Sage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sage Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "The biggest source of frustration has to be the lack of proactive planning from upper management(in 60 reviews)

  • "Not many, mainly lack of communication from senior management(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "We’ve got our mojo back!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the last 10 months or so, we have refocused, realigned, got very clear on our purpose, been clear on the lenses we will make our choices on (customers, colleagues and innovation) and we’ve mobilised and changed the way we are thinking about what we do. In truth it’s been difficult but ten months in its fantastic to see the energy and passion it’s brought back into the fabric of who we are, what we do and why we do it. The energy is infectious and it’s even more exciting to think about what we can achieve together. Things that I love Sage foundation Inclusivity Training for managers Removing old 1970s style performance reviews and replacing with agile, development led iterations Realigned bonus Investment in things that matter and how i can see the link to the strategy Matched behaviours with our mission - it’s no longer corporate words on a slide deck - it’s tangible

    Show More

    Cons

    Structurally we need to make sure we don’t over complicate and we MUST continue to simplify the experience we all have when at work. Legacy ways of working need reinvented to adjust to the new thinking. Things we need to change Complicated sign off processes More accountability deeper in regions Clearer frameworks for people to work in - guides not rules Stop and start projects more clearly - get really decisive on our priorities

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep going, Be bold and don’t be afraid or tentative about making the changes we need. There is a much deeper trust in the business today than you might imagine and people will appreciate the clarity.

    Sage2019-08-02
  2. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Feel valued by leadership teams - Huge amount of training available - Flexible working environment

    Cons

    - Confused messaging through tiers of managers - Hot desking in certain areas kills productivity

    Advice to Management

    Abandon poorly thought out initiatives such as unnecessary hot desking.

    Sage2020-01-21
  3. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a graduate there was a lot of opportunity to grow and develop.

    Cons

    I worked there through a big period of change when the direction was less clear.

    Sage2020-01-21
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Test Engineer in Gosforth, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone has been warm and welcoming making this a great office environment/company to work in. The benefits are good and you can tell the company really values their employees which is important to me.

    Cons

    I've not come across any cons during my time at Sage.

    Advice to Management

    Manager and employee should continue with a transparent relationship.

    Sage2020-01-03
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Apprentice 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - culturally diverse - vibrant work environment - stays focused on strengths - values employee's contributions

    Cons

    My first impressions of the company are really positive. They have looked after me from the beginning and chosen their employees judiciously . I haven't yet had the chance to meet senior management but thus far are the most considerate company I have worked for and hope the remaining part of my apprenticeship is just as enjoyable.

    Sage2020-01-03
  6. "I definitely recommend working at Sage!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great family culture Proactive approach to inclusivity Lots of opportunities to develop skills through virtual learning sessions Flexible working hours - I do compressed hours Interesting job role that's busy Lots of free parking spaces

    Cons

    Starting to feel more of a valued individual and less of a number (good progress for such a huge company!) - this has got much better in the last 12 months. It could be a lot better though if Sage keep on the track they are on now with their colleague focus. Some managers are still not fully invested in Sage's LEAD monthly review programme - this can make it hard for those in their teams to have the right conversations. I'd like to see more accountability and conversations with managers who are not using this programme properly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in colleagues - the more engaged we are the harder we will work and more productive we will be. The onsite activities like Kids@Sage and pizza for the floor and offsite colleague activities like Bongo's Bingo and summer fete go down very well. For me these activities help give Sage the edge. Also, give more visibility to jobs internally to encourage internal progression. If you're not proactively looking for roles every week it can be very easy to miss out on opportunities that come up. It would be good to be able to get notifications weekly of jobs of interest internally or reminders on what is on offer.

    Show More
    Sage2020-01-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Flat-lining and not progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some good people working here and Sage Foundation does some great work for local communities.

    Cons

    It feels like it's just existing and not really moving forward. It's not a particularly exciting place to work. It's very political in some departments where people seem to be trying to survive rather than thriving which can create pockets of toxicity across the company.

    Sage2020-01-13
  8. "Terrible employer, terrible customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Advisor in Gosforth, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are forks in the canteen.

    Cons

    Management use a mixture of forced micro management and bullying tactics to force advisers to sell as much as possible. A very intense focus on getting through as many calls as possible to raise as many sales leads as possible which comes at the expense of customer service and the mental health of it's advisers. My colleagues regularly cry as they buckle under the pressure of horrid management tactics that make advisers feel utterly horrible if they do not get many sales leads every day of the week. There is no focus on how well an adviser helps customers, quality of advice and conversation, instead it is a desperate sales atmosphere. Not nice at all, hence the massive staff turnover.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop running a sweaty desperate micro managed sales call centre which wreaks havoc on the mental health of your employees and penalises customers. Treat your employees with a lot more respect. Get rid of the cringey huddle's which are supposed to support colleagues but are instead used to ply pressure on staff daily to sell more. cheap desperate tactics.

    Sage2020-01-17
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant company to work for. Be prepared to have influence regardless of your role or seniority. Couldn't recommend it highly enough as a place to work.

    Cons

    No downsides at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, the level of engagement of every colleague I've met in my time here is brilliant. Thank you

    Sage2019-12-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Okay, if you like sales mixed with service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good starting wage, career progression opportunities if you stick in for years.

    Cons

    They are pushing sales targets on all inbound staff including tech support which seems reductive to the service being offered.

    Advice to Management

    Keep sales on a sales line. Still promote sales from a Tech perspective but don’t target these employees on a monthly amount of sales as this is not their specialty and they will quickly become disillusioned and leave.

    Sage2019-12-16
Found 2110 reviews
</>Embed