Sage Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,811 of over 3,415 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Sage CEO Steve Hare
Steve Hare
1,108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people - Flexibility - Sage Foundation "giving back" - Good benefits package - Fantastic products(in 143 reviews)

  • "great people and company benefits(in 127 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Stability required in upper management levels required to fulfill strategic move to cloud(in 68 reviews)

  • "Innovation senior management and progression(in 46 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Sage

    Join the conversation on

    Black Consultants

    10d

    a 

    Senior Product Manager

    Why is sage Steele like this? These comments weren’t even necessary. https://www.washingtonpost.com/nation/2021/10/05/sage-steele-president-obama-race-black/

    29

    20 Comments

    Tech

    33.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Sage~1150
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Best Employer I've ever worked for

      Jan 22, 2021 - QA Manager in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career Opportunities & D&I - Focused on doing the right thing and ensuring everyone is regularly offered and takes advantage of mandatory trained on critical topics such as Security, Quality, Diversity and Inclusion. Provide access to multiple online and webinar trainings to develop their People. Technology - a huge variety of tech' and a driving movement towards Cloud offering yet more opportunities from Salesforce, .Net, C#, Java, JS, Angular, REST, API's, Selenium etc. Comp' & Benefits - tangible bonus system that you have control over a proportion of making personal responsibility a key attribute of their employees. This sparks people on to giving their best. I could go on for days. Culture and Values - Satisfaction surveys where actions is promptly taken. Sensible Senior Management - Switched on, smart, capable and care about their people (not resources). Fully recognise the value we all bring and are appreciative at every opportunity. Covid - absolutely outstanding in caring for staff health and wellbeing, avoided Furlough, protected jobs, considerate of everyone's situation and been fantastic with comm's, updates, flexibility and resources such as free Mindfulness app. Work/Life Balance - Incredibly supportive of this with flexible hours, open conversations on concerns in this area and help always available from managers to juggle the Covid new world we live in. Additionally (unprompted) offered 3 additional wellbeing days off on top of annual leave to spend on caring for ourselves so we bring our best selves to work every day. I've worked for many employers from start-ups to blue chip and rarely do I wax lyrical about how good an employer is, as I have high standards. Sage has regularly exceeded these in my 4 years here.

      Cons

      None that I can think of. Big company making big changes but somehow manage to have that small startup touch.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Lots of opportunities to grow

      Oct 12, 2021 - Software Engineer Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Working (options to work from home). Competitive Salary and Bonus package. Lots of opportunities to work across the business and develop diverse skills

      Cons

      Management Top Heavy - a lot of chiefs, resulting in lots of duplicated communications and a lack of clarity around what is import.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Warm, Engaging and Driven Workplace!!

      Oct 12, 2021 - Marketing Apprentice in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The teams throughout the company are warm, welcoming and accepting of everyone. -They understand how to better you as a candidate and focus on both driving both business and personal growth. -Flexible Working makes life at Sage easier.

      Cons

      Honestly, there are very few cons if any that I can think of at this moment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Innovation

      Oct 11, 2021 - Product Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Continual innovation to provide best in class solutions to accountants & bookkeepers

      Cons

      Complex structure makes processes challenging

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Can't wait to see what the future holds!

      Oct 11, 2021 - Graduate Product Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a new starter, these answers are based on my initial experience, opinions from my friends/family and data that I've gathered from researching the company. Culture > The main reason why I was attracted to Sage. It was encouraging to see that their culture is just as explained. Sage have an amazing culture with a great support network. WFH > My role (like most) comes with a WFH/Office hybrid system. Rewards > Sage invests a large amount into these rewards and new/tenured employees can make the most from these. Sage Foundation > X amount of days a year to volunteer, company donation matching?! many more! There are many more Pros* but I've listed most of my favourites above,

      Cons

      As a new starter, these answers are based on my initial experience, opinions from my friends/family and data that I've gathered from researching the company. I don't want to be that guy but I'm unable to think about any Cons*

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Reflecting on last year at Sage

      Oct 11, 2021 - Director Talent Acquisition in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Organisation does work hard to be fair and honest with colleagues even in times of change where jobs are impacted. There is a real acknowledgement that people are different and enforcing one set of rules will not work for all, Sage has worked really hard to get all involved in the processes for returning to offices. Colleagues genuinely care about each other and leaders, managers and colleagues do the right thing in their decision making - despite most of my time working at Sage has been during lockdown I have great relationships and friendships at work and have fun most days which makes all the difference!

      Cons

      The organisation is working to change - sometimes this doesn't happen quickly enough, sometimes when it does move at pace there is a bit of chaos and confusion..... there is duplication in the organisation and a lack of clear accountabilities over some activities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Response

      Global TA Director

      Thank you very much for your feedback; we appreciate your input and the opportunity to understand better how we can improve. Please do also make use of Pulse surveys to keep your feedback coming.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best company

      Oct 7, 2021 - Real Time Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything. I have nothing bad to say. Family feel at Sage. Brilliant company if your looking for a successful WELL PAID career.

      Cons

      None. Everything is brilliant. Keep doing what your doing Sage

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Response

      Global TA Director

      Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to be employed by

      Sep 30, 2021 - Coaching Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very inclusive and supportive community

      Cons

      I have no negative feedback

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoy working here

      Oct 1, 2021 - User Experience Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Sage People XD team is great to work with, very diverse individuals and everyone gets on well, really good team spirit and morales. Brilliant manager, really cares about the team as a whole and individuals, always does their best for the team. Company has been great during the pandemic, providing all necessary equipment to wfh and no push to work in the office if not yet comfortable to do so. Exciting positive improvements are happening.

      Cons

      Some typical big corporation awkward processes but overall a positive place to work for.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Difficult times ahead

      Oct 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues Good development opportunities Impressive new office in Newcastle, UK Open communication from Steve Hare even in difficult times, to be commended. Steve is happy to take the tough questions during global calls with all employees.

      Cons

      Lack of flexibility as we return to offices, very basic approach to "experimentation" which essentially means return to office X number of days per week. Troublesome times for all colleagues following recent announcements of redundancies, with seemingly no plan or strategy for the year ahead.

      7 people found this review helpful

      Sage Response

      Global TA Director

      Thank you for your review; we appreciate your feedback. Our approach to flexible working will evolve as we experiment, learn and adapt our ways of working together and is driven by input from our colleagues. As you mention, we have recently announced some changes to our business that result from us shifting our investments towards those areas that are foundational to Sage’s long-term success and simplifying our business so we can go faster and make it easier for customers to use Sage solutions, and for colleagues to serve those customers. We recognise that these changes may be difficult and will listen to the feedback of our colleagues and customers as we move through the process.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,811 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Sage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sage? Share Your Experiences

    or