Sage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sage Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Sage is very for the people and will always make sure you have a good work/ life balance(in 150 reviews)

  • "Very inclusive team , good benefits and career opportunities(in 126 reviews)

Cons
  • "The biggest source of frustration has to be the lack of proactive planning from upper management(in 61 reviews)

  • "Not many, mainly lack of communication from senior management(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "We’ve got our mojo back!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the last 10 months or so, we have refocused, realigned, got very clear on our purpose, been clear on the lenses we will make our choices on (customers, colleagues and innovation) and we’ve mobilised and changed the way we are thinking about what we do. In truth it’s been difficult but ten months in its fantastic to see the energy and passion it’s brought back into the fabric of who we are, what we do and why we do it. The energy is infectious and it’s even more exciting to think about what we can achieve together. Things that I love Sage foundation Inclusivity Training for managers Removing old 1970s style performance reviews and replacing with agile, development led iterations Realigned bonus Investment in things that matter and how i can see the link to the strategy Matched behaviours with our mission - it’s no longer corporate words on a slide deck - it’s tangible

    Cons

    Structurally we need to make sure we don’t over complicate and we MUST continue to simplify the experience we all have when at work. Legacy ways of working need reinvented to adjust to the new thinking. Things we need to change Complicated sign off processes More accountability deeper in regions Clearer frameworks for people to work in - guides not rules Stop and start projects more clearly - get really decisive on our priorities

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-08-02
  2. "Sage - You have got this!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At a time of crisis it can often be quite divisive, at Sage it has been incredible to be part of and observe the care, kindness and genuine concern for colleagues and customers that Sage is extending, during these unprecedented times of COVID-19. The sense of pride and trust I feel is remarkable as I watch the business continue to "Do the right thing" by everyone. Steve Hare is the most authentic and inspiring CEO I've worked for and is the beacon of positivity for the company. The UKI business is doing everything to support colleagues and customers alike under the leadership of Sabby Gill with constant communications, collaboration and support. My Manager has been incredibly supportive which has enabled me to continue working even with the challenges of 2 young children at home, being stuck at home, conference calls, emails, cats seeking attention and oh trying to fit in a workout!! a BIG thank you to Sage.

    Cons

    Not being as agile as we could be, getting bogged down in too much red tape when it comes to innovation and new ways of doing things. Very matrix structure.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great support and fast action during pandemic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Quick to get everyone working from home - took initiative to start preparations even before UK government shared suggestions - Constant updates and comms from CEO Steve Hare, UKI MD Sabby Gill and CPO Amanda Cusdin to keep all colleagues informed every step of the way and open to ALL questions asked by colleagues - Continued BAU attitude but with greater focus on mental health, new working conditions, honest discussions - Promise to pay £12.50 per day to EVERY UK colleague to cover extra working from home costs i.e. electricity, heating, water, etc. - Decent healthplan however this could be better and offer more - Sage Foundation is amazing and offers so much to communities

    Cons

    - Always a slight concern about job safety at Sage as structure and strategies are changing all the time (with or without Coronavirus) - hard to feel 'safe' - Technology could be better for a tech company (laptops for all, updated software, etc.) - Development opportunities are there but difficult to find

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing support through COVID-19"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sage

    Pros

    The support and response from the company on COVID-19 has been nothing short of phenomenal. To convert the whole business at such short notice to working from home has been incredible. Even the support our leaders are showing, from dev managers to directors to VP’s to the CEO. Enabling everyone to continue working whilst being at home, with flexibility to allow for childcare, pets etc has been so helpful. It’s been so simple to get on with our work without worrying about if we’ll get paid or how we’ll cope. Regular updates from the leadership team on how we are dealing with COVID-19 as a company has been really reassuring.

    Cons

    At the moment my only con is the building move to cobalt as it will extend my commute - but that pales into insignificance compared with the current state of the world.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-25
  5. "Enjoyable Interview Process, and a Helpful Careers Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Assigned your own Talent Acquisition Sage employee. Helpful Staff. Friendly team during interview process.

    Cons

    Start mid April, so can't possibly list any cons right now. No cons during interview process.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Do The Right Thing - we walk the walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Throughout the worst crisis any of us will have ever experienced, Sage have shown their true colours. They have stood by their employees, provided calm, measured reassurance, and set themselves up as one of the greatest employers you could wish for. From the CEO to a Team Leader, the message has been consistent - look after yourselves, look after your family and look after each other. Friends and family members have lost jobs, taken pay cuts and suffered real uncertainty - Sage has doubled down and given all UK collegaues extra money whilst working from home. Our key value of Do The Right Thing is more than a value, it's our way of life. I've never felt prouder of where I work. :)

    Cons

    No cons I can think of

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The most supportive company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sage Welcome Events Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The response from Sage to the COVID-19 pandemic has been amazing. All colleagues have been encouraged and supported to work from home, with equipment being supplied by the company and IT being on call to help sort out any technical issues. They are supportive with new routines surrounding childcare and carer support and they could not be more accommodating. Managers are checking in daily with all colleagues to see how everyone is doing and we are all encouraged to video chat and reach out to friends and colleagues whenever possible. All in-person meetings and events are now digital and they are even encouraging colleagues to use some of our 5 paid volunteering days from the Sage Foundation to help support the NHS Volunteering scheme that has been launched. I could not be prouder to work for a company like Sage right now.

    Cons

    The queues for the coffee shop on a morning can be a bit long so get in early if you have to be online by a specific time! :)

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "So proud to be part of Sage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am so proud to be part of this magnificent company. At a time of Crisis Sage has been true to its values to put colleagues and customers first. The way the team pulls together to get things done is fantastic. I love the fact we do the right thing and we focus on what is important.

    Cons

    Cant think of any. Most fun job ive ever done.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best! I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource Planner in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, People, Flexibility, Facilities and Fun

    Cons

    Sometimes long wait for microwaves / served in shops during peak times.. No big deal though.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sage are the people company, leading us calmly with care through a worldwide pandemic, I couldn't be prouder to work for Sage. Great pay Great engagement Great products Great ethics

    Cons

    I can think of none

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-25
Found 1922 reviews
</>Embed