The Body Shop Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "great products and ethics/values of company(in 90 reviews)

  • "free products when you start and this can renew 3 times a year(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes disorganized, communication from upper management not always consistent(in 50 reviews)

  • "part time role yet feels full time as they want you to be flexible and available all the time but you don’t get full time hours(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Littlehampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people, heritage, values, products.

    Cons

    Not really anything bad to say.

    The Body Shop2019-10-17
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Friendly colleagues Interesting products that are easy to sell

    Cons

    Length of employment Hours of work

    The Body Shop2019-10-18
  3. "Amazing staff discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Ealing, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    50% staff discount Get to try. All the products Ethically traded goods

    Cons

    You get some weird / strange customers A lot of time wasters

    Advice to Management

    Make sure staff all receive enough time & training to really get to know the products

    The Body Shop2019-10-12
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company and so many freebies it's unreal, 50% staff discount too not that it's needed with the amount of testers, incentives, new products to try you get constantly

    Cons

    Managers like to change rotas without notice and without telling you and make it seem your fault

    The Body Shop2019-10-10
  5. "Great benefits and focus on employee welfare!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Generous benefits - 3 free volunteering days each year - strong focus on Well Being & Mental Health initiatives - Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    - Can be long hours but the pros outweigh this!

    The Body Shop2019-10-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits such as wellbeing care, bonuses, free products, fab maternity etc

    Cons

    Pay could be better

    The Body Shop2019-10-02
  7. "Good company, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Yate, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free products, training to be a skincare or makeup expert, and they used to have amazing discounts when part of the Loreal Group. Great cultures, values and a genuinely good green company to work for.

    Cons

    Management are always unfair, targets like getting customers to sign up to membership cards are very unrealistic and you get told off if you fail.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees.

    The Body Shop2019-10-16
  8. "The Body Shop customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Products are great and easy to sell Discount is 50 percent which is great Training Working environment

    Cons

    Management is poor, lots of favouratism Pay is poor, could do with sales bonus

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendly

    The Body Shop2019-10-11
  9. "Beauty advisors from 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really love working with body shop since it was best working Carrer in my Life with good record in it

    Cons

    Sometimes i feel very said when customer tells in using tour products from so long periodo of time but no result

    Advice to Management

    Notting to advice we got the best management team in india

    The Body Shop2019-09-26
  10. "Overall lovely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in London, England

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall the people I worked with were lovely Decent discount, pay and freebies

    Cons

    Changed stores at one point and management were night and day - first place was amazing, second location made us felt so cold in comparison

    The Body Shop2019-09-27
Found 1089 reviews