed Flexible Human Work. Flexible Human Work is driven by team agreements that will evolve as we experiment, learn and adapt our ways of working together. Our vision is to unlock all forms of flexibility (mode, location, and time). Under the Flexible Human Work approach, most colleagues will be classified as Flex workers (meaning their role can be fulfilled between a Sage hub and home office with between 1-5 days spent at a Sage hub as agreed with their line manager). Team agreements will be set at the Executive Team level, and will be based on a deep understanding of the team's work, the collaboration needs, and colleagues' preferences while also considering inclusion and fairness. If you have specific concerns, please flag these to your manager or visit the Flexible Human Work hub where additional resources and contacts can be found.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good people and passionate business

      8 Jun 2021 - Risk and Assurance Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture of colleague and customer focus. Willingness and desire to be a brilliant place to work. Senior Management who make balanced decisions.

      Cons

      There is some inefficiency and systems/processes still need to be improved. While there are people who have been here for a long time there is some feeling that experience in the business is lacking to execute the strategy to its full.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      On the up

      16 Jun 2021 - Brand Marketing in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Business priorities are clear and tangible commitment to making colleagues professional lives rewarding and to creating an innovation culture.

      Cons

      It's still a big business and its built up a lot of control mechanisms and mindset over the years which are barriers to change and innovation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      10 Jun 2021 - Director in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, People, going in the right direction

      Cons

      Complexity, can be political, alignment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Joiner at Sage

      26 May 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sage provides lot of benefits to the employees and great support from the start. The onboarding process was very well streamlined. The HR team were really supportive in resolving all the queries as quick as possible. I am really proud to join the Sage family.

      Cons

      I am yet to feel the work environment at Sage but so far I had a great support whenever needed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,653 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Sage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sage? Share Your Experiences

    Sage logo
    or